HOWTO: Flashing WHR-G300N

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17487
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:41    Post subject: HOWTO: Flashing WHR-G300N Reply with quote
we have a new and save flashing method now.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N

Brainslayer wrote:

… im whr g300n verzeichniss liegt jetzt ein preflash image was mal jemand testen könnte
… nach dem preflash müßte man das firmware.bin via web flashen können um dd-wrt drauf zu kriegen



in english:
this is BETA and we need some testers!

From now on there is preflash image in the whr-g300n folder that makes the serial access unnecessary for the initial flash to DD-WRT.

Just flash it via web-if and after the reboot flash the firmware.bin image via web-if, too, to finish the way to dd-wrt.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!


Last edited by Sash on Fri Dec 25, 2009 16:45; edited 6 times in total
Sponsor
Menkatek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright, I have a new unit. I am about to flash the preflash image 'DD-WRT--WHR-G300N-preflash.enc'. But checking the download directory again, the file has been removed. Was there something wrong?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17487
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
use the latest pre sp2 folder
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Menkatek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash, I cleared my browser cache and still only see two files. So worried if something was wrong with the preflash image.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17487
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
its up again
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
freemasonary
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got it flashed since the web-flash method is now available, but I found it inaccessible from remote site using web-ui with port 8080

The strange thing is that, i can successfully telnet to port 8080
TheGrave
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello guys,

I checked the instructions and I'm also ready to test the new beta webflash image, just one question before I mess something up - there is a file called WHR-G300N-webflash.bin in the directory as well. It's not mentioned anywhere in the guides. What is it for? Don't wanna mess something up, you know Very Happy

Kind Regards,

Stefan
stone1978
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:29    Post subject: WHERE IS THE FOLDER Reply with quote
Hi!

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N

First i have to flash the "WHR-G300N-webflash.bin"
After Reboot i have to flash the "firmware.bin" - right?

So i have the V24 - pre SP2 on the Router? Right?

THX cu STONE Wink

_________________
http://www.stone1978.com

AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition @ 4x 2,8 GHz
Xigmatek asserkühlung
MSI K9A2 Platinum
4GB A-DATA 800 CL4-4-4-12 @ 940
Radeon HD 3870 X2
4x Samsung Spingpoint 500 GB
Termos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 16:12    Post subject: "invalid firmware" Reply with quote
went to 192.168.11.1 and logged in.
There i went to update WHR-G300N-webflash.bin. It rebooted and there was an error message. "Invalid firmware".

I thought this was normal so after the reboot i went to 192.168.11.1 again and used the update and this time firmware.bin.

Again i got this "invalid firmware" message and the device booted once again.

Nothing happened to the device...still the original firmware and seems to be working great.
What's the problem here and how do i solve it?
Thanks in advance!

Here's the error message: http://img168.imageshack.us/my.php?image=invalidfirmwarexz3.jpg
stone1978
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think in about 2 weeks we know more, the developers are working on it to solve the problem.

cu stone

_________________
http://www.stone1978.com

AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition @ 4x 2,8 GHz
Xigmatek asserkühlung
MSI K9A2 Platinum
4GB A-DATA 800 CL4-4-4-12 @ 940
Radeon HD 3870 X2
4x Samsung Spingpoint 500 GB
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6113
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
its not our problem. its the problem that buffalo didnt release any information about the firmware encryption. they just provided the preflash image i provided which does not work good. i'm in discussion every day with buffalo to get finally the real documentation to create flashable firmware images. to dont put the pain on me
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
stone1978
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
So buffalo dosn't send any information?
;-(

_________________
http://www.stone1978.com

AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition @ 4x 2,8 GHz
Xigmatek asserkühlung
MSI K9A2 Platinum
4GB A-DATA 800 CL4-4-4-12 @ 940
Radeon HD 3870 X2
4x Samsung Spingpoint 500 GB
Darkwing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I flashed my Buffalo WHR-G300N with v24sp2 but am having problems connecting wireless.

I have a netgear modem/router and connected to that my Buffalo router. I have a pc connected to the Buffalo router by wire and have access to the internet so everything looks fine. The router gets his IP from the netgear router and so does the pc.

When I want to connect wireless however this doesn't seem to work. Strange thing is also that I set wireless security to WPA2 personal, AES. But Vista then says there is security difference and I need to set my wireless adapter to WPA personal. No matter what settings I use on the router I can't connect wireless. Another strange thing is the channel setting, I set it to 1 and then click apply. It then gets changed to channel 2, but in status it says channel 1??? I tried DHCP dissabled & enabled also setting from gateway to router and vise versa doesn't make a difference. Sad

When I reset to default, which setting do I need to change to be able to connect wireless to the router??

Thanks for your help.

DW
stone1978
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 107
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
How could you FLASH the Router?
_________________
http://www.stone1978.com

AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition @ 4x 2,8 GHz
Xigmatek asserkühlung
MSI K9A2 Platinum
4GB A-DATA 800 CL4-4-4-12 @ 940
Radeon HD 3870 X2
4x Samsung Spingpoint 500 GB
Darkwing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
By first flashing with 'DD-WRT--WHR-G300N-preflash.enc' and then firmware.bin.
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum