I don't want to sell my new router!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
cgytm
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 18:05    Post subject: I don't want to sell my new router! Reply with quote
My question concerns the following route : Linksys WRT 1900ACS V.2.
Until now I was connected on the Internet with an Asus router under Tomato. The router is now defective.
My WAN connection was as follows ans as it appears on the Tomato router. This is a static ip address given by my isp:

WAN IP Address: 205.237.39.204
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 172.16.0.3
Static DNS 1: 8.8.8.8:53
Static DNS 2: 8.8.4.4:53

On DD-WRT, I can not reproduce this configuration because it is impossible to write 8.8.8.8:53

I have been working on this issue for 2 days and I can't find a solution. I must say that I am new with DD-WRT and have no substantial expertise with routers.

How do we succeed in configuring what appears to be that port 53 which seems to me as open. May be I am wrong As a priority I need the "recipe". I will thereafter try to understand a little why it's so simple with Tomato and obscure with DD-WRT. Smile

I have to admit that I tried to install Tomato on this router but it is not possible to do ... I even tried with the original interface of Linksys. This interface is null! So I have to get through the problem otherwise I will have a nice new router for sale! Smile. Thank you so much!
Sponsor
neerav
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 18:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
In dd-wrt, you don't have to add port 53, it's done automagically. Just enter the static DNS servers in the Setup tab and you're good to go!
TP-Link WR710N ..... Stock (considering DD-WRT)
cgytm
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote