Asus RT-N18u Installation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
JoyEnergiser
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:54    Post subject: Asus RT-N18u Installation Reply with quote
Hi Everyone! I am totally new to DD-WRT and am about to install it on my new router.

I Was going through the installation Wiki and have heeded the stern warnings on following the instructions very strictly to avoid bricking the router.

The problem is there is no installation guide for the RT-N18u only for the RT-N16.

I am under the impression that the RT-N18u is a new model replacing the RT-N16.Is it safe to follow the installation instructions for flashing the firmware of the RT-N16 ?

Thanks!
Sponsor
MDA400
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
All you should have to do with your RT-n18u is flash a firmware from here: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/

And then flash the .TRX file using the firmware restoration utility for your asus router. Looks to me like it almost has the exact same specs as an ac68u, just without a 5ghz radio and a single core version of bcm4708 in the ac68u.

Personally, i just flashed the .TRX of my ac68u in the GUI upgrade page, but if you want to be on the safe side, flash it through recovery mode. Currently using beta 27413 and no issues.
jaska22
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
MDA400 wrote:
All you should have to do with your RT-n18u is flash a firmware from here: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/

And then flash the .TRX file using the firmware restoration utility for your asus router. Looks to me like it almost has the exact same specs as an ac68u, just without a 5ghz radio and a single core version of bcm4708 in the ac68u.

Personally, i just flashed the .TRX of my ac68u in the GUI upgrade page, but if you want to be on the safe side, flash it through recovery mode. Currently using beta 27413 and no issues.