Comcast No WAN IP

rem2500
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 18:01    Post subject: Comcast No WAN IP Reply with quote
Hi DD-WRT Experts!

I am coming back to DD-WRT after about 10 years away. I purchased a Netgear R7000 and successfully flashed it with DD-WRT v3.0-r31520M kongac (03/01/17). I have an Arris SBG6400 cable modem which I have been using for several months before getting the R7000. Once I flashed the R7000 I put the Arris in bridge mode and restarted it and the R7000. I also cloned the MAC address for the Arris on the R7000 since I have Comcast as my ISP and I know that they require the MAC to be registered.

I have restared the devices in various orders and numerour times over the past 2-3 hours and the R7000 has never gotten a WAN connection from Comcast. When I reset the Arris to factory default it comes up and works just fine and pulls all the necessary WAN information.

Is there anything else I can try?

Thanks
REM2500
Sponsor
aniel
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
try WAN Connection Type to static/apply then change back to automatic
jmmilner
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 0:10    Post subject: Comcast WAN IP Addresses Reply with quote
I've had similar issues with other DDWRT builds - currently I'm on DD-WRT v3.0-r30082 std (07/01/16) using a WNDR3700v4 and an Arris SB6183.

I've yet to find a synchronizing sequence, in the FSM sense, that will repeatedly bring up my modem and router after a power outage (brief ones are bridged by a UPS) or if the IPv4 address fails to renew and expires. Switching to static and back to automatic will sometimes work but in my experience is far from certain.