YAMon 3.0... Usage Reporting by device per hr/day/mo

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 92, 93, 94  Next
Author Message
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1506
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:41    Post subject: YAMon 3.0... Usage Reporting by device per hr/day/mo Reply with quote
The latest YAMon installer script should be downloaded here.

Al wrote:
If you want to get YAMon but are intimidated by the notion of `flashing` your router yourself (i.e., replacing the stock firmware with DD-WRT), checkout the `Can I get a router with DD-WRT pre-installed?` help topic at the YAMon web site.



If you are not already familiar with YAMon, it gives you the ability to monitor which devices are connecting to your network and how much data they are consuming, when. You can organize devices into arbitrary logical groupings (e.g., by device function (streaming devices printers, etc.) or by device owner (family members, roommates, visitors, etc). YAMon also helps to manage the data usage cap imposed by your ISP.

To run YAMon, you will require :
  1. a router configured to run one of the *WRT variants - e.g., DD-WRT, OpenWRT, Asus Merlin, LEDE, and Shibby Tomato as well.
  2. either a USB drive attached directly to you router or another network accessible storage device (I strongly recommend that you format it as `ext4`)
  3. WinSCP and PuTTY (or equivalent) to copy files and execute commands on your router
  4. Notepad++ (or equivalent) to edit the config files (if necessary)


New in version 3.0:
  • an installation script (see http://usage-monitoring.com/download.php) that downloads all of the necessary files and walks you through the necessary setup and configuration steps.
  • support for IPv6 traffic... AFAIK, YAMon is the first and only tool of this sort to include this capability.
  • a substantial re-write of the main script to reduce server load, etc. as much as possible.


To install YAMon3.x,
  • copy the attached zip file to your local machine.
  • expand the zip file
  • copy `install.sh` to your router (suggested: into `/opt/`)
  • right click `install.sh` in WinSCP, choose `Properties` and give the script execute permission... or in a PuTTY window, run `chmod 775 /opt/install.sh`
  • launch the install script... in a PuTTY window, run `/opt/install.sh`
  • answer the prompts in the install & setup scripts.

NB - If you are an existing YAMon2.x user, the installer will ask whether you want to copy your config.file and data to the YAMon3 installation directory... you probably should say `yes`!

To update an earlier version of YAMon3.x,
  • repeat the above steps, but
  • answer `n` in the first prompt (which asks if you want to run setup again)
  • answer `y` in the second prompt (which asks if you want restart the script)


To access the reports,
There are a number of known issues and/or features which have not yet been completed - e.g.,
  • multiple IPs per mac address is not currently working


NB - If you want to run YAMon 2 & 3 concurrently, please update your YAMon 2 to version 2.2.6 (available at http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=259806)... version 2.2.6 includes a minor tweak to a regex that will allow the two version to coexist happily. If you are running YAMon 2 & 3 and do not update to 2.2.6, your YAMon 3 totals will not be correct!

Please report installation specific issues to `install@usage-monitoring.com` and other questions/feedback to `questions@usage-monitoring.com`.

As always, your feedback is appreciated! You can show your appreciation and support future development by donating to my Paypal account.

Thank you for your continued enthusiasm and support for YAMon!

Al[/url]
Quote:



install (2016-10-05).zip
 Description:
1. install.sh installs yamon3.0.15.sh and includes h2m.sh & organize.sh. It also better sets initial default folder permissions.
2. yamon3.0.15.sh also sets folder permissions and improves behaviour relating to (frequently) changing IP addresses

Download
 Filename:  install (2016-10-05).zip
 Filesize:  9.29 KB
 Downloaded:  1393 Time(s)



Last edited by al_c on Fri Dec 30, 2016 18:22; edited 25 times in total
Sponsor
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://192.168.1.2/user/yamon3.html nets me a blank page?? 1.2 is my R7000 AP running yamon3.

getlocalcopies.sh references yamon2.html

Setting for local copies doesn't work either.

Dave???

_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1506
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 16:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
http://192.168.1.2/user/yamon3.html nets me a blank page?? 1.2 is my R7000 AP running yamon3.

getlocalcopies.sh references yamon2.html

Setting for local copies doesn't work either.

Dave???


Uh oh... does a symlink to yamon3.html get created in /tmp/www/? If no, drag yamon3.html into /tmp/www/ (or create the symlink manually).

I'll update getlocalcopies.sh ASAP and retest. Thanks for pointing this out.

Al
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
tmp/www has bad shortcuts to yamon3.html, css, and js.

The rest of the files appear to be ok.

_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 16:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Rebooted the router, symlink is enabled and tmp/www is empty.
_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kept my fingers out of your files and reinstalled.

Install wouldn't accept default folder until I typed it in.

Here is my terminal buffer and config file.

WinSCP still shows /temp/www as empty.



