USR5461 compatibility

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 14:50    Post subject: Re: Success Reply with quote
Allanon wrote:
I just flashed my USR 5461 using the Hex editor technique found a couple pages back. I'm including the completed version of the firmware I used, which is the first 28 bytes of the USR factory FW combined with the DD-WRT firmware. This may help someone I hope.
I just installed that via the usr gui and all is fine. Playing around with it makes it a bit slow, but after a reboot when all settings where done, it ran fine for 5 hours.
Then the web interface stopped responding and it wasn't resolving any http adresses anymore so I rebooted it again, and all is fine. It's running a bit low on memory though
Code:
Memory
Total Available 70% 5736 kB / 8192 kB
Free 6% 368 kB / 5736 kB
Used 94% 5368 kB / 5736 kB
Buffers 3% 144 kB / 5368 kB
Cached 21% 1112 kB / 5368 kB
Active 21% 1144 kB / 5368 kB
Inactive 2% 132 kB / 5368 kB 
Could this be causing the hang? Anyone else still running this and has similar issues? Can I make some more memory available?
Sponsor
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
These 8MB ram routers don't really have enough ram to run smoothly, what I do is set all my settings then login with telnet and run "stopservice httpd" which shuts down the httpd daemon, to start it back up again run "startservice httpd".

You can to count cached memory as free, your memory is fine...actually a little on the good side for this router.

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks, can i check the memory usage via telnet?

also, if it keeps doing this, can I reflash the router with the usr firmare again?
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
daffeh wrote:
thanks, can i check the memory usage via telnet?

also, if it keeps doing this, can I reflash the router with the usr firmare again?


Yes you login with telnet and run the command "free", yes you can go back to the USR firmware...just upload it from the webif. The USR firmware is bad, stop playing with the webif and you will be fine Wink

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:         5736         5460          276            0          108
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:         5736         5460          276
doesn't seem much better Smile
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
What are your worries with the memory, running the USR firmware you have no idea of usage. If it doesn't suit you all I can recommend is to go back to the old firmware, why did you switch?
_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
to have a dyndns and a better wireless interface
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
well in the past hour it froze up 3 times, just during regular ftp downloads (no p2p, nothing else)
I tried flashing the .usr file but it says "incorrect image file"
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
daffeh wrote:
well in the past hour it froze up 3 times, just during regular ftp downloads (no p2p, nothing else)
I tried flashing the .usr file but it says "incorrect image file"


Change the extension to .bin

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
daffeh wrote:
well in the past hour it froze up 3 times, just during regular ftp downloads (no p2p, nothing else)
I tried flashing the .usr file but it says "incorrect image file"


Did you issue an "erase nvram" from telnet after your initial flash? If you didn't that's why your having strange issues.

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
crap, didn't think of that, I was already down the path of the "recover from bad flash" and deleted the linux with the "mtd erase linux reboot" thing... now when i tftp to it... i get "timeout occured" even when trying to set the dd-wrt again... got any help before i set the thing on fire?
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
daffeh wrote:
crap, didn't think of that, I was already down the path of the "recover from bad flash" and deleted the linux with the "mtd erase linux reboot" thing... now when i tftp to it... i get "timeout occured" even when trying to set the dd-wrt again... got any help before i set the thing on fire?


Try to tftp to 192.168.1.2 the original address.

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7078

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
autobot wrote:


Try to tftp to 192.168.1.2 the original address.


Make that 192.168.2.1 then there's a chance of a tftp connect.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
daffeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
i can ping 192.168.1.2 and i had a successful tftp (of dd-wrt) and i waited 5 minutes but it still doesn't respond to telnet or webui
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
autobot wrote:


Try to tftp to 192.168.1.2 the original address.


Make that 192.168.2.1 then there's a chance of a tftp connect.


Good eye, thanks for the correction. Would have a hard time connecting to the wrong address I imagine.

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 9
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum