Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68 ... 98, 99, 100  Next
Author Message
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 912

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 12:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
deskiller wrote:
for some reason I would run into a bug that would keep download speeds to around 20mb/s , even though I have 300.

I rebooted the router and downloads at the proper speed.



but what would cause this.

I didnt have the problem with the stock firmware.

What build? have you issued erase nvram?

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
Sponsor
coolguy949
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like Kong posted a new build today.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 912

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
coolguy949 wrote:
Looks like Kong posted a new build today.

You could do something more productive and open a new build thread.

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
coolguy949
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's now how it works. We usually discuss R7800 builds in here. My post was merely to notify the R7800 community about a new build, who may not be following Kong's builds. I happened to check his site today and thought it would be *productive* to let fellow R7800 owners know.
vimes
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2015
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
coolguy949 wrote:
Looks like Kong posted a new build today.


Thanks. I appreciate the heads up Smile
yodog
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah thanks for the heads up. I tried kongs build on r9000 and it works. Which build do you guys think is better, kong or bs for r7800/r9000?
Speck
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all,
last month I updated my R7800 with the latest ( at that time ) build:

DD-WRT v3.0-r31900M kongat (04/30/17)

using the R7800-factory-to-ddwrt.img file.

everything works fine, but after one week the WebGui started rejecting my user/pass combination

I'm sure the password is correct, no one changed it, but the interface refuses it.

is there a way to recover the password other than a full factory reset?

In case i need a factory reset, is this a know bug ?
my fault I didn't take a backup of the config after reconfiguring all static dhcp clients Rolling Eyes

thanks
bye,
Speck
jerrytouille
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 20:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
yodog wrote:
Yeah thanks for the heads up. I tried kongs build on r9000 and it works. Which build do you guys think is better, kong or bs for r7800/r9000?


Use the latest Kong build here: http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/
rawd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 23:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the build number of the June 4th Kong build? Thanks
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2855
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
rawd wrote:
What is the build number of the June 4th Kong build? Thanks


r32170M kongat (06/04/17) ]
merf merf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 0:05    Post subject: can't login to cli after upgrade Reply with quote
hi,
my site has a lengthy static dhcp setup, so i've been putting off major upgrades.
i ended up buying a second r7800 so i could get it all config'd and just swap it in for the r7800 that is running v3.0-r29695M from 5/16/16.

i installed v3.0-r32170M kongat 6/11, and for the life of me i cannot login via telnet or ssh after setting my password via the gui.

for fun, i installed v3.0-r31240M kongat 2/4/17, but had the same issue.


any suggestions would be appreciated....
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:52    Post subject: Re: can't login to cli after upgrade Reply with quote
merf merf wrote:
hi,
my site has a lengthy static dhcp setup, so i've been putting off major upgrades.
i ended up buying a second r7800 so i could get it all config'd and just swap it in for the r7800 that is running v3.0-r29695M from 5/16/16.

i installed v3.0-r32170M kongat 6/11, and for the life of me i cannot login via telnet or ssh after setting my password via the gui.

for fun, i installed v3.0-r31240M kongat 2/4/17, but had the same issue.


any suggestions would be appreciated....


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=309658
merf merf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:58    Post subject: Re: can't login to cli after upgrade Reply with quote
thanks, my mistake was in attempting to use the user name i created in the gui, rather than logging in as root using the password specified in the gui.

cheers,
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
doubt anyone will have a clue what about to (rant?) about.. id like to know what the HELL, this crap is:

https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260470
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260450
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260419
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260391
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260341
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260490

got hundreds more, looks obvious right? internet problem, qos etc, NOT. the problem is this fucking qca9984 in this & other routers, i wouldnt be surprised if qca9980 is the same either.

my setup is a dual nat as i want my own network, the host is a dir-862L, its 2.4ghz radio is a ath9k soc qca9558, its 5ghz radio is the older qca9880, its also doing qos on this 30mbps/5mbps line (actual from isp is 35mbps/5.5mbps all the time & its not powerboost), using htb + fq_codel set at 30720/5120. all devices & ethernet are fine, low latency, stable etc.

