Difficulty accessing PPTP or OpenVPN server on ASUS RT-AC66U

effectivetechie
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:15    Post subject: Difficulty accessing PPTP or OpenVPN server on ASUS RT-AC66U Reply with quote
Hi DD-WRT Community!

I am a new user of DD-WRT, but not a complete noob to networking (though definitely closer to the noob side than guru).

Here is what I am trying to accomplish with this post:
Get PPTP working in conjunction with a Microsoft surface (Windows 8.1) so that I can both access my ubuntu server and watch amazon streaming while I am travelling abroad most of next year.

Basically I am at the point where I can get connected to the VPN (windows says 'connected' under the VPN I set up) with the windows machine when using a mobile hotspot, but wireless network (my hotspot) quickly shows "limited" and cannot connect to the internet or see any other devices on the network like I can when connected directly to the router.

I have tried several different configurations and none seem to change the outcome. What would a good next troubleshooting step be and what information can I provide (some basics provided below)

Router: Asus RT-AC66R (I understand this to now be the same as the AC66U as the only difference was the asus firmware)
Firmware: Brainslayer v24-sp2 (12/15/14) giga - build 25648

PPTP Server Settings:
Broadcast: Disable
MPPE: Enable
DNS1: 192.168.1.1 (also have used 8.8.8.8, though i don't understand this setting)
DNS2: nothing
WINS1: 192.168.1.1 (also have used 8.8.8.8 and nothing, though i don't understand this setting)
WINS2: Nothing
MTU/MRU: defaults (1436/1436)
Server IP: 192.168.1.2
Client IP: 10.10.10.0-100