Yamon3..rar
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Yamon3..rar
 Filesize:  12.4 KB
 Downloaded:  551 Time(s)


_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
VTecheira
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2014
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had the same issue. I took a closer look at this and the problem is with the symlink it self. You are still including the set up directory in the symlink call, even though we'eve done away with it

I'm running both simultaneously so my directory looks like this.
Code:

lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            25 Jan 25 00:12 css -> /opt/YAMon2/Setup/www/css/
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            17 Jan 25 00:12 data -> /opt/YAMon2/data//
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            17 Jan 25 14:06 data3 -> /opt/YAMon3/data//
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            28 Jan 25 00:12 images -> /opt/YAMon2/Setup/www/images/
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            24 Jan 25 00:12 js -> /opt/YAMon2/Setup/www/js/
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            35 Jan 25 00:12 yamon2.2.html -> /opt/YAMon2/Setup/www/yamon2.2.html
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            33 Jan 25 00:12 yamon2.html -> /opt/YAMon2/Setup/www/yamon2.html
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            33 Jan 25 14:06 yamon3.html -> /opt/YAMon3/Setup/www/yamon3.html


Correcting the sym link fixed the issue for me.
VTecheira
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2014
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've noticed a minor bug.

On the Daily usage tab, the drop down list 6 groups and 17 devices.

In the actual display I only see 4 groups and 12 devices. Even explicitly selecting one of these 'hidden' groups from the drop down is not enough to get them to display.

YAMon2 dipslays 4 groups and 12 devices in the same area, so perhaps it's IPv6 related. I'll check make sure I have all the toggles set correctly.

[Edit]
So when I did a browser refresh of YAMon3, it went back to 4-12, but when I let it run for a bit it goes back to 6-17. A browser refresh get's back to 4-12 again.


Last edited by VTecheira on Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:07; edited 1 time in total
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Argh, didn't catch that.
_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
elRadix
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2015
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Running in R7000, i have errors running YAMon, also there is folder /opt/YAMon3/Setup/ - created during download/setup

Code:

YAMon Version:: 3.0.1

******************************************************************
10:30:06 2
**********************************************************
*  YAMon 3.0.1 was started
**********************************************************

cp: can't stat '/opt/YAMon3/Setup/www/*': No such file or directory
10:30:06 2   !!! Copy from /opt/YAMon3/Setup/www/* to /tmp/www/ failed  (1)
10:30:06 1   >>> Copy from /opt/YAMon3/data/* to /tmp/www/data3 successful (0)

******************************************************************
***  `yamon3.0.1.sh` has been started
******************************************************************

To stop the script:
 * run `shutdown.sh` [*RECOMMENDED*]
      e.g., `/opt/YAMon3/shutdown.sh`
 * or delete the `/tmp/YAMon3-running` directory
      e.g., `rmdir /tmp/YAMon3-running`
10:30:06 99 YAMon was started at 10:30:06
10:30:06 1   >>> Delaying 24s to align updates
10:30:30 1   >>> Starting main loop
./yamon3.0.1.sh: line 1039: arithmetic syntax error
./yamon3.0.1.sh: line 1039: arithmetic syntax error
kramanonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jan 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 13:30    Post subject: Yamon data not getting generated post YAMon3 Reply with quote
Hi,

Post upgrade of YAMon3, the data is not getting generated.. What did I miss

I had YAMon2 working earlier.

Thanks
KR



YAMon3.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  57.42 KB
 Viewed:  41918 Time(s)

YAMon3.jpg


kramanonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jan 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 14:09    Post subject: YAMon3 Alert Reply with quote
Now I get this Alert as well.

Something is amiss. Please help

Thanks
KR



YAMon3 Alert.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  47.33 KB
 Viewed:  41909 Time(s)

YAMon3 Alert.jpg


VTecheira
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2014
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 14:14    Post subject: Re: Yamon data not getting generated post YAMon3 Reply with quote
kramanonline wrote:
Hi,

Post upgrade of YAMon3, the data is not getting generated.. What did I miss

I had YAMon2 working earlier.

Thanks
KR


Can you provide some more details?

Did you confirm that Y3 is running?
Did you look to see if the data folder is being created?
Is your users.js populated?
Are your file permission set correctly?
Are the sym links to the data folder set correctly?
Did you try starting and stopping Y3?
What error messages, if any, are in the logs?
Did you review you config.file to make sure the settings are correct?
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Getting this:
ReferenceError: _unlimited_start is not defined
util2.3.js:224:3

Constant "updating data storage format" on web page


Startup would not create js symlink so I added symlinks to top of startup script just to get it going.

_________________
Segment 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 1 R7800 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
h8red
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 478
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi, I have some trouble with install script. Something to do with "curl" command. Router tp-link 842 v2. Details in sig. Thanks

Quote:

Installing YAMon...

/tmp/install.sh: line 66: curl: not found
/tmp/install.sh: line 86: curl: not found
/tmp/install.sh: source: line 87: can't open '/opt/YAMon3/includes/getlatest.sh'


P.S. maybe there is "oldschool" distribution of v 3 to do install manually?

_________________
[Atheros] TP-Link TL-WR842ND v2 rev 31924 std (VPN and PPTP server, AD blocking, YAMon3.2.4)
[Atheros] TP-Link TL-WR740N v3 rev 30880 std (AD blocking)
[Ralink] Asus rt-n10plus C1 rev 31924 std (AP with NAT, QoS, AD blocking)


Last edited by h8red on Tue Jan 26, 2016 21:58; edited 1 time in total
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 92, 93, 94  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 94
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum