Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2 Brick

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
jbmfg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 17:41    Post subject: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2 Brick Reply with quote
Hi All. I know this router has a lot of threads on it already but none of them seemed to match the symptoms of mine. I picked this up out of a box on the street from someone moving out so i have no idea whats been done to it up until now.

When i plug it in all it does is light up the power and the red "diag" light. All the other posts i saw here talk about how the other lights come up for a second and then go dark. Not the case here. If I plug an ethernet cable in it the light on the jack comes on for a second, goes off, then comes back on and stays on.

I get no DHCP address and pings all fail to 192.168.11.1. TFTP fails as well with the arp set to the ssid nor another i found online that is supposedly the bootloader mac. I dont have a hardware switch here so i am not sure if that would help. Any suggestions?
Sponsor
droid-I
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
For tftp, the mac you referred to is 02:AA:BB:CC:DD:1A ?

Should be possible to flash without a switch also.
Firewall turned off on the PC.
The openwrt procedure for WZR-HP-G300NH should work for dd-wrt also.

I might suggest putting the original Buffalo firmware 1st and if successful then try putting the dd-wrt.

_________________
WZR-HP-AG300H ░ WHR3-G54 ░ WLI-TX4-G54HP ░ WBMR-HP-GNV2 ░ TL-MR3420v²
jbmfg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
droid-I wrote:
For tftp, the mac you referred to is 02:AA:BB:CC:DD:1A ?

Should be possible to flash without a switch also.
Firewall turned off on the PC.
The openwrt procedure for WZR-HP-G300NH should work for dd-wrt also.

I might suggest putting the original Buffalo firmware 1st and if successful then try putting the dd-wrt.


Thanks for the reply. I cant get the tftp to connect at all. As in it just timesout every time i try. And yes, thats the mac address i used for the arp entry.
jbmfg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
any other ideas? anyone?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 3615
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Google did-wrt serial recovery.
Then order a usb to uart adapter on eBay.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
qiushi5509
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Apr 2015
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:59    Post subject: Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2 Brick Reply with quote
jbmfg wrote:
Hi All. I know this router has a lot of threads on it already but none of them seemed to match the symptoms of mine. I picked this up out of a box on the street from someone moving out so i have no idea whats been done to it up until now.

When i plug it in all it does is light up the power and the red "diag" light. All the other posts i saw here talk about how the other lights come up for a second and then go dark. Not the case here. If I plug an ethernet cable in it the light on the jack comes on for a second, goes off, then comes back on and stays on.

I get no DHCP address and pings all fail to 192.168.11.1. TFTP fails as well with the arp set to the ssid nor another i found online that is supposedly the bootloader mac. I dont have a hardware switch here so i am not sure if that would help. Any suggestions?


1. Download a TFTP client if needed. I Used Windows 7 TFTP client which can be added in “Turn Windows features on or off.”
2. Unplug all the Ethernet cable and the power cable and connect the computer directly to the router(still leave it off)
3. Configure Windows PC NIC connected to router with the following IP settings:
IP address 192.168.11.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: 192.168.11.1
4. Turn off Windows firewall.
5. Open a Windows command prompt as Administrator and type the following to get the interface number of the NIC you have attached to the router:
route print
In my case, my "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller" is 13.
6. Type the command below to get the ARP binding.
Replacing the number 13 with the interface number you have assigned to your NIC based on the results on step 5.
netsh interface ipv4 add neighbors 13 192.168.11.1 02-AA-BB-CC-DD-1A
7. Using Windows 7 TFTP client, I enter the following (DO NOT HIT ENTER AFTER TYPING THIS HOWEVER)
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put openwrt-ar71xx-generic-wzr-hp- g300nh2-squashfs-tftp.bin
8. Plug the power cable into the router and wait 10 seconds before you hit enter for the TFTP command you just entered above. The TFTP command will let you know if the transfer was successful.
9. After 5-10 minutes, unplug and replug the router.
10. Remove the previously added static arp entry. Remember to replace 13 with the interface number of the NIC you are using based on the route print results.
netsh interface ipv4 delete neighbors 13 192.168.11.1 02-AA-BB-CC-DD-1A
11. Configure Windows PC NIC connected to router with the following IP settings:
IP address 192.168.1.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: 192.168.1.1
12. I had no WebGUI so I had to telnet into 192.168.1.1. Afterwards, I entered the following:
a. cd /tmp
b. wget ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/06-14-11-r17201/buffalo_wzr-hp-g300nh2/wzr-hp-g300nh2-dd-wrt-webupgrade-MULTI.bin
c. dd bs=28 skip=1 if=/tmp/wzr-hp- g300nh2-dd-wrt-webupgrade-MULTI.bin of=/tmp/firmware.bin
d. sysupgrade -n /tmp/firmware.bin
13. Once I had the community version of DD-WRT installed, you can install the original official Buffalo firmware that came with the router.
14. If you do not have the CD that came with the router, you can download the CD ISO from Buffalo’s website and look for the download for the CD image for WZR-HP-G300NH Version 2. In the ISO, there is the original firmware named Professional17798.enc.
15. Unplug the power cable to the router.
16. Configure Windows PC NIC connected to router with the following IP settings:
IP address 192.168.11.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: 192.168.11.1
17. Type the command below to get the ARP binding. Replace the number 13 with the interface number you have assigned to your NIC based on the results on step 5.
netsh interface ipv4 add neighbors 13 192.168.11.1 02-AA-BB-CC-DD-1A
18. Open Windows command prompt and cd into directory where you copied the original firmware. In my case, I had it in c:\temp.
cd c:/temp
19. Using Windows 7 TFTP client, I enter the following (DO NOT HIT ENTER AFTER TYPING THIS HOWEVER)
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put Professional17798.enc
20. Plug the power cable into the router and wait 10 seconds before you hit enter for the TFTP command you just entered above. The TFTP command will let you know if the transfer was successful.
21. After 5-10 minutes, unplug and replug the router. I would wait 10 minutes to err on the side of caution.
22. Remove the previously added static arp entry. Remember to replace 13 with the interface number of the NIC you are using based on the route print results.
netsh interface ipv4 delete neighbors 13 192.168.11.1 02-AA-BB-CC-DD-1A
23. Configure Windows PC NIC connected to router to use DHCP settings and disable then re-enable the NIC. You should get a network address from the 192.168.11.x network.
24. You should now be able to log into the WebGUI http://192.168.11.1.
25. After successfully logging into the router, I downloaded from Buffalo’s website “WZR-HP-G300NH2 Professional Firmware V24-SP2 build 19152” which was released on 04/25/12.
26. Using the WebGUI, I was able to successfully update the firmware to the latest version. Hope this helps someone else.
jbmfg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Google did-wrt serial recovery.
Then order a usb to uart adapter on eBay.


Alright. How do i know if there is a working bootloader on there though? Isn't that a requirement for a serial recovery?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 3615
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
You'll have to find out.
The adapters are a couple dollars on eBay.
Every one that uses custom firmware should have one or more because even if this router is shot, you'll go out and buy another.
Chances are you'll buy one that's dd-wrt supported and in time may brick that one.
Then you'll have the tools to fix it.
Be got 3 or 4 on hand at all times.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
tdiguy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
The serial cable is very unlikely to be needed. These routers go into a firmware recovery mode if bad firmware is uploaded.

A switch between the router and the computer might be required, the timing to get into tftp recovery is a pretty small opening and if using a windows pc it re-initializes the interface when it comes up so that is where a switch would help.
schmuck
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:50    Post subject: For Buffalo Get Pumpkin Reply with quote
Use Pumpkin Tftp, plug router into power strip with on/off switch, hit on, start pumpkin upload, works
all the time, you may have adjust timing slider in
options.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum