Asus WL-500W not responding

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Trax,
I dumped some stuff, didn't do a show. Having a Serial attached should be ok, if you have installed it properly. RedHawk's setup is far superior and probably easier than soldering a board the size of a dime


Donny,
I was testing, I got an error when I tried to post earlier. Will update later.. everything going well.. busy busy day at work

RedHawk, lets keep the RX and TX mishap on the DL, eh? Razz

_________________
2x WRT54G2 v1
1x Asus WL-500w



To think, after all this time, all our chats together you still don't trust me. There's hope for you yet, doctor.
Sponsor
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 3:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
pock wrote:
Will update later..


Define "later". Laughing

I just want to know the build and whether it is now stable!

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
feppaspot_william
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guys one more brick joining party.

I was with svn 11218, changed some USB settings, reboot, dead.

Unit shows power light on, no air.

If I try to boot in restore mode without any LAN cable plugged, it goes into slow flashing, but plug a LAN cable would immediately stop the light from flashing and hung up there. Plug to both the old IP and default IP gives me host is down.

Done 30/30/30 a few times with different timing (turn on, hold 30, unplug hold 30, plug hold 30, power cycle) and (unplug, hold while on, plug, 30, unplug, 30, plug 30) with the restore button with no luck. However the first time I brick it I did manage to somewhat debrick it, then I try to mess around with the USB again and it bricks again. This time no matter how I do it I got no luck.

Any good idea?

_________________
Need Routers? Visit our shop!
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
feppaspot_william wrote:

Any good idea?


Read this thread and the other two linked threads (see the wiki on wl500w install) from start to end, including all linked files. Take notes.

No one has bricked their router, properly set up, with 11296. Not saying it can't be done, but just that others are reporting great success using that build.

Also, saying it is bricked doesn't mean much. People seem to have a different definition for what this means, so the word becomes meaningless. Explain specifically what is happening. Be sure to post your ping responses to the tests in note 6 of the peacock....tells a lot more.

Also explain exactly and with detail, what you did to flash this router. Were you following instructions? Where from. When did you flash it. Analysis is useless in the absence of information.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
djMaxM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 19:17    Post subject: 11650 or 11296? Reply with quote
I've just gotten my RMA from previous brick from Asus (thank-you-Asus). I doubt they'll believe me a second time, so either I'll stick with Asus firmware (yech) until the dust settles, or I can be a guinea pig. The wiki says to use 11650, but this thread seems to "prefer" 11296. Is that an accurate summary, or is 11650 now universally preferred?
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 22:28    Post subject: Re: 11650 or 11296? Reply with quote
djMaxM wrote:
The wiki says to use 11650, but this thread seems to "prefer" 11296. Is that an accurate summary, or is 11650 now universally preferred?


Both appear to be working, if installed correctly.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
djMaxM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:37    Post subject: success... so far Reply with quote
I was able to complete the installation of dd-wrt from the wiki. My previous version lasted about 30 days, so we'll see. One thing didn't work... I couldn't use the web firmware update interface (mini to mega) via Firefox, I had to use IE.
feppaspot_william
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 16:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny,

I have certainly read thru everything in peacock and all stuff in this thread. I believe I am in same boat as pock....

As I have mentioned in the post with my conditions:
1. No air, power light on steady
2. Restore mode hung once LAN is plugged
3. No ping (100% lost)
4. Asus Firmware Utility doesnt find the unit either.

Thats why I say its 'bricked'. Pock go thru the hard way of getting serial port on it, but I want to make sure if there is any other way that won't void warranty as much as opening the case :)

And- if I decided to give a shot for one of the box to add a serial/usb serial, where I can find good instructions to do it? seems Redhawk knows how, but I can't find a very clear instruction in Wiki. (ideally with pictures for wiring...)

_________________
Need Routers? Visit our shop!
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
There are three three threads on this. They are noted at the start of the wiki flash instructions.

Pocks has as good information, diagrams and instructions as you are going to get. Be sure to read the linked posts too.

Be sure you try the ping tests at note 6 of the peacock. If you just did the 4 ping test and got 100% loss than you haven't done it properly. And, if you read this thread you would see that it is the ttl value/specific ping responses that matters, not how many packets were lost.

Not sure why pock has buggered off.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny,

I have not buggered off, very very busy weekend.. I've responded for a few private messages and am in the process of helping one guy with his assumed bricked router. The wife is due May 11th, this was the weekend to get the house ready.. =)

I am running, mega - build 11650M NEWD Eko. Everything is going well, Bootwait is still enabled. I have begun playing around with optware, configuring the device.. You guys are great I plan to stick around and give back to the dd-wrt community what has been so kindly made available to me! :)


Pock

_________________
2x WRT54G2 v1
1x Asus WL-500w



To think, after all this time, all our chats together you still don't trust me. There's hope for you yet, doctor.
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. Did I look like I had lost faith? Laughing
_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
djMaxM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, yesterday I was trying to get multiple BSSIDs with Chillispot working, that was a black hole of time. Today I was thinking of getting pptpd on there, but a bit worried about JFFS bricking the router again. I still don't feel like I know why SP1 bricked this router, do we have some more detail on why it was bad?
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
feppaspot_william,

Sounds like what mine was doing.. I could get it to go into restore but the second I plug an Ethernet it went out of Restore mode.. Looking at the output once I got the serial connected I saw the network kept doing down.

I would review the replies to this thread, try the ping test in the peacock thread, what responses are you getting? I could get mine to reply to one, maybe 2 of the requests.. Did this by pinging with the option -t pulling the power and plugging it back in.

If you want to take the serial connection route, I'm game.. I'll provide any assistance I can. The process was extremely helpful in my case.

Pock

_________________
2x WRT54G2 v1
1x Asus WL-500w



To think, after all this time, all our chats together you still don't trust me. There's hope for you yet, doctor.
feppaspot_william
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pock,

Yep, exactly the same. And I got 100% packet loss Sad. I am using Mac (i.e. POSIX family stuff...) so my ping default is ping -t :P

The real classical issue is it comes up as restore mode flashing, but as long as there is an packet sent to the router (even just a ping) it hungs up.

I am considering if the cost involved worth the hack (well dealer would obviously exchange for me if I dont break the casing, but a serial port is very helpful on bootup issue as I use that in all those more expensive firewall equipments) So if you could update the wiki with a detail tutorial I think a lot of people would be benefited from you.

_________________
Need Routers? Visit our shop!
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
feppaspot_william wrote:
. And I got 100% packet loss Sad. I am using Mac (i.e. POSIX family stuff...) so my ping default is ping -t


We need to know the responses you get when you follow the steps at note 6 of the peacock thread sticky....100% packet loss is to be expected, but it really doesn't matter. What matters is what the ping responses are, and if you get any ttl=100 or ttl=64 responses at any point.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 13 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum