WRT160N and V24 Firmware... only up to 130Mbps

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Fizzie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 23:10    Post subject: WRT160N and V24 Firmware... only up to 130Mbps Reply with quote
Hello!

First of all, love the firmware Smile Thanks for developing this.

I got a minor issue, or rather a question.. Since I put DD-WRT on the router the wlan gets detected with max 130Mbps.. which is odd, as it got detected as 300Mbps before. Also, I saw in the webaccess I can setup a max speed, which also only goes up to 130Mbps.

Shouldnt it be 300 Mbps, with draft-n ? I of course do know the connection will never be that fast anyway, but it kinda feels like it is slower than it could be (alltho its already much faster than default firmware, alltho it showed 300Mbps there).

Oh, and I am using the broadcom generic std firmware.

Thanks for the help, and excuse me if that was a silly question Smile
Sponsor
Knasher
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
As far as I know all the custom firmwares only support narrow band 802.11N atm. This means that you will be capped at 130Mbps until someone figures out how to get wide band support working. This is unfortunately due to the fact that companies don't release source for drivers for their hardware so people end up having to write their own. Hopefully it will get there eventually but at the moment there is nothing you can do.
linuxares
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know how the v24 look like on the N-draft.

But some router you must enable 20mhz + 40mhz or extenetion channel to get 300mbits, else you stall at 130mbits.
Fizzie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 13:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh yea I saw those settings in the original firmware. Shame, there is no way to enable the extention channel in the dd-wrt v24 firmware.
somms
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is your WRT160N set to N-Only? The WRT160N should peak at 270Mbps if in client bridge mode. Mine typically averages between 216-243Mbps when connected to primary WRT600N router...
_________________


Member of the Professional Aviation Safety Specialists Union!
Fizzie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
somms wrote:
Is your WRT160N set to N-Only? The WRT160N should peak at 270Mbps if in client bridge mode. Mine typically averages between 216-243Mbps when connected to primary WRT600N router...

I tested both, mixed and n-only mode... seems to be the same. I am also wondering what frequency band I should use? 10, 20 or 40 Mhz?
killer23d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I connect my WRT350N with my Intel 4965ABGN, I get 130Mbps connected speed. Now I am with my WRT600N, in 2.4Ghz mode, I get 130Mbps; in 5Ghz mode, I get 270Mbps. I think it has something to do with wide-band (40Mhz) and 5Ghz.
dacman61
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Buckhannon, West Virginia, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 2:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my WRT350N and WRT300N, I have to set everything to Auto for Channel Width, Wide Channel, and Wireless Channel in order for me to get 270Mbps. Whenever I try to manually set anything it'll only reach 130Mbps. This is based on my findings. It defaults to channel 9 for some reason when there are many access points nearby using channel 6 and one using channel 11, but I was hoping to run the main channel on channel 1 since no one around is using that channel. Oh well.

The WRT350N is my main router and the WRT300N is my Repeater Bridge. Even running it with WPA2 Personal encryption. Smile
nate42nd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone tell me if we need the .bin file for the WRT160N that says

Special File for initial flashing

Do we need to flash this file first? I have searched for hours and cannot find any information on this.

There are 3 files, the other is "Mini" I know they didn't put the "special file" there for fun....I'm sure it needs to be used. Is it for coming from Linksys F/W? If I already had DD-WRT, I would not need this "special" file......is this correct.
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1293
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have one similar router . WRT150N .. i only can get 130 ..

I think this speed is limit by the single radio .. speed near 300 is only for dual radio router .. it is not our case ..



PS .. SET the security with wpa2 & aes .. never use wpa and tkip ...

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 WZR1750 25408 BS @1000
1 DDx86 VMware 25279
1 E3000 22000+ Kong 4G Squid
1 E3200 24118 4G
1 WRT610Nv2 22000+ Kong
1 WHR G125 Voip 15962
1 WRT150N 23838
1 WHR HP 54 like Repeater Bridge 15962
nate42nd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Stalonge, I am a noob to DD-WRT, but do you (or anyone else) know if this special file for initial flashing is needed the first time coming form "stock" F/W. Can I run this F/W. It looks to be the same size as the "Mini"

Thanks for any help.
freddie802
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Devon, PA USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just installed eko 13450 k2.6 mini on 2 wrt160n v3 routers setup as wds using a linksys wusb600 client adapter and I was getting speeds of 270 on the client side so it does work.
_________________
2 x wrt600n v1.1 AP WL0 Mixed Mode WPA2 Pers Aes, WL1 N Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES V24 BS 15778 WT610N
wrt310n Wireless Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 15506 Mini
wrt54g v7 G Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 12523 Micro
ssjtiamat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 17:45    Post subject: wrt160n actually able to utilize the N band? Reply with quote
Well apparently I must be doing something wrong then. I am running v24 sp2 build 13253m. Currently I have the following devices connected to my router (wrt160nv3):

Desktop - wired
PS3 - wired
Laptop - wireless
2nd Desktop - wireless (using wrt54gv2 in bridge mode)

Now the ONLY thing I have any issues with is the Laptop. The laptop adapter card is 802.11b/g/n and of course i would love to use the N band and take advantage of the increased speeds it offers.

So after the initial flash I noticed that the laptop was only getting 54mbps. So obviously it was not using the N band. So I then switched the router to broadcast only N, thus forcing the laptop to connect with N only. At least in theory. However, whenever I do this the laptop will NOT connect to the router!! Is there a setting I can change or something I may have done wrong that is a common mistake? Or does this version of DD-WRT for this particular router not support N? It would not appear so, considering the contents of this thread.

I did do a search, but it is really hard to narrow down results when using such common search terms (N, WRT160n, etc..). I even scrolled through the wrt160n thread in the broadcom forum. All 24 pages of it. And I did not see anything except 1 or 2 posts on the topic yet they both went unanswered throughout the remainder of the thread. Unless I missed something (entirely possible after looking through that many posts manually).

**edit** I also just noticed as well, that as I was trying different bands I wanted to change my channel (seems like the whole neighborhood uses the default, lol) to either 2 or 3 yet no matter what I change it to in the dropdown menu it ALWAYS reverts back to "auto". Is this a bug, or is this being forced into auto because of a setting somewhere?

Can anyone offer any assistance? I really need to get the N working on the laptop. Thanks in advance.

And thanks to the Dev Team on this whole project. I have been using DD-WRT on my routers for the last couple years and have installed it onto many more. Not to mention the tons of reccomendations I gave to people to use this software. The firmware is awesome and provides the settings and features a router should give by default yet does not. You guys are lifesavers!
SmittS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm new to the forum and DD-WRT and just flashed a WRT160n as well. Does this router not have two radios? I noticed someone posted their settings in the 160n thread as this:

wl0:
Wireless Network Mode - Mixed
Wireless Clannel - 7
Channel Width - 40 Mhz
Wide Channel - upper
wl1:
Wireless Network Mode - Mixed
Wireless Clannel - 11
Channel Width - 40 Mhz
Wide Channel - lower

Only problem is my webGUI only shows wl0. I'm using dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt160nv3.bin. Could it be an issue with this build?
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12857
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
SmittS wrote:
I'm new to the forum and DD-WRT and just flashed a WRT160n as well. Does this router not have two radios? I noticed someone posted their settings in the 160n thread as this:

wl0:
Wireless Network Mode - Mixed
Wireless Clannel - 7
Channel Width - 40 Mhz
Wide Channel - upper
wl1:
Wireless Network Mode - Mixed
Wireless Clannel - 11
Channel Width - 40 Mhz
Wide Channel - lower

Only problem is my webGUI only shows wl0. I'm using dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt160nv3.bin. Could it be an issue with this build?


correct.. the 160 has only one radio.. you may have mis-read the thread or that post was put in the wrong thread. I am sure it was in regards to a 610, not a 160

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum