support: WHR-G300N

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1372
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you have all the router firewall stuff turned off on the repeater bridge?

On the repeater bridge, do you have the gateway and dns pointing to the main AP's IP address?

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.40
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Barrier Breaker 40360
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.6.0
Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2
-------------------------
Belkin F7D3302 - Kong K-2.6 22200
Linksys E3000 - Fractal - 23040 K-2.6 Mega
Linksys WRT310N V1 - Brainslayer/Kong - 23720 K-2.4 VPN
Sponsor
zuluwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:41    Post subject: iPhone slow download speed Reply with quote
I'm not sure if this is related to the packet loss issue(s,) but my iphone caps at about 50kbps download when connected to the WHR-G300N. Upload speed is fine, just download is being hampered by something. I have a wireless laptop that has normal download/upload speeds. My old router worked fine with the iphone. I've reset all settings on the phone, and tried various other things.

I've tried older versions of DD-WRT, changing almost every setting with and without wifi security. The channel, B or G only etc.

Anyone else had an issue with incredibly slow download (but normal upload) speed with only one device? Thanks
duloc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 13:59    Post subject: apple hardware Reply with quote
I have been using dd-wrt for a few months now. It seems that the newer 13064 release causes many packet drops (~50% loss pinging the router) with apple hardware. Version 12188 seems to work just fine though.
homtherobot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 22:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
zulu, i am getting absolutely atrocious download speeds (sometimes as low as a few KB/s) with the unit most of the time, but every once in a while it will briefly shoot up and max out my 25Mbps connection. i have been completely unable to identify the problem and despite an external antenna mod and upping the tx power substantially i can't seem to fix it. i can only assume it's the firmware itself.
devros
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 49
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 20:22    Post subject: Re: apple hardware Reply with quote
duloc wrote:
I have been using dd-wrt for a few months now. It seems that the newer 13064 release causes many packet drops (~50% loss pinging the router) with apple hardware. Version 12188 seems to work just fine though.


I'd like to try a newer build to see if it plays nicer with iPhones. Once I have dd-wrt on it, can I just load a newer generic version, or does it have to be a G300N specific build?

thanks,

dev
power10
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 0:12    Post subject: WDS with 3 WHR-G300N Reply with quote
HELP!!

I have tried every which way to setup my 3 WHR-G300N's as wireless repeater bridges or by using WDS and for some reason I cant get it to work.

I have flashed dozens of routers before and have done similar setups without a hitch, this is my first bridging setup with these. About 6 hours of crawling pages so far with no luck.

Is there a reccomended config or setup for these units? I will be using them in a pure G300N environment. I would prefer to use them in N-Only mode.

INTERNET -- G300N #1 (192.168.1.1)
~~G300N #2(wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.2) to PC area A
~~G300N #3 (wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.3) to Printer area
duloc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:30    Post subject: Re: apple hardware Reply with quote
devros wrote:
duloc wrote:
I have been using dd-wrt for a few months now. It seems that the newer 13064 release causes many packet drops (~50% loss pinging the router) with apple hardware. Version 12188 seems to work just fine though.


I'd like to try a newer build to see if it plays nicer with iPhones. Once I have dd-wrt on it, can I just load a newer generic version, or does it have to be a G300N specific build?

thanks,

dev


You need to use g300n specific builds currently.
mrg666
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 157
Location: North East - USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 15:28    Post subject: Re: WDS with 3 WHR-G300N Reply with quote
power10 wrote:
HELP!!

I have tried every which way to setup my 3 WHR-G300N's as wireless repeater bridges or by using WDS and for some reason I cant get it to work.

I have flashed dozens of routers before and have done similar setups without a hitch, this is my first bridging setup with these. About 6 hours of crawling pages so far with no luck.

Is there a reccomended config or setup for these units? I will be using them in a pure G300N environment. I would prefer to use them in N-Only mode.

INTERNET -- G300N #1 (192.168.1.1)
~~G300N #2(wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.2) to PC area A
~~G300N #3 (wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.3) to Printer area


Please search the other threads. There are posts in several threads reporting wireless repeater bridge working with WHR-G300N. Unfortunately, I tried WDS unsuccessfully and I can not find anyone here who made WDS work with WHR-G300N. Hopefully next release might fix WDS if there is still development for WHR-G300N.

_________________
WNR3500L DD-WRT-18730-Kong Gateway/Firewall/NAS
WRT54G-TM DD-WRT-14929 Mega (heatsink + 250MHz oc)
WHR-G300N DD-WRT-20548(external antennas)
2x E2000 Tomato-Toastman 0501.2 AP (external antennas)
TEW-652BRP Gargoyle 1.5.9 Client Bridge (antenna upgrade + heatsinks + ventilation)
junpit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 16:31    Post subject: Re: WDS with 3 WHR-G300N Reply with quote
mrg666 wrote:
power10 wrote:
HELP!!

I have tried every which way to setup my 3 WHR-G300N's as wireless repeater bridges or by using WDS and for some reason I cant get it to work.

I have flashed dozens of routers before and have done similar setups without a hitch, this is my first bridging setup with these. About 6 hours of crawling pages so far with no luck.

Is there a reccomended config or setup for these units? I will be using them in a pure G300N environment. I would prefer to use them in N-Only mode.

INTERNET -- G300N #1 (192.168.1.1)
~~G300N #2(wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.2) to PC area A
~~G300N #3 (wireless bridged w. ip 192.168.1.3) to Printer area


Please search the other threads. There are posts in several threads reporting wireless repeater bridge working with WHR-G300N. Unfortunately, I tried WDS unsuccessfully and I can not find anyone here who made WDS work with WHR-G300N. Hopefully next release might fix WDS if there is still development for WHR-G300N.


The WDS does work. I've had it working myself. If your AP is directly connected to the internet, you may have issues as I could get traffic flowing, but I couldn't get services working at the AP that were accessible over the bridge like DNS. DHCP worked, but that was it. Hence it may look like its not working but it really is. Hence this is nothing to do with WDS but more to do with the build at the moment. Try pinging an adsl router say (not the AP) from a PC connected to the bridge.

HTH

Junpit
mrg666
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 157
Location: North East - USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Junpit, please post here if you have done anything different than the Wiki to make WDS work. I tried for hours tweaking the two WHR-G300N routers without success. By the way, both of them were configured as AP's only. WRT54G-TM is connected to the cable modem and serves as Gateway, DHCP server, DNS server. First WHR-G300N is connected to the Gateway router via ethernet. And, two WHR-G300N routers are AP's connected to each other with WDS (unsuccessfully) i.e. WAN port disabled, DHCP server disabled, Router mode for LAN&WLAN (not Gateway). I have also used startup scripts to assign unique MAC addresses for LAN and WAN ports, and the same wireless settings.
_________________
WNR3500L DD-WRT-18730-Kong Gateway/Firewall/NAS
WRT54G-TM DD-WRT-14929 Mega (heatsink + 250MHz oc)
WHR-G300N DD-WRT-20548(external antennas)
2x E2000 Tomato-Toastman 0501.2 AP (external antennas)
TEW-652BRP Gargoyle 1.5.9 Client Bridge (antenna upgrade + heatsinks + ventilation)
moosez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi, is there any micro-build for the WHR-G300N, i would like to install irssi on the device. Tobad there aint any jffs support... Crying or Very sad
kozarrat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2009
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
For some reason my g300n is not finding any networks in site survey when set to repeater bridge mode (therefore rendering repeater bridge mode useless). The wiviz survey works.
And in AP mode the Site survey works just fine. I'm using the v24-sp2 (10/10/09) build for g300N.

Any ideas?
mrg666
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 157
Location: North East - USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 3:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do not use the site survey for repeater bridge. Just set the correct parameters, then repeater bridge connects on the next reboot.
_________________
WNR3500L DD-WRT-18730-Kong Gateway/Firewall/NAS
WRT54G-TM DD-WRT-14929 Mega (heatsink + 250MHz oc)
WHR-G300N DD-WRT-20548(external antennas)
2x E2000 Tomato-Toastman 0501.2 AP (external antennas)
TEW-652BRP Gargoyle 1.5.9 Client Bridge (antenna upgrade + heatsinks + ventilation)
tjk_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 0:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
If I flash my G300N with dd-wrt, is there a way to flash back the original buffalo firmware?
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1372
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
tjk_ wrote:
If I flash my G300N with dd-wrt, is there a way to flash back the original buffalo firmware?


Nope... it's a 1-Way trip.

You can flash to DD-WRT, and there is also a generic Ralink 3.3.0.0 firmware.

Those are your only 2 options once you flash off the original Buffalo firmware.

Buffalo encrypts their firmware for legal reasons, and no one has managed
to decrypt the firmware yet, which is why you cannot go back to Buffalo firmware.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.40
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Barrier Breaker 40360
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.6.0
Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2
-------------------------
Belkin F7D3302 - Kong K-2.6 22200
Linksys E3000 - Fractal - 23040 K-2.6 Mega
Linksys WRT310N V1 - Brainslayer/Kong - 23720 K-2.4 VPN
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 16 of 18
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum