Linksys WRT54G2 now supported

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 76, 77, 78  Next
Author Message
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
It works on the G2, 610 E2000, E3000, etc...


I'll be damned! Green/Amber

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Sponsor
Fenix-TX
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Oct 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Dark_Shadow wrote:
Fenix-TX wrote:
is it normal that wifi protected setup led is on amber? Thanks.
I didn't know it could be any other color.

Pay attention! Razz

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=64330

Thanks, i'll take a look. But it says blue, i suppose that in wrt54g2 is green.
IZZY DOG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 0:40    Post subject: I have file to restore WRT54g2 V1.0 to factory default Reply with quote
Hello
HardReset
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:16    Post subject: Re: I have file to restore WRT54g2 V1.0 to factory default Reply with quote
IZZY DOG wrote:
Hello

Hi!

_________________
PM for Pin Short Instructions Razz
IZZY DOG
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:36    Post subject: Re: Guide to revert to VXWorks Reply with quote
cybermiguel wrote:
rlasmar wrote:

Hi, I have the Router WRT54G2 V1. I did the procedure above for the WRT54GS V7, to restore the linksys firmware, and it's work. But, here is a question: If I want get back to dd-wrt again, what procedure should I follow? The procedure for the WRT54G2 V1 or WRT54GS V7, since now my router have the firmware from GS V7?

I guess I have to follow like the first time, the procedure for the WRT54G2 V1, right?

Another question: Can I update to firmware from WRT54G2 V1 using the Web Gui from the firmware WRT54GS V7, once now this is what istalled on my router?


Ok, I will answer your questions:

a) You can update to the original WRT54G2 firmware from the WRT54GS v7 doing the following:

1.- Download the WRT54G2 v1.0 firmware from http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/wireless/lbc/WRT54G2

2.- With a hex editor (in my case, I used xvi32) open one window with the WRT54GS v7.0 firmware and one window with the WRT54G2 v1.0 firmware.

3.- At the beginning of the firmware, there are some characters and some hex info that I call it "firmware check id". It's everything BEFORE the "Linksys WRT54G bla bla bla" part. You must replicate in the WRT54G2 firmware what you see in that part on the WRT54GS v7.0 firmware.

4.- Once you made those changes (not much in my opinion) on the WRT54G2 v1.0 firmware, save the file.

5.- Go to the router's firmware webpage and click the "administration" link. Now click "Firmware update" and choose the WRT54G2 v1.0 firmware you just saved (the one you edited). Click "upgrade".

6.- That's it. After waiting for around 4 or 5 minutes, you have the original WRT54G2 firmware.

From then on, you can use all the updates for the wrt54g2 that linksys makes available.

Now, to answer your second question, if you want to go back to dd-wrt, you have to use the WRT54G2 v1.0 method with the WRT54G2 v1.0 firmware.


I made it easy for people that have no experience with a HEX editor. I compiled the file and is ready. You need to have your routers firmware at WRT54GS V.7 before using this file.



WRT54GSv7_v7.50.2_fw.bin
 Description:
Needed to revert WRT54G2 V.1 to stock firmware.

Download
 Filename:  WRT54GSv7_v7.50.2_fw.bin
 Filesize:  1.71 MB
 Downloaded:  23059 Time(s)

tomson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Stormcrow wrote:
Dear all,

I have a WRT54G2 router, the version is 1.0.

I am currently using NEWD_Micro.bin build 12548.

Is there a newer build which is recommended?
If so, a download link would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.


Hi....

First I updated the WRT54G2 v1 to
dd-wrt.v24-10709_NEWD_micro.bin
and after I used the last:
dd-wrt.v24-16403_NEWD_micro.bin

For now no problems.......

Link to 16403 or newer:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11334
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can also run the Micro_Plus and Micro_Plus_ssh builds on the 54G2v1 units...they have a 128K CFE already.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
ptgeorge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 23:34    Post subject: WRT54G2 Won't Apply/Save Reply with quote
I seem to have successfully flashed my wrt54g2 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/30/0Cool micro. I can browse to all pages, I just can't get it to apply or save anything. I get a blank page and I have to manually browse back to the IP. Won't save a router U/P under Admin. Done several of these with older Linksys; first time with this model. Thanks for your help.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12991
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 13:10    Post subject: Re: WRT54G2 Won't Apply/Save Reply with quote
ptgeorge wrote:
I seem to have successfully flashed my wrt54g2 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/30/0Cool micro. I can browse to all pages, I just can't get it to apply or save anything. I get a blank page and I have to manually browse back to the IP. Won't save a router U/P under Admin. Done several of these with older Linksys; first time with this model. Thanks for your help.


Arrgg... Clear you browsers cache & cookies or use a diff browser. I use IE.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
ptgeorge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I came back to it the next morning; let it cook all night. It's working properly now on the same PC and browser as before (?).
GaryH
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just purchased one of these bad boys dirt cheap Very Happy
Am I right in thinking I can only put 'micro' on to this? (V1) Will the Micro Plus SSH work with it?
deathnite
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
GaryH wrote:
Just purchased one of these bad boys dirt cheap Very Happy
Am I right in thinking I can only put 'micro' on to this? (V1) Will the Micro Plus SSH work with it?

redhawk0 wrote:
You can also run the Micro_Plus and Micro_Plus_ssh builds on the 54G2v1 units...they have a 128K CFE already.

redhawk

I think redhawk made it pretty clear.

_________________
[Broadcom ARM] ASUS RT-AC56U v2.00 --802.11ac-- dd-wrt v24-SP2-r23919 | RT-AC56U Thread | ASUSWRT-Merlin 376.49-Kernel-2.6
[Atheros MIPS] Linksys WRT160NL v1.0 --802.11n-- dd-wrt v24-SP2-r20675 | WRT160NL Thread | OpenWrt Barrier Breaker r40477-Kernel-3.10
GaryH
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh dear... It must have been this forum I was reading earlier while doing some research Embarassed
SubjectX
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys.

It might be already written somewhere, but going thru 77 pages is a bit zzZZZZzz so I'll just ask again:

I have DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) micro (SVN revision 14929) on my WRT54G2 v1.

Can i simply use ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/03-17-11-r16454/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin to upgrade?

Its all mess for me with this EKO, NEWD2 and other builds I'm not exactly sure which is compatible with which :)

I want to upgrade because I get random internet connection stalls, router just stops working or internet connection drops for an hour.
renswic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
cadillac22 wrote:
I have a problem with my WRT54G2 V1 using svn13491-snow/NEWD/. My internet connection keeps slowing when streaming video from youtube and netflix, but when using video it uses full speed. I've tried adjusting the TCP UDP and Maximum Ports.
Here is an image of the bandwidth issue I'm having, this is streaming Netflix. http://yfrog.com/58ddwrtp


Having the same problems. Didn't see an answer to his question so I'm asking it again.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 76, 77, 78  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 77 of 78
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum