Help a noob keep his hair with his DIR615

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
everythingred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 18:17    Post subject: Help a noob keep his hair with his DIR615 Reply with quote
Hey guys, I'm reading up on these tutorials and it says to access the DLink router by typing 192.168.0.1, the problem is is that my modem is also a wireless router in itself and it takes me to its page, rather than to my DLink.

What I did was take the DLink I had laying around and plugged it into the Cisco modem/router and expected it to work but that failed obviously.

I have watched so many guides but all of them have just a regular modem so it doesn't help my case.

Any help is appreciated.
Sponsor
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
As your main router is already using 192.168.0.1, you can't assign 192.168.0.1 to the DIR-615.

If you want to keep the Cisco in router mode, you have 2 options.

1. Convert the DIR-615 to a Wireless Access Point (WAP). You would also need to change the IP address of the DIR-615 to say 192.168.0.250 which is on the same subnet as the Cisco router. The DHCP server on the DIR-615 must be switched off.

2. You could keep the DIR-615 in router mode, but I don't recommend it due to double-NAT. But you also need to change the IP address of the DIR-615 to a different subnet. eg. change DIR-615 to use 192.168.3.1. Note that devices connecting to the Cisco won't be able to see devices connected to the DIR-615.


The alternative is to reconfigure the Cisco into operating in 'bridge' modem mode, and let DIR-615 handle all authentication to your ISP.


Last edited by bob8 on Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:45; edited 3 times in total
everythingred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 19:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
bob8 wrote:
As your Cisco modem router is already using 192.168.0.1, you can't assign 192.168.0.1 to the DIR-615.

If you want to keep the Cisco in router mode, you have 2 options.

1. Convert the DIR-615 to a Wireless Access Point (WAP). You would also need to change the IP address of the DIR-615 to say 192.168.0.250 which is on the same subnet as the Cisco router. The DHCP server on the DIR-615 must be switched off.

2. You could keep the DIR-615 in router mode, but I don't recommend it due to double-NAT. But you still need to change the IP address of the DIR-615 to a different subnet. eg. change DIR-615 to use 192.168.3.1. Note that devices connecting to the Cisco won't be able to see devices connected to the DIR-615.


The alternative is to reconfigure the Cisco into operating in bridge modem mode, and let DIR-615 handle all authentication to your ISP.


Unfortunately the alternative is not possible because the Cisco is the modem and I'm on cable internet so the coaxial port doesn't exist on the DIR615.

Well which option is best to use the DIR615 as a repeater because I'll be using it to boost my wireless signal?
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
deleted

Last edited by bob8 on Wed Sep 10, 2014 21:53; edited 1 time in total
everythingred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 20:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
bob8 wrote:
Change the IP address of the DIR-615 to 192.168.0.250 and then see if you can configure it for repeater mode. I suspect you may need to use 'Repeater Bridge' mode.


Alright now here comes the stupid question, how do I change its IP?
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
With DD-WRT firmware:

Setup->Basic Setup

Under Network Setup section:
Edit the 'Local IP address'


Last edited by bob8 on Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:46; edited 1 time in total
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hold on a moment....

I just realised in your first post you said you think your DIR-615 may be using IP address 192.168.0.1....

After DD-WRT firmware is installed, the default IP address becomes 192.168.1.1 on the DIR-615.

Apologies for my incorrect earlier advice. It's getting late here....



UPDATED:

You haven't mentioned the HW rev. on your DIR-615.

Try this extracted from another thread for rev.D models which I know works for configuring a repeater bridge on rev. D4 models.
(http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=153372)

Go to 192.168.1.1 and log in.

Go to the wireless tab.

Choose Repeater Bridge under wireless mode.
Match your SSID and channel settings exactly to the Cisco you will be connecting to using wifi, and click save. Make sure bridged is selected.

Go to the Wireless Security tab and match these to your main router exactly and click save.

Now go to setup>basic setup. Choose a local IP in the same subnet that is not being used as your main router.

IF your main router is on 192.168.0.1 then change the DD-WRT router to use 192.168.0.250 for example. Assuming your ip is in this range the subnet will be 255.255.255.0 and the gateway and local dns will be 192.168.0.1.

If you have a Cisco linksys router and it is on 192.168.1.1, then change the DD-WRT router to use 192.168.1.2 (or 192.168.1.250). Set the subnet to 255.255.255.0 and gateway and local dns to 192.168.1.1.

Make sure your Cisco is using a fixed wireless channel number: 1, 6 or 11. (ie. do not use Auto)


Last edited by bob8 on Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:49; edited 6 times in total
everythingred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok so I connected the 615 to the power outlet, did the 30-30-30 step. Then I took an ethernet cord and plugged it from my Cisco modem, to the Internet port, not the LAN ports on my DLink. I popped in the CD and chose install router but was met with an error that multiple wired adapters were detected and that I have to disable them before proceeding forward. This modem really is making this harder.
everythingred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 21:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
As for the second post you made, I have the C1 revision and no, the 192.168.0.1 takes me to Hitron Technologies not DLink.
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think we are getting our wires crossed Confused



Is DD-WRT installed on the DIR-615 or is it still running the originally shipped Dlink firmware?

Do not wire the DIR-615 to your main router. Wire a PC direct to the DIR-615. Open a web browser and point it to 192.168.0.1, if you see a Dlink branded web page, you need to install DD-WRT firmware on it if you specifically want repeater mode or any other features offered by DD-WRT firmware.

Otherwise, try 192.168.1.1. If you see DD-WRT page, then log in and configure it accordingly.


This is a repeater
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge
(if you want a repeater, you may want to try the simpler instructions posted earlier in this thread first)

This is a wireless access point (WAP)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point

To put simply, the key difference is how the DD-WRT router connects back to your main router. Repeater does it over wifi, the WAP uses a wired cable. The maximum wifi speed through a repeater is also only half the speed of a similarly configured WAP.


Hitron Technologies ? Your earlier posts quoted cisco ??

What is make and model no. of your main wifi router?
What do you think is IP address of your existing wifi router?

(I believe most Cisco linksys branded routers usually have default ip address of 192.168.1.1, not 192.168.0.1)

The DIR-615 C1 uses an Atheros SoC, not RaLink. Although configuring DD-WRT should be mostly the same, you should ideally post in the Atheros forum of this website.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum