WRT54GS v1.1 brick after 30-30-30 reset??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
RB480Ruger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 23:46    Post subject: WRT54GS v1.1 brick after 30-30-30 reset?? Reply with quote
Question I have a WRT54GS v1.1 with .v24_mini_wrt54gs (SP1) installed that has been running for a month or so. Prior to v24, I had been running .v23 SP2 mini installed. After getting my new WRT600N v1.1 installed yesterday (with .v24-11218_NEWD_mega), I wanted to update the WRT54GS to .v24-11218_NEWD_mini.

After doing the 30-30-30 reset on the WRT54GS prior to flashing the 11218 mini build, I now have a
flashing power light and no other lights. If I connect a pc to one of the ports, I get a light
on that port. A connected pc does report that it is has a LAN connection. The LAN port light will
blink like there is some network activity. The wireless is also not working.

I cannot ping the router from a connected pc (neither the default 192.168.1.1 nor 192.168.2.1
which I had the router configured prior the reset). I hard coded the connected pc's ip address
to 192.168.1.10, 255.255.255.0, 192.168.1.1 and did a ping -t 192.168.1.1 (also tried 192.168.2.x
settings) and do NOT get any replies when router is power cycled.

I've also tried tftp with no success.

Do I have a brick? Do I have any options other then JTag (I do have a backup of the CFE)? I did
review the Peacock Thread.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Jay

_________________
WRT54GS v1.1 .v24_mini_wrt54gs SP1
WHR-HP-G54 (currently deaf)
WRT600N v1.1 .v24-11218_NEWD_mega
Sponsor
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=38247
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12821
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you try another hard reset? your led's do not indicate a "brick" that requires jtag.

Try another reset and make sure you do it properly. Then your router should recover or at least you should be able to ping it. Once you can ping it, you can tftp a firmware image.

In your post you mention that the router once had an IP of 192.168.2.x. Even though you set your rig to a static IP of 192.168.1.x, did you disable your av and firewall? It may be blocking those Ip's

Set your rig to a static ip of 192.168.2.x and see if it will ping assuming another hard reset does not fix it.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, definitely try it

but there seems to be a problem with the GS v1.1 and maybe even version 2. Hard reset and even restore factory faults from the UI will brick some of them. I don't know why.


Last edited by soulstace on Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:07; edited 1 time in total
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 61
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=38247


And the solution .......
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=42711
Shawn360
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 1237

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Modified CFE.BIN "some GS models will
"brick" the second you hit reset to factory defaults"
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=230155#230155

Don't pin short this can cause damage to the flash chip then even a jtag can't help you. I suggest you use a jtag to flash the above cfe.bin to your router to avoid this issue in the future it's for a WRT54GS v2 but should work with your version 1.1. A jtag cable is cheap to buy or make and easy to use.
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
well you had a solution which seemed to work in your post as well. although pin shorting is not recommended by most.

the only alternative is JTAG I presume.

EDIT - We found a way to update the CFE without JTAG. But use with caution! See Restoring the CFE by telnet/SSH


Last edited by soulstace on Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:14; edited 1 time in total
RB480Ruger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware...Yes, I did multiple 30-30-30 resets prior to posting. I had the AV and firewall disabled. I also did try using static 192.168.2.x
settings (for ping test...I did not try tfpt with 192.168.2.x settings).

Based on the behavior of the lights after I just try to reboot the router with the reset button, I'm not sure that the reset button is still functioning correctly.

I prefer to not try the shorting the pins alternative.

All that said, I will try hard resets again next weekend.

Thanks!

_________________
WRT54GS v1.1 .v24_mini_wrt54gs SP1
WHR-HP-G54 (currently deaf)
WRT600N v1.1 .v24-11218_NEWD_mega
RB480Ruger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried multiple 30-30-30 resets. Tried both 192.168.1.x and 192.168.2.x with no success. While not a classic "brick" the net result is the same.

Jtag cable is on it's way...

_________________
WRT54GS v1.1 .v24_mini_wrt54gs SP1
WHR-HP-G54 (currently deaf)
WRT600N v1.1 .v24-11218_NEWD_mega
rumani
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not sure that the reset button is still functioning correctly.
lazer tattoo removal cream before and after free cost the tattoo removal cream blog tells you about cost and creams to buy lazer tattoo removal cream before and after free cost
Mordak
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 931
Location: Orange, MA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Much to Murrkf's dismay, I did a 30/30/30 hard reset on my WRT54GS v1.1, and had no issues. Shocked However, I don't do them anymore just a 30 second reset and then that's it. Wink
_________________

6 X WRT54G-TM
1 X WRT54G V1.0
1 X WRT54G V2.2
1 X WRT54G V5.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.0
2 X WRT54GS V1.1
1 X WRT54GS V2.0
1 X WRT160NL v1.0
1 X WRT320N
2 X WRT350N
1 X WRT600N v1.0
2 X WRT610N v1.0
1 X E1500
Nekota
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
soulstace wrote:
yes, definitely try it

but there seems to be a problem with the GS v1.1 and maybe even version 2. Hard reset and even restore factory faults from the UI will brick some of them. I don't know why.


Yes the GS version 2 will brick with the hard reset. JTAG recovers the unit and changing the CFE sdram_init=0x000b to 0x001b recovers the unit so the hard reset will work. While changint the init address, I also changed the boot_wait=off to boot_wait=on. To make hex changes and calculate MD5 checksums I use a very handy editor called PSPad. After updating the new CFE was downloaded and checked to verify it matched what I sent up and it did.
josephmorris90
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 0:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do it for less than 30 seconds and it works perfectly for me Smile Ya' Know?

I know, you should know too.. It's something new I suppose


Last edited by josephmorris90 on Wed Sep 19, 2012 13:06; edited 2 times in total
WeJammin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Shawn360 wrote:
Modified CFE.BIN "some GS models will
"brick" the second you hit reset to factory defaults"
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/vmware.php?p=230155#230155

Don't pin short this can cause damage to the flash chip then even a jtag can't help you. I suggest you use a jtag to flash the above cfe.bin to your router to avoid this issue in the future it's for a WRT54GS v2 but should work with your version 1.1. A jtag cable is cheap to buy or make and easy to use.


Shawn,

I'm a complete noob and have been playing around with different versions and different routers just to try and hone my skills. This is brand new to me. Can you tell me a little bit more about pin shorting and flashing? Thank you.
surepremist
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:12    Post subject: GS 1.0 Reply with quote
I pulled a pair of GS 1.0 from the garage yesterday. This thread and the related wiki articles make no mention of GS 1.0 . Is the 1.0 hardware in the same risky boat?

They both have 2006 v23 vpn and std respectively. Yes, old I know. The vpn unit is not playing well with others; I was planning to upgrade to latest recommended VINT until noticing the brick warning

I have seven GS: 2x 1.0, 1x 1.1, 2x 2.0, 2x 2.1
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum