How to restrict IP for authorized devices on Ethernet LAN/

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
e123enitan
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 17:13    Post subject: How to restrict IP for authorized devices on Ethernet LAN/ Reply with quote
Hi Guys, I am a novice and new to DD WRT, so I will appreciate your kind advices.

I have configure my DD WRT, following most instructions on Youtube and here and there, so far it looks good.
What I am trying to achieve is to configure DD WRT not to assign IP to any devices that is trying to via ethernet jack in any room.

5 have five rooms, with enthernet jack for connecting SIP phone. When I 'm not at home my kids friends will removed the SIP Phone jack , then connect their laptop to connect to internet.

How could I prevent any foreign devices that are not setup in the static lease not obtain IP, let alone connect to my LAN/WAN network

Thanks for your suggestions
Sponsor
ScottieRotten
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
MAC filtering will do what you want. You will just have to make it so your devices MAC addresses are authorized. I would even go a step further and assign ip's to those devices.
e123enitan
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
ScottieRotten wrote:
MAC filtering will do what you want. You will just have to make it so your devices MAC addresses are authorized. I would even go a step further and assign ip's to those devices.

Thanks,
How do I get into this section of MAC filtering, I can see the wireless option, which is not what I needed.
Secondly how many devices could added if you know.
Also, could I disable DHCP, and enable static mode since all my devices at set in static lease table, would that work?

Cheers for your feed back, most appreciated
DaveI
DD-WRT User