EXCEPT. me. using my r7800 in client mode to the host above, bufferbloat & spikes up the ass for the longest time, the problem is mostly on download, its not bad, its abysmal, gaming with that crap..lol.. im using 5ghz, signal is about -65, noise is -97 at the host, -105 at the client (r7800). the qca9984 CANT, RECEIVE, PROPERLY, AT, ALL. and no there is no 5ghz interference here, i switch to 2.4ghz & get this:

https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260714
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260699
https://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/17260601

still a bloody mess but still better than over 5ghz, though there is 2.4ghz interference here, the qca9984's 2.4ghz isnt great either, but better than 5ghz (as its got 2 of the same radios).

now everything (well most) is making sense now, when i first touched qca99xx (including ea8500 when i had it), i instantly noticed the elevated latency directly to the router with wifi. searched "qca9984 latency" on google, first link to lede has https://forum.lede-project.org/t/netgear-r7800-exploration-ipq8065-qca9984/285/52

except its not just 0.6ms its more like 1.5ms. so everything should be 1.5ms higher thats all? not. but its a tip of the iceburg & at least someone else on this planet also sees it. the 2.4ghz radio is better, maybe 0.5ms higher. sending rapid pings to it shows it clearly when compared to any ath9k radio, broadcom, and even the PREVIOUS GEN qca9880.. my phone gets 2.5ms to the dir-862L, gets 3.5ms to the r7800 5ghz on average, with EASY frequent spikes to over 20ms, for no reason.

i didnt touch the host at all, simply turned on my wndr4300 that has ar9344 soc for 2.4ghz & ar9580 for 5ghz ath9k, in the same physical position as the r7800 even, client mode to the host. nearly ethernet latency & stable, down & up, 5ghz & 2.4ghz. latency to the host almost constantly <1ms. something not seen with qca9984, even with a pc connected to it (wifi), always 1ms at best, usually 2ms & 3ms. why can another router, connecting to the same host, have stable A/A+ bufferbloat, constantly under 35ms, while r7800 has spikes to dial up latency, & by spikes i mean near constant performance there, hardly a "spike" anymore.

note that speedtest.net, or my isp's test @ speedtest.shaw.ca wont show a issue, they arent aggressive enough. once even slight threading is involved, qca9984 shits a hole through the planet. steam game client also shows this beautifully when its downloading anything, in game 45ms becomes a 75ms ~ 150ms, & thats with near constant latency measurements, its EVERYWHERE. unplayable. real world loads are just as ruined by this as dslreports shows.

not weird enough? torrenting at the max download speed will not invoke this problem, it seems whenever there is the SLIGHTEST tiny amount of "simultaneous" upload at the same time, it completely erases the problem & latency is excellent.. ?????

more mindfuckery, this is at its worst when a qos limit is imposed on the wan, if i further reduce qos to 25mbps, its the exact same, 20mbps, same, 15mbps, same, 10mbps magic happens & its nearly gone, 9mbps & it performs like any other radio does at any speed.. wtf??

if i turn off downlink qos & let it bufferbloat at my isp at 35mbps, it actually performs BETTER, but then everyone else that doesnt have broken radios, suffer.. also since i mentioned the dual nat setup, latency to the host remains 2ms ~ 6ms or so when dslreports is illustrating the problem (or when downloading with steam), just the wan side will fuck up.


what ive tried:

-all channels, ALL OF THEM, every 5ghz band range, absolutely no differenc

-low/med/high tx powers

-disabled (0 followed by reboot), low, default, & high (4500, doubled default) ack timings, on both host & r7800, then separately on each, nothing

-beacon intervals from 50ms ~ 500ms

-dtim from 1 ~ 5

-forcing 40mhz instead of 80mhz

-forcing 802.11n only from the host

-deleting the vap from the host

-deleting the vap from the r7800

-all qos combos on the host

-disabling qos on the host, letting r7800 do it

-forcing min cpu speed to 800mhz on both cores instead of 384mhz as per https://github.com/dissent1/netgear-r7800/blob/master/target/linux/ipq806x/base-files/etc/init.d/powerctl

-forcing performance governor on the r7800 to hold 1725mhz all the time

-the famous nvram erase

-changing mixed to ac-only, ac/n-mixed, on a mix of both the host & r7800 & separately

-disabling noise immunity n a mix of both the host & r7800 & separately

-changing txqueuelen on the host, the r7800 is locked to 0 for some reason

-all combos for protection mode, none, cts, rts/cts, & threshold size

-regulatory domain


nothing did, even. the slightest. difference..

in short, ath10k qca9880, broadcom, ath9k radios have local ping of <1ms to devices. client mode fine to the same host in same position in same environment with stable <35ms bufferbloat when downloading at max speed with threaded loads.

qca9984 has 2ms ~ 6ms local ping to devices, 5ghz op mode has tremendously bad latency in sta modes on downlink, uplink is also a little spikey, qca9984 in 2.4ghz op mode is much better, but still not even close to basically any other radio.

i was liking this router, now im boiling.. finding out its this, not the host with its "tx starved" qca9880 as brainslayer called it, or qos (that has its own problems still, but this is different), or the modem, or whatever.. oh and my pc is connected to the r7800 with ethernet ofc.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 912

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well since you are the most qualified guy to speak about this router around here, you're making me doubt if I should return it and buy what my plan B was, the R7000.. :/
_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68 ... 98, 99, 100  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 67 of 100
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum