TP Link TL-WR740N V5 Guest Wifi with DHCP on ...No Internet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
jenisbob
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 14:29    Post subject: TP Link TL-WR740N V5 Guest Wifi with DHCP on ...No Internet Reply with quote
Scenario:
Main Router --D-Link DIR-615e4 installed with DD-WRT with DHCP ON and working fine..

2nd Router -- TP Link TL-WR740N V5 installed with DD-WRT
and connected to Main Router via CLient Bridge (Routed)

2nd router flashed with betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/tplink_tl-wr740nv5..and successfully connected to main router and internet is also working fine WHEN DHCP DISABLE on 2nd router ...

but when i configure DHCP ON on 2nd router ,i am not getting internet access ...

Please guide veterans how can i manage to get internet access with dhcp on on 2nd router ...

Please check attached pictures for more info that i have configured on 2nd router ..

Thanks in advance....
Sponsor
Frakko
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is likely that the current version has some problem in assigning ip releasing even the broadcast ip and blocking internet for device / router.
You can post the mains values: Ip , subnet mask and broadcast of all device and router?
jenisbob
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 2:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Frakko wrote:
It is likely that the current version has some problem in assigning ip releasing even the broadcast ip and blocking internet for device / router.
You can post the mains values: Ip , subnet mask and broadcast of all device and router?



Dear Frakko,
Please guide me which version will be best for me so that i can use dhcp on ..
check attached pictures

regards
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 1161
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I really don't think you can do what you want to do --- I've tried it before with NO luck.
From what I see you have a Client Bridge (routed) which probably works fine for your wired connections.
You are not using an AP for br0 cause I see you have ath0.1 setup to br1.

If you just want this bridge on a different subnet you should be running it as 'Client' not 'Client Bridge'

but I can see where you may want wired connections on same subnet as main and throw off a guest network from the bridge ---
but that's not doable AFAIK..... and yea using a br1 setup with WAN disabled you would set DHCP configuration in 'DNSMasq Options'
like you did and not use Muiltiple DHCP Server.
As I said I tried this a few times but NO worky ... I remember getting an IP address then working with the firewall rules but it always
went to heck upon a reboot.

Maybe some dd-wrt brains can tell you more... perhaps some of the later builds will do this... I dunno but would be interested to find out.
I may try this afterlater on a dual-band router to see if can put a guests network on opposite band while bridged with the other -- now that seems slightly more feasible
jenisbob
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
I really don't think you can do what you want to do --- I've tried it before with NO luck.
From what I see you have a Client Bridge (routed) which probably works fine for your wired connections.
You are not using an AP for br0 cause I see you have ath0.1 setup to br1.

If you just want this bridge on a different subnet you should be running it as 'Client' not 'Client Bridge'

but I can see where you may want wired connections on same subnet as main and throw off a guest network from the bridge ---
but that's not doable AFAIK..... and yea using a br1 setup with WAN disabled you would set DHCP configuration in 'DNSMasq Options'
like you did and not use Muiltiple DHCP Server.
As I said I tried this a few times but NO worky ... I remember getting an IP address then working with the firewall rules but it always
went to heck upon a reboot.

Maybe some dd-wrt brains can tell you more... perhaps some of the later builds will do this... I dunno but would be interested to find out.
I may try this afterlater on a dual-band router to see if can put a guests network on opposite band while bridged with the other -- now that seems slightly more feasible


Thanks mrjcd, for ur guidance
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum