Improved SixXS IPv6 startup script

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
gloomytrousers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 13:36    Post subject: Improved SixXS IPv6 startup script Reply with quote
Hi all,

I have made some improvements to the SixXS IPv6 startup script from http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/IPv6_startup_script.

My improvements are:
* Can be used even if you haven't yet earned enough credits for a /48 subnet yet (the routing tunnel needs to be up for 7 days before you earn enough credits to get a /48, which can then be used for hosts on the LAN).
* If MTU setting is not optimal, will output a message with the correct value to use.
* Will determine the correct device (ppp0 or vlan1) depending on whether you use PPPoE to connect to your ISP.
* Additional fixed IP addresses can be added for the router should you desire.
* Logs progress messages to syslog as well as console.
* More comments detailing setup, for easier use.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# SIXXS IPv6 startup script for WRT54G
# From http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/IPv6_startup_script with improvements by Russ

##################################
###        SETUP VALUES        ###
### Change these before running ##
##################################

# The IPv6 prefix (/64) of the tunnel initially assigned to you by SixXS (including the ::).
# Only the ::1 and ::2 are used from this range, for the PoP and your router, respectively.
# You need to keep the tunnel up for a week in order earn enough credits to request a /48 subnet (see below) which can then be used by hosts on your network.
TUNNELPREFIX="2001:db8:1111:1111::"

# The IPv4 address of the SixXS PoP you're using
SIXXS4="1.1.1.1"

# MTU - must match your SixXS tunnel settings and radvd's "AdvLinkMTU" value; 1280 is the default but it can be increased.
# This script will give you a recommendation when you run it, but it should be 20 less than your IPv4 MTU.
MTU=1280

# A /64 from your /48 subnet prefix assigned by SixXS, INCLUDING the /64
## This should match what you announce to the network with radvd (set in Administration -> Management in the web interface)
# If you have not yet been assigned this (you need to keep the tunnel up for a week to earn enough credits), leave blank/commented out
###SUBNET="2001:db8:2222::/64"

# Space-separated list of extra IPs you want for your router, such as:
# * Local (RFC 4193, currently draft) address e.g. fdxx:xxxx:xxxx:yyyy::1/64; or
# * site-local (as per RFC 1918, but obseleted by RFC 3879) address e.g. fec0::1/64
# * Any other local or global fixed address you want (note that we already assign the above SUBNET address)
# This is optional, leave blank/commented out if not wanted.
###ADDITIONALIP6="fec0::1/64"

##################################
###     END OF SETUP VALUES     ##
##################################

logger -st sixxs -- "Starting IPv6 setup"

# Get the tunnel endpoint addresses
MYTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}2"
SIXXSTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}1"

# Get our external IPv4 (in case the IP isn't available, because we don't have a connection yet, retry until we succeed)
while [ -z ${EXTIP} ]; do
    # PPPoE devices are on ppp0, all others are on vlan1; we try both
    DEV=ppp0
    EXTIP=`/usr/sbin/ip -4 addr show dev ${DEV} | grep inet | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1`
    if [ -z ${EXTIP} ]; then
   # Not on ppp0 - try vlan1
   DEV=vlan1
   EXTIP=`/usr/sbin/ip -4 addr show dev ${DEV} | grep inet | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1`
    fi
    if [ -z ${EXTIP} ]; then
   logger -st sixxs -- "- No external IP found; trying again in 10 secs..."
   sleep 10
    fi
done
logger -st sixxs -- "- External IP ${EXTIP} found on device ${DEV}"

# Create tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Creating SixXS tunnel ${EXTIP} <--> ${SIXXS4}"
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel add sixxs mode sit local ${EXTIP} remote ${SIXXS4}

# Bring tunnel interface up explicitly
logger -st sixxs -- "- Bringing sixxs device up"
/usr/sbin/ip link set sixxs up

# Fix MTU and TTL
logger -st sixxs -- "- Fixing MTU and TTL of sixxs device"
/usr/sbin/ip link set mtu ${MTU} dev sixxs
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel change sixxs ttl 64

# Check for optimal MTU
# Max MTU is device's MTU minus 20 (IPv6 headers are 20 bytes bigger than IPv4)
RECMTU=`ip addr show dev $DEV | grep mtu | awk '{print $5}'`
RECMTU=`expr ${RECMTU} - 20`
if [ ${MTU} -lt ${RECMTU} ]; then
    logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: You could increase your MTU setting from ${MTU} to ${RECMTU} for improved performance. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
elif [ ${MTU} -gt ${RECMTU} ]; then
    ### TODO: What happens if MTU is too high?
    logger -st sixxs -- "- WARNING: Your MTU ${MTU} is too high - it should be ${RECMTU}. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
fi

# Add extra IPs if any
if [ ! -z ${ADDITIONALIP6} ]; then
    for IP in ${ADDITIONALIP6}; do
   logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding fixed IP ${IP}"
   /usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${IP} dev br0
    done
fi

# Configure IPv6 endpoint on the tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint ${MYTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${MYTUNNELIP}/64 dev sixxs

# Add default route
logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding default route through SixXS ${SIXXSTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 ro add default via ${SIXXSTUNNELIP} dev sixxs

if [ ! -z  ${SUBNET} ]; then
    # Add a network from the /48 subnet to br0
    logger -st sixxs -- "- Setting up subnet ${SUBNET}"
    /usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${SUBNET} dev br0

    ## # Start router advertisement daemon
    ## # No need to do this here; just use the setup in the web interface
    ## logger -st sixxs -- "- Starting radvd..."
    ## /sbin/radvd -C /tmp/smbshare/etc/radvd.conf
else
    logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: No subnet configured yet - apply for one when you've kept the tunnel up for a week and earned enough credits"
fi

logger -st sixxs -- "SixXS IPv6 setup done"


Does anyone have any objections if I post this new version on the Wiki in place of the old one?

I've been using it myself for a week or two with no problems on v23 SP2 (the method is pretty much identical to the old script), but any feedback from anyone else's testing would be welcome.

Regards,

Russ
Sponsor
gloomytrousers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
In the absence of any objections, I've taken the liberty of updating the wiki page.

Regards,

Russ
SMF
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
gloomytrousers,

I use a similar (but much simpler)script with success - at least it works to give an IPv6 address to windows XP and Vista computers but does not work with OS X (Leopard or Tiger). Do you use Windows, OS X (or Linux - which I have not tried) and would you have any idea why OS X isn't picking up an IPv6 address from the router? My router is obviously set correctly since I get an IPv6 address in Windows but I'm curious why it doesn't work in OS X.

Thanks,
SMF
gloomytrousers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
SMF wrote:
Do you use Windows, OS X (or Linux - which I have not tried) and would you have any idea why OS X isn't picking up an IPv6 address from the router? My router is obviously set correctly since I get an IPv6 address in Windows but I'm curious why it doesn't work in OS X.


I use Linux, and also occasionally Windows; both work fine. I'd agree your router is set up correctly, so the problem lies in your OS X configuration somewhere. You should probably read up some more on IPv6 in OS X, or try an OS X forum.

Regards,

Russ
Infern0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I updated the script to also try eth1 as wan interface, since that is the case on a asus WL-500W.
bl@d3runn3r
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2010
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm new to dd-wrt but already have a sixxs tunnel incl. /48 subnet.

I was wondering if i needed both scripts, this one and radvd example or would radvd only be enough ?

:update:
After reading the help in the script i'm not sure what to enter in this par":
Quote:

# A /64 from your /48 subnet prefix assigned by SixXS, INCLUDING the /64
## This should match what you announce to the network with radvd (set in Administration -> Management in the web interface)
# If you have not yet been assigned this (you need to keep the tunnel up for a week to earn enough credits), leave blank/commented out
###SUBNET="2001:db8:2222::/64"

After reading complete file i'm wondering where my /48 subnet goes ?
derchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 7:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry to post in an 9 month old topic, but it was linked from the Wiki.
At the moment I use aiccu on my main PC to create the 6to4 tunnel, with username, password, tunnel-id, ...
Looking at this script, it creates the tunnel without these information.
Is this correct that they are not needed to establish the Sixxs 6to4 tunnel?
seannon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:05    Post subject: AICCU Reply with quote
derchris wrote:
Sorry to post in an 9 month old topic, but it was linked from the Wiki.
At the moment I use aiccu on my main PC to create the 6to4 tunnel, with username, password, tunnel-id, ...
Looking at this script, it creates the tunnel without these information.
Is this correct that they are not needed to establish the Sixxs 6to4 tunnel?


This script is not for using AICCU, or AYIYA, it is for a static tunnel with SiXXs... and to user gloomytrousers, I thank you for being so thorough in the documentation in the script... it made much more sense, and I was able to get the actual tunnel up in one shot!!! now if I can figure out the HE tunnel, I will have both the routers up and running... (already have my subnet there)

Seannon
seannon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:18    Post subject: /48 subnet Reply with quote
bl@d3runn3r wrote:
I'm new to dd-wrt but already have a sixxs tunnel incl. /48 subnet.

I was wondering if i needed both scripts, this one and radvd example or would radvd only be enough ?

the script, and RADVD are separate... the script is for setting up the actual tunnel, RADVD acts "Kinda" like a DHCP server, saying "Hey Guys, this is the important part of the IPv6 address, you can fill in the rest based on other info you already have"

:update:
After reading the help in the script i'm not sure what to enter in this par":
Quote:

# A /64 from your /48 subnet prefix assigned by SixXS, INCLUDING the /64
## This should match what you announce to the network with radvd (set in Administration -> Management in the web interface)
# If you have not yet been assigned this (you need to keep the tunnel up for a week to earn enough credits), leave blank/commented out
###SUBNET="2001:db8:2222::/64"

After reading complete file i'm wondering where my /48 subnet goes ?[/quote]

I think that you "Probably" would start off with the first IP set... with /64, then perhaps test to make sure everything was working for you, and then after testing, then where you have it saying /64, change that to /48
kind of like with IPv4, using /30 (255.255.255.252)4 hosts {one network, one gateway, one host, one broadcast) and then opening up to a larger subnet. a /48 is truly a mind boggling thing when you consider it... as is a /64, like 18 million IP addresses?

Shocked

Seannon
rtoledo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having a trouble not finding my own external ip on this script (173.60.52.122) can I just add it manually in here? can someone please show me how a sI am tottaly lost

thanks

I'm using v24 sp2 build 14892 on a Actiontec router

thank you FEEL FREE TO EMAIL ME rtoledo2002@yahoo.com

if someone can look over what I modified to the script and tell me what I'm doing wrong

here's the info emailed to me
tunnel id : t42433
pop : usphx01
tic server : tic.sixxs.net
sixxs IPV6 2001:1938:81:168::1/64
your IPV6 2001:1938:81:168::2/64
sixxs IPV4 209.197.5.66



!/bin/sh

# The IPv6 prefix (/64) of the tunnel initially assigned to you by SixXS (including the :Smile.
# Only the ::1 and ::2 are used from this range, for the PoP and your router, respectively.
# You need to keep the tunnel up for a week in order earn enough credits to request a /48 subnet
# (see below) which can then be used by hosts on your network.
TUNNELPREFIX="2001:1938:81:168::2/64"

# The IPv4 address of the SixXS PoP you're using
SIXXS4="209.197.5.66"

MTU=1280

# A /64 from your /48 subnet prefix assigned by SixXS, INCLUDING the /64
## This should match what you announce to the network with radvd (set in Administration -> Management in the web interface)
# If you have not yet been assigned this (you need to keep the tunnel up for a week to earn enough credits), leave blank/commented out
##SUBNET="2001:1938:81:168::2/64"

# Space-separated list of extra IPs you want for your router, such as:
# * Local (RFC 4193, currently draft) address e.g. fdxx:xxxx:xxxx:yyyy::1/64; or
# * site-local (as per RFC 1918, but obseleted by RFC 3879) address e.g. fec0::1/64
# * Any other local or global fixed address you want (note: we already assign the above SUBNET address)
# This is optional, leave blank/commented out if not wanted.
###ADDITIONALIP6="fec0::1/64"

##################################
### END OF SETUP VALUES ##
##################################

logger -st sixxs -- "Starting IPv6 setup"

# Get the tunnel endpoint addresses
MYTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}2"
SIXXSTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}1"

# Get our external IPv4 (in case the IP isn't available, because we don't have a connection yet, retry 3 times or until we succeed)
RETRIES=3
while [ -z ${EXTIP} ]; do
# PPPoE devices are on ppp0, all others are on vlan1 or eth1; we try all
for DEV in "ppp0" "vlan1" "eth1"; do
EXTIP=`/usr/sbin/ip -4 addr show dev ${DEV} | grep inet | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1`
if [ -n "$EXTIP" ]; then
logger -st sixxs -- "- External IP ${EXTIP} found on device ${DEV}"
break 2
fi
done
let RETRIES-=1
if [ "$RETRIES" -gt 0 ]; then
logger -st sixxs -- "- No external IP found; trying again in 10 secs..."
sleep 10
else
logger -st sixxs -- "- No external IP found after 30 seconds; quitting"
exit 1
fi
done

# Create tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Creating SixXS tunnel ${EXTIP} <--> ${SIXXS4}"
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel add sixxs mode sit local ${EXTIP} remote ${SIXXS4}

# Bring tunnel interface up explicitly
logger -st sixxs -- "- Bringing sixxs device up"
/usr/sbin/ip link set sixxs up

# Fix MTU and TTL
logger -st sixxs -- "- Fixing MTU and TTL of sixxs device"
/usr/sbin/ip link set mtu ${MTU} dev sixxs
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel change sixxs ttl 64

# Check for optimal MTU
# Max MTU is device's MTU minus 20 (IPv6 headers are 20 bytes bigger than IPv4)
RECMTU=`ip addr show dev $DEV | grep mtu | awk '{print $5}'`
RECMTU=`expr ${RECMTU} - 20`
if [ ${MTU} -lt ${RECMTU} ]; then
logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: You could increase your MTU setting from ${MTU} to ${RECMTU} for improved performance. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
elif [ ${MTU} -gt ${RECMTU} ]; then
### TODO: What happens if MTU is too high?
logger -st sixxs -- "- WARNING: Your MTU ${MTU} is too high - it should be ${RECMTU}. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
fi

# Add extra IPs if any
if [ ! -z ${ADDITIONALIP6} ]; then
for IP in ${ADDITIONALIP6}; do
logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding fixed IP ${IP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${IP} dev br0
done
fi

# Configure IPv6 endpoint on the tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint ${MYTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${MYTUNNELIP}/64 dev sixxs

# Add default route
logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding default route through SixXS ${SIXXSTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 ro add default via ${SIXXSTUNNELIP} dev sixxs

if [ ! -z ${SUBNET} ]; then
# Add a network from the /48 subnet to br0
logger -st sixxs -- "- Setting up subnet ${SUBNET}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${SUBNET} dev br0

## # Start router advertisement daemon
## # No need to do this here; just use the setup in the web interface
## logger -st sixxs -- "- Starting radvd..."
## /usr/sbin/radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf
else
logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: No subnet configured yet - apply for one when you've kept the tunnel up for a week and earned enough credits"
fi

logger -st sixxs -- "SixXS IPv6 setup done"

_________________
_________________
It's raining but it's time to go ride Othar! you only live once if you do it right
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html
_________________
rtoledo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok I manually added my IP add 173.60.52.122



!/bin/sh


TUNNELPREFIX="2001:1938:81:168::2/64"

SIXXS4="209.197.5.66"

MTU=1280

SUBNET="2001:1938:81:168::2/64"


logger -st sixxs -- "Starting IPv6 setup"

# Get the tunnel endpoint addresses
MYTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}2"
SIXXSTUNNELIP="${TUNNELPREFIX}1"

# Get our external IPv4 (in case the IP isn't available, because we don't have a connection yet, retry 3 times or until we succeed)
RETRIES=3
while [ -z ${EXTIP} ]; do
# PPPoE devices are on ppp0, all others are on vlan1 or eth1; we try all
for DEV in "ppp0" "vlan1" "eth1"; do
EXTIP=173.60.52.122
break 2
fi
done
let RETRIES-=1
if [ "$RETRIES" -gt 0 ]; then
logger -st sixxs -- "- No external IP found; trying again in 10 secs..."
sleep 10
else
logger -st sixxs -- "- No external IP found after 30 seconds; quitting"
exit 1
fi
done

# Create tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Creating SixXS tunnel ${EXTIP} <--> ${SIXXS4}"
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel add sixxs mode sit local ${EXTIP} remote ${SIXXS4}

# Bring tunnel interface up explicitly
logger -st sixxs -- "- Bringing sixxs device up"
/usr/sbin/ip link set sixxs up

# Fix MTU and TTL
logger -st sixxs -- "- Fixing MTU and TTL of sixxs device"
/usr/sbin/ip link set mtu ${MTU} dev sixxs
/usr/sbin/ip tunnel change sixxs ttl 64

# Check for optimal MTU
# Max MTU is device's MTU minus 20 (IPv6 headers are 20 bytes bigger than IPv4)
RECMTU=`ip addr show dev $DEV | grep mtu | awk '{print $5}'`
RECMTU=`expr ${RECMTU} - 20`
if [ ${MTU} -lt ${RECMTU} ]; then
logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: You could increase your MTU setting from ${MTU} to ${RECMTU} for improved performance. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
elif [ ${MTU} -gt ${RECMTU} ]; then
### TODO: What happens if MTU is too high?
logger -st sixxs -- "- WARNING: Your MTU ${MTU} is too high - it should be ${RECMTU}. Change it in ${0}, radvd.conf and in the SixXS tunnel config."
fi

# Add extra IPs if any
if [ ! -z ${ADDITIONALIP6} ]; then
for IP in ${ADDITIONALIP6}; do
logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding fixed IP ${IP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${IP} dev br0
done
fi

# Configure IPv6 endpoint on the tunnel
logger -st sixxs -- "- Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint ${MYTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${MYTUNNELIP}/64 dev sixxs

# Add default route
logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding default route through SixXS ${SIXXSTUNNELIP}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 ro add default via ${SIXXSTUNNELIP} dev sixxs

if [ ! -z ${SUBNET} ]; then
# Add a network from the /48 subnet to br0
logger -st sixxs -- "- Setting up subnet ${SUBNET}"
/usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${SUBNET} dev br0

## # Start router advertisement daemon
## # No need to do this here; just use the setup in the web interface
## logger -st sixxs -- "- Starting radvd..."
## /usr/sbin/radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf
else
logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: No subnet configured yet - apply for one when you've kept the tunnel up for a week and earned enough credits"
fi

logger -st sixxs -- "SixXS IPv6 setup done"


root@dd-wrt1500:~#
root@dd-wrt1500:~# # Configure IPv6 endpoint on the tunnel
root@dd-wrt1500:~# logger -st sixxs -- "- Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint ${MYTUNNELIP}"
sixxs: - Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint 2001:1938:81:168::2/642
root@dd-wrt1500:~# /usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${MYTUNNELIP}/64 dev sixxs
root@dd-wrt1500:~#
root@dd-wrt1500:~# # Add default route
root@dd-wrt1500:~# logger -st sixxs -- "- Adding default route through SixXS ${SIXXSTUNNELIP}"
sixxs: - Adding default route through SixXS 2001:1938:81:168::2/641
root@dd-wrt1500:~# /usr/sbin/ip -6 ro add default via ${SIXXSTUNNELIP} dev sixxs
root@dd-wrt1500:~#
root@dd-wrt1500:~# if [ ! -z ${SUBNET} ]; then
> # Add a network from the /48 subnet to br0
> logger -st sixxs -- "- Setting up subnet ${SUBNET}"
> /usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add ${SUBNET} dev br0
>
> ## # Start router advertisement daemon
> ## # No need to do this here; just use the setup in the web interface
> ## logger -st sixxs -- "- Starting radvd..."
> ## /usr/sbin/radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf
> else
> logger -st sixxs -- "- Note: No subnet configured yet - apply for one when you've kept the tunnel up for a week and earned eno
ugh credits"
> fi
sixxs: - Setting up subnet 2001:1938:81:168::2/64
root@dd-wrt1500:~#
root@dd-wrt1500:~# logger -st sixxs -- "SixXS IPv6 setup done"
sixxs: SixXS IPv6 setup done

_________________
_________________
It's raining but it's time to go ride Othar! you only live once if you do it right
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html
_________________
rtoledo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
well I locked up the router SOLID. can not connect to it from my machine , the reset button is not working.

gAVE UP AND REHOOKED THE wESTELL9100.

damn I'm pissed

_________________
_________________
It's raining but it's time to go ride Othar! you only live once if you do it right
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html
_________________
Onedutch
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 21:29    Post subject: No such device Reply with quote
Hi,

At the Sixss portal I changed the aiccu tunnel to a static one. I'm running the script on the commandline, the script wasn't able to detect the WAN ip, so I added it manually aswell.

When I now run the script it say's :


sixxs: Starting IPv6 setup
sixxs: - Creating SixXS tunnel x.x.x.x <--> 192.87.102.107
ioctl: No such device
sixxs: - Bringing sixxs device up
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
sixxs: - Fixing MTU and TTL of sixxs device
SIOCSIFMTU: No such device
ioctl: No such device
sixxs: - Configuring local IPv6 tunnel endpoint 2001:610:xMad::2
sixxs: - Adding default route through SixXS 2001:610:xMad::1
sixxs: - Setting up subnet 2001:610:x::/48
RTNETLINK answers: Operation not supported
sixxs: SixXS IPv6 setup done
root@Home:~# /usr/sbin/ip link set sixxs up
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
root@Home:~#


I'm using DD-WRT on a Netgear WNDR3700 router v1 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/19/12) std - build 18777. Should it be able to work on this router ?

Best Regards,
Onedutch
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1557
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 19:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
aiccu works better than static tunnel, and being offline (unpingable) does not cost you credits.
_________________
2 times APU2 Opnsense 21.1 with Sensei

2 times RT-AC56U running DD-WRT 45493 (one as Gateway, the other as AP, both bridged with LAN cable)

3 times Asus RT-N16 shelved

E4200 V1 running freshtomato 2020.8 (bridged with LAN cable)

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running freshtomato 2020.8 (bridged with LAN cable)


langerak
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have it working now, and copied the sixxs.sh script to /jffs for permanent storage.

I have 3 questions regarding this:

- How can I start this script at boot? I don't see something like rc.local or something.

- My subnet from SixXS is converted from aiccu to static, before the change it was up for 6 months, do I have to wait a week for the subnet to become active still?

- I used the radvd conf with the subnet I gained from sixxs, and I see that my Windows and Mac devices are getting ipv6 addresses, but they won't ping or connect using v6 at all, Windows even states that internet access is not possible with ipv6 with the addresses given, any thoughts?
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum