TPLink WR-841Nv9 Stock vs DDWRT (Wifi performance)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
vortex05
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 14:31    Post subject: TPLink WR-841Nv9 Stock vs DDWRT (Wifi performance) Reply with quote
I've been wondering about this and I might do an experiment this weekend but just checking here if anyone else has done any testing on this topic.

I've been running the WR-841N on DDWRT from day one for about 2 years now without much of an issue however I've always wondered since I'm using this as an AP if the stock firmware was faster with respect to wireless performance.

Has anyone here tested the two and maybe can comment on this?

Otherwise I'll report back after the weekend where I switch out of DDWRT and try and revert to stock to test if there's a speed difference in wireless.
Sponsor
ramblin
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this an opinion poll or should we be scientific about it ?
YaddaMinski
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37    Post subject: Re: TPLink WR-841Nv9 Stock vs DDWRT (Wifi performance) Reply with quote
vortex05 wrote:
I've been wondering about this and I might do an experiment this weekend but just checking here if anyone else has done any testing on this topic.

I've been running the WR-841N on DDWRT from day one for about 2 years now without much of an issue however I've always wondered since I'm using this as an AP if the stock firmware was faster with respect to wireless performance.

Has anyone here tested the two and maybe can comment on this?

Otherwise I'll report back after the weekend where I switch out of DDWRT and try and revert to stock to test if there's a speed difference in wireless.

Use client bandwidth testers on your LAN. Most likely you will max out the bandwidth.
danielwritesback
DD-WRT User