Traffic management

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
jrussell88
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 9:44    Post subject: Traffic management Reply with quote
I'm running v24 12060 (dd-wrt.v24-12060_NEWD_openvpn.bin) on a Linksys WRT 300n v1.0.

My ISP (NTL-Virgin cable) sets upload and download limits - data caps - at various times of day; if these are exceeded they reduce your bandwidth for a period.

I'd like to apply a data cap at the router - which could be run from an always-on linux box - is there any way of doing this?

Thanks!
Sponsor
scottlindner
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I believe you do that with the QoS settings, but I'm just learning about that so we're in the same boat.

Scott
jrussell88
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 0:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
QoS prioritises internet traffic, so that low priority apps like torrenting don't slow down voip apps for example.

But it doesn't limit the speed or throughput of any app. So I'm looking for a different solution.
pbix
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
This can be done with cron scripts on the router and QoS.

Make scripts to run periodically according to your ISP's schedule. Then do something like

Code:

nvram set wshaper_downlink=64 ;Or other new limit
nvram set wshaper_uplink=64
stopservice wshaper
startservice wshaper

QoS will enforce the limits your scripts set.[/code]
jrussell88
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 22:27    Post subject: Traffic Management - wshaper not working? Reply with quote
Thanks, that's a very good suggestion.

I'm testing it now by running the commands:
/usr/sbin/nvram set wshaper_uplink=177
/usr/sbin/nvram set wshaper_downlink=333
stopservice wshaper
startservice wshaper

When I check it by Telnetting into the router:
/usr/sbin/nvram get wshaper_uplink