Media Servers through Wireless Client Bridge!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
gatzma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 5:05    Post subject: Media Servers through Wireless Client Bridge! Reply with quote
I need help! Im a noob at networking.

I actually started by wanting to make my desktop (in basement) run wirelessly via Wifi Router (on 2nd floor). So i found DDWRT Firmware for my spare Netgear WNDR3700v2. My configuration for this router is a client bridge. Im bridged with an Actiontec Mi424Wr Rev I from Verizon Fios. Its setup perfectly and my Network is recognized as if i were using a wired lan. But for some reason anything i put in my home group isnt recognized thru the wifi.

I want to use Windows media servers so i can play movies thru my smart tv via public folders on my pc. But ive tried setting homegroup up and for some reason my desktop that using the client bridge doesnt seem to get picked up by my smart tv. I've done basic trouble shooting and it seems like it has to do with my ddwrt client bridge.

Can someone please help me out here before i rip the rest of my hair out. I literally spent 5 hours searching for answers on this topic and still nothing...
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 2256

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you sure you’ve configured it as a “client bridge” and not a “client” or “client (routed)”?

FWIW, wireless bridging doesn’t work well w/ all chipsets. Broadcom usually presents the fewest problems, but once you start using others like Atheros (yours), Ralink, etc., you do start to see odd behavior like this from time to time. In this case, it’s as if the broadcast packets for network discovery can’t cross the bridge for some unknown reason. Unfortunately not all dd-wrt compatible routers are created equal. They all have their quirks due to slight differences in chipsets.

I know that’s not particularly useful information, but in all the years I’ve been dealing w/ these issues on this forum, I’ve never seen anyone provide a solution (change this, fix that) that magically cured the problem. It’s always just been accepted as a limitation. That’s why whenever I purchase equipment and there’s even the slightest possibility I might want to use dd-wrt (or tomato), I stick w/ Broadcom chipsets.
gatzma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad wrote:
Are you sure you’ve configured it as a “client bridge” and not a “client” or “client (routed)”?


Well one thing says Client Bridge on sys info and the other says Client Bridge (Routed. Check the images.

And what N router would you recommend thats cheap with a broadcom chipset. I would just buy a wireless networking card but i have a feeling itll have connection issues vs using a client bridge.

I was getting tired of this issues so i was considering buying this: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/905679-REG/intel_6235an_hmwwb_mini_pci_express_wi_fi_bluetooth.html/prm/alsVwDtl

lol. And now that my computer is settled in the basement i really want to stream DL'ed movies straight to my smart.

Let me know what would be the best option. Thanks for replying to the post.



Client bridge (routed).jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  187.34 KB
 Viewed:  347 Time(s)

Client bridge (routed).jpg



sys info ddwrt.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  152.08 KB
 Viewed:  347 Time(s)

sys info ddwrt.jpg


eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 2256

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well that appears to be part of the problem. Anything “routed” suggests that your wireless client is being placed on a different subnet from the primary router (hence why it needs to be routed!). But network discovery never crosses subnet boundaries; only when switched/bridged. IOW, you don’t have a truly bridged connection there. If you were using a Broadcom chipset, you wouldn’t even see that Client (Routed) option. It would just be “Client” or “Client Bridged”.

Frankly, for streaming purposes, I wouldn’t recommend wireless at all. We use powerline here, which provides far more reliable and consistent performance. The only issue w/ powerline is that it doesn’t work in all cases. It depends on your particularly home electrical wiring. But when it does work, it blows wireless out of the water in terms of performance, reliability, and ease of use (pretty much plug and play).

MoCA is another possibility as well (assuming you have coax outlets nearby).

In general I consider wireless a last resort for most bridging purposes. The only advantage wireless offers is convenience; everything else is a negative.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum