v24 Outdoor Band

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware
Author Message
JustJoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 17:04    Post subject: v24 Outdoor Band Reply with quote
Hello,

I am trying to configure DD-WRT in Client Bridge mode with a UBNT SR5 for the other end of a PtP 802.11a link.

Regulatory Domain: UNITED_STATES

When it wouldn't connect to a UBNT AP on (full) Channel 165, I wasn't sure what was going on. So I tried the AP on Ch 161 ... It worked!

Okkkk ... I put the AP back on 165 and did a site survey from the DD-WRT client ... didn't show up ???

So I did some testing with the DD-WRT box in AP mode, then I realized the channel list went from 36 to 161 ... ahhh So I enabled Outdoor Band, and after Apply, I refreshed the page ...

*Only* Channel 165 was showing ! :-(

Now site survey for the UBNT AP on 165 worked, and when I put DD-WRT box back to Client Bridge with Outdoor Band enabled, it now associated and worked.

*But* ... I have a big problem with this. The DD-WRT box is going to be at the *remote* site, and I was trying to use 165 due to the best throughput. But if I wake up some morning and someone else is filling 165 with noise so I can't pass traffic, I can't just switch the AP to 161, because it won't connect.

I think there may be a bug in the Regulatory Domain: UNITED_STATES table. From everything I have read for US FCC, UNII-3/ISM band (5710-5815MHz) is for outdoor use, but can be used indoors as well. I therefore feel that this band should show up with either Outdoor Band disabled *or* enabled so that such a client can link to AP over either 165 or 149-161. ???

Best Regards ... Joe
Sponsor
JustJoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 15:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
--bump-- ... No change on v24-SP1
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17487
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
try reg dom germany
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
JustJoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
try reg dom germany


Thanks for the reply. But when I try "GERMANY" and "Outdoor Band - Enabled" I get what I believe are the
UNII-2 band (100/5500-140/5700MHz).

Is this forum a proper way to get this into the bug list ? Or should I be Emailing support ?

Best Regards ... Joe
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6111
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
i solved it now internally. so indoor does not cover the higher channels anymore and outdoor does cover all the higher frequencies including channel 165
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
JustJoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Excellent! Sounds like that will work very well!

Many Thanks .... Joe
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum