[SOLVED] Casting on Chromecast while connected to OpenVPN

edermann
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2023 0:10    Post subject: [SOLVED] Casting on Chromecast while connected to OpenVPN Reply with quote
I'm a German student living temporarily in Australia. I would like to stream German TV (from ARD Mediathek and other places) to my Chromecast at my TV. As this is geoblocked in Australia, I thought that the best solution will be to install DD-WRT on my Router and then connect to my German University via OpenVPN.

1) I succeeded in installing DD-WRT on my Netgear R6400v2 Router.
2) I also succeeded in connecting to my university VPN and I can stream on my computer.
3) I used the TUN setting with NAT enabled. I'm attaching my OpenVPN configuration.

4) HOWEVER, if I try to cast any video (on ARD Mediathek or even just Youtube) to my Chromecast, it fails. In Chrome, it just says "Casting failed. Try again later".
5) If I disconnect the VPN, I can cast Youtube videos without problems, but then ARD Mediathek is geoblocked.
6) I also tried to use TAP with bridging, where casting to my Chromecast worked, but the traffic was not routed through the VPN (IP location was still shown to be in Australia and I could not stream geoblocked content).

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Sponsor
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2023 0:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this on 54604?

https://ftp.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2023/12-26-2023-r54604/netgear-r6400v2/

Is your router the OTP version?

https://ftp.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2023/12-26-2023-r54604/netgear-r6400v2otp/

Are you sure your University isn't blocking Chromecast?

And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------