Netgear WGR614v6 running dd-wrt.v24_micro successfully!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
Kaar3l
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 14:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
EDIT:
I had to use wrt54g -backup:cfe /noreset, it didn't work the first time then I Ctrl+C and did that again and it backed up it perfectly. Smile
Sponsor
Kaar3l
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I soldered the 2mb chips on wgr-s, started up, jtag wrt54g -strobeonly confirmed that 2mb chip is there. I tried to flash cfe and no flash chip found. Exactly the same behaviour on two routers. Confused So i plugged unplugged them, resoldered connections, nothing. Next weekend I'll try to solder original 1mb chips back to see if they work. Confused
ashwinkp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does the flash need to be top boot or bottom boot ? or both could be used?

Which one of the following could be used and is better suited as a replacement 4Mb flash
1. M29W320DB70N6
2. M28W320FCB70N6E
3. S29AL032D90TFI000
4. S29AL032D90TFI030
5. S29AL032D90TFI040

TIA
Ashwin
pppp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
When someone wants to replace 1MB onto 2MB then R88 should be put. The value of R88 is 10k
Madmanguruman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which CFE compressor should be used? WRT54G V5/V6?
halcut
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have read thru this thread and still unable to find the program name to flash the whole cfe. As Jtag cannot be used whats the other option?

Any help is appreciated. Regards

pppp wrote:
The issue of changed wan/lan ports is resolved by modification of cfe. You DO NOT HAVE to change vlan settings anymore!

Here you have final cfe for wgr614v6 2MB rom/8MB ram.

Default IP is 192.168.1.1 for tftp



I attach GUI cfe editor too. See and compare variables with old cfe file.



I am still thinking about reset button issue. By default reset button is wired to gpio 14. So, it means that reset_gpio=14 variable should be in the cfe. I suspect that reset button will be working only whilst powering router on or whilst firmware failure. Whilst normal working I see that firmware changes reset button support onto gpio=6 and without additional wiring to gpio 6 the reset button does not work normally.
Has anyone any experience in that issue?

pppp
ColtB45
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 14:05    Post subject: Capacitor C215 Reply with quote
What is the value of capacitor C215? I accidentally knocked it off and lost it during TSOP replacement.


memory_update_138.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  400.67 KB
 Viewed:  7924 Time(s)

memory_update_138.jpg


garystofer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:17    Post subject: Step by step upgarde info for WGR614V6 Reply with quote
I compiled a step by step upgrade procedure for the wgr614-v6 router from info on this thread and other places. All the necessary files and tools are contained in the zip file attachment.

Gary



wGR614_to_DD-wrt.zip
 Description:
Tools and files along with documentation

Download
 Filename:  wGR614_to_DD-wrt.zip
 Filesize:  7 MB
 Downloaded:  2364 Time(s)

Yash
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 0:25    Post subject: WGR614-V6 Reply with quote
Is there ANY way to upgrade a wgr614-v6 without using jtag? I have tried 'every' non-surgical way described in this chain line-by-line with no success; e.g. the telnet process using the TelnetEnable.exe app, etc...

Isn't there a micro .chk image that could simply be used via the orig Netgear webgui?!

Thanks
bearbear12345
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:44    Post subject: Umm Reply with quote
As dumb as this sounds, how do you actually open the case?

Thanks
BenDarrenBach
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 15:13    Post subject: Opening the case! Reply with quote
Torx screws are under the rubber pads!
BenDarrenBach
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 2:55    Post subject: Netgear...I think not! Reply with quote
This is way beyond my comfort zone...I gave-up on the Netgear and bought an old WRT54Gv2 at Goodwill for $5.
I'll give that a shot!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum