No PPPoE option, ADSL modem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:57    Post subject: No PPPoE option, ADSL modem Reply with quote
O.k. I know I will feel like a complete idiot once the answer is posted, but here it goes. I have looked all over for the answer. UPDATE: MORE LESS CONFIRMED THIS IS NOT JUST MY OWN STUPIDITY, THERE REALLY IS SOMETHING WRONG.

Just installed DD-WRT to a linksys, and I can not find an option to fill in a username and password for the router to pass pppoe to my ISP's ADSL modem on the wan port. Everything else is working fine, I am simply looking for the equivalent fields (or the script, or whatever) such as existed in the original linksys web configurations.

The wan connection type gives me simply static or DHCP, neither has any type of PPPoE user name and password field options or similar. What am I missing?

A link pointing me in the right direction would be fine, or that there is a script I need to load. It just seems like something that should be right there in my face, like everything else DD-WRT (it otherwise rocks). By the way internet via other router is fine.

Thanks and Apologies in advance for such a noo000be question.I am really not 80 years old.


Last edited by cenc on Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:10; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once you select PPPoE as the wan connection type, the user name & password fields will appear.

It is then important that you set your modem up as a bridge, and fill in the static dns addresses in the main setup page of the router.
Once I set my modem as a bridge (speedstream), I can no longer access the modem's GUI. I have to do a reset to the modem.

Bridging the modem needs to be done before you set up the router. Once you select PPPoE as the connection type and it obtains a logon, the cisco light will light.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then I am not crazy. There is something wrong with my install or something.

Here are the pull down options I am given:

Disabled
Static
Automatic Configuration - DHCP
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anyone think it matters that I installed the
dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic.bin package?
freonchill
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
whats your router?
_________________
2x WRT54G v5, 2x WRT54G v2
1x WRT54G-TM
1x WRT54GL
2x BUFFALO WHR-G54S
1x La Fonera
FON Client Bridge tutorial
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRTG54 V8
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I might add, my cisco light is bright orange, and I am showing green lights between both router and modem.
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:08    Post subject: update to problem Reply with quote
So, I reflashed the router with the plain generic package, but I still have no PPPoE option in the pull down menu.

Would like anyone's suggestions for being able to diagnose this problem in more detail, perhaps through issuing commands via tftp or something to find out what is causing this. As I really do not know my way around the software, I am not sure what is possible.
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:13    Post subject: other ways to pass PPPoE password Reply with quote
alternatively, is there another way to pass a PPPoE logon password and username from the router to the ADSL modem? Can it be done by altering a script or issuing a command?

I thought it would be good to start by trying to confirm that this is not just some GUI web page glitch, where the option is missing from the menue.
cenc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am currently running:
DD-WRT v24-sp1 (07/28/0Cool micro - build 10015
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is what the setup screen looks like when selecting pppoe as the wan connection type..

Build - svn 11296 mini

Edit: Micro is the same.

Glad I could help

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
freonchill
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
did they take pppoe out of micro?

it should be under:
settings / basic settings
change DHCP to PPPoE
then input login, password

make sure you put your modem into bridge

_________________
2x WRT54G v5, 2x WRT54G v2
1x WRT54G-TM
1x WRT54GL
2x BUFFALO WHR-G54S
1x La Fonera
FON Client Bridge tutorial
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
freonchill wrote:
did they take pppoe out of micro?


No

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
freonchill
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
dang it barryware

you can screenshot faster than i can type and search google images...

_________________
2x WRT54G v5, 2x WRT54G v2
1x WRT54G-TM
1x WRT54GL
2x BUFFALO WHR-G54S
1x La Fonera
FON Client Bridge tutorial
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
freonchill wrote:
dang it barryware

you can screenshot faster than i can type and search google images...


I'm like a f$ck'n ninja Razz

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum