asterisk / star for host name in dhcp client list

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Deuberger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 20:26    Post subject: asterisk / star for host name in dhcp client list Reply with quote
Why does an asterisk (star) sometimes show up as the host name in the dhcp client list show on the info page when first logging into the control panel? Sometimes there is more than one.

I've searched the forums, etc. and have tried my best to make sense of it, but can't find an answer.

Thanks!

Device: Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP3 (06/20/07) std
Sponsor
foamcup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
My Xbox 360 and PSP show up as * on the client list, do you have either of those systems? It's probably something like that, no biggie really.



EDIT: I'm thinking if you assign static IP, you can specify a host name, but since DD-WRT assigns the same IPs all the time, I never bothered to figure out how to do it. Laughing
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 0:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
The trick is that the DHCP client must send its hostname during the DHCP negotiation.


http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/dnsmasq#head-2bd3621bd68a9c6f5e5225f67cd08ee34915378a
Deuberger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 13:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahh, you are right. It was the xbox. I didn't think of that because we haven't turned it on for a while. But the assignment is still cached it looks like. I confirmed it by turning on the system and verifying the new assignment. Thanks.
htamas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 19:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have to bump this old thread since I'm experiencing the same issue.
My Windows Home Server box also shows up with the hostname of asterisk in the client list.

DD-WRT is configured to provide a static IP address lease to the server. Interestingly, while booting the server, it shows up correctly as 'homeserver' in the client list, but then it changes to * and remains like that.
I have two other clients that are also configured with static leases, and both of them show up fine with their correct host name in the list.

My concern is that since the hostname is the asterisk, other clients won't find the server by hostname unless the IP address is in each and every hosts file on other machines. I would like to avoid that.

I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std (SVN revision 14896)

Obviously, since other similarly configured hosts show up fine in the client list, I'd expect the home server to do the same, so even though this is a little old firmware, it shouldn't depend on the version. I suspect I'll need to change something on the home server itself. Can someone help to figure out how to get the correct host name to stay in DD-WRT?
skyw33
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 May 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 16:34    Post subject: asterisk star appearing in router client when static lease Reply with quote
I had this problem on Ubuntu. My problem was related to DECnet which is required when setting up Icecast (ICES2). DECnet changes the MAC address of your ethernet card. For some reason, this causes big problems when you try to set up a static lease on a dd-wrt router. I removed icecast and DECnet and all problems are solved, except I no longer have icecast.
Pamela
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello Everyone,

Sorry about bumping a year old thread.
I am still looking for a solution since I do not have icecast or DECnet to remove.
Would be so cool if you could edit the name of the devices via the Admin section.
Still looking.

Anyone of of a step by step solution for a noob? Smile

T.I.A.

_________________
~Router Listing~
Linksys E1550- Firmware v24-sp2 (04/07/12) std-usb-nas - build 18946M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko + OTRW2
s_razvan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a friendly bump.
will567
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pamela wrote:
Sorry about bumping a year old thread

No need to be sorry. This is an excellent question (and thread) and I came across it myself while scratching my head and Googling for an answer.

None of the answers here applied in my situation and so I had to recruit some creative self-thinking and I think that I finally solved the mystery: It is the BRIDGE (if one is configured) that is setup through the tabs Setup > Networking, under the section Bridging | Create Bridge:



HTH

_________________
Hardware: WRT54GL v1.1
Firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP3 (06/20/07) vpn
Radio is Off !
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum