Asus WL-500W not responding

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Found this through the link in the wiki...Asus firmware tool.

This is the XP version.



English_1382.zip
 Description:
Asus Firmware Upgrade Utility

Download
 Filename:  English_1382.zip
 Filesize:  2.81 MB
 Downloaded:  486 Time(s)


_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Sponsor
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.


I only get the TTL 100 response from 192.168.1.5

I read the article, I've been in Restoration mode cause I went through all that when I installed dd-wrt so I know the process of getting there..

Weird thing is, I can get the Power lED to start flashing as if I was in restore mode, but it doesn't stay in that mode for long..

I can't seem to find this Asus Util, I downloaded stuff from their website, but its just a download master and EZsetup for the wireless? Whats this program called, maybe I'd have more luck on google.
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
do you have any instant messagers? Say gmail? It might be easier to communicate that way.. if so mine if eightpock@gmail.com otherwise I will just keep replying here.. Im going to see if I can get anywhere with the restore util
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think you should be able to get this to work.

I think you need to clear your nvram (router memory). You did do your 30/30/30 reset with the right button, as shown in the picture in Redhawk0's post.

This means you should flash the clear nvram file.

Redhawk0 keeps detailed notes on all this. He should be around in a day or two. But try that, and post back.

Barryware...any other ideas?

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny,

I followed those instructions to the letter, set PC to 192.168.1.10 and used the ASUS utils, neither detect the router..

I held in restore as I powered the device, the POWER LED flashes once, and then goes off.. If I remove the LAN cable from port 1, it wil flash forever, but as soon as I plug something into the router the power LED Will either return to its normal state, solid.. or go off completely (LAN light still lite, and unit is still powered)

Pock
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12846
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny wrote:
Barryware...any other ideas?


Nope... Crying or Very sad Maybe time for Jtag... It seems the device does not have a port like a linksys but the I/O is available.

I'm near Chicago.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not to far from me then. I'm about 2 hours from Chicago.

I've tried everything, this blasted thing doesn't seem to stay in restoration mode. This Jtag cable I hear about, is that something I can purchase?


Pock
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yup...I'm out. Try another port?

You might want to do some searching and reading, and pm Redhawk0 for any other thoughts.

I know that the 520GU can't be jtagged. No port at all

(I might start to think about pin shorting....HATE to...but it might clear the nvram....wait to hear from Redhawk0 first) That router should not be on 192.168.1.5.

I hate to be beaten by a piece of plastic... Crying or Very sad

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
You guys are great. Thanks for all the help.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12846
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jtag seems available though no header port like a linksys.

Seems to be many success stories with the pin shorting. I've never shorted a pin, only used jtag.

Donny is right... Maybe PM redhawk or he may see the thread and chime in.

He is the master.. He got me through my first brick..

Redhawk even helped Donny when he forgot how to flash his router a couple of weeks ago :P

You might wanna try another rig for the tftp or the recovery utility. There are success stories in that regard also.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Barryware/donny again. I've tried 3 seperate machines, linux/Win XP and Windows7. and several cat5 cables. I'll wait for a response from redhawk
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
He is the master.. He got me through my first brick..

Redhawk even helped Donny when he forgot how to flash his router a couple of weeks ago Razz


Don't go there, Barryware. Confused Shocked Laughing

Redhawk got me through my first brick too....Didn't we brick them the same way Barry? Trying to unlock the neutered memory in our G...when it only was neutered in GS.

Here is the thread we should have found....

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=38869&

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
And this:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43661&

btw...there is a reference in that other thread to the importance of turning off bootwait in favour of the built in one. Also suggested here is power cycling over and over.

I would, at the end of the night, unplug the router and let it starve for a while. Seriously.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
What Zweistein is describing is the exact same thing mine is doing.. the router is only 1 month old if that lol, I wonder if I could return **evil eyes**
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
No fun in that!

One more:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22694&

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum