I may have bricked my WHR-g300n. Can anyone help?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 15:59    Post subject: I may have bricked my WHR-g300n. Can anyone help? Reply with quote
I am a newbie to dd-wrt.
Firsly, my whr-g300n does not allow me to update it with the newest dd-wrt v24 pre sp2 (get from the Router Database) and saying that it is an invalid firmware. Crying or Very sad

Then, I use DD-WRT--WHR-G300N-preflash.enc to flash my router.
(get from http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/170109/WHR-G300N)
I can only access to the router in 192.168.11.1 by firefox. When i use IE, nothing can be shown, just a blank page. i don't know whether it is correct or not. In firefox, it suggests that the firmware version is WHR-G300N Ver0.01 Confused:

After that, i upload the webflash image--WHR-G300N-webflash.bin(v24 preSP2 [Beta] build :11898) to the router.

Then, i supposed i may have bricked my router.Sad
The symptoms are:
- the DIAG lit 2 light red flash continuously, with power LED on only.
- can't ping to 192.168.11.1 or 192.168.1.1
- my computer get a invalid IP 169.254.86.225

Can anyone tell me how to do?
I don't have the serial level shifter cablewhich was suggested in http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N#Serial_flash. Can I fix it without breaking up the router?
Sponsor
dg9ekc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 249
Location: germany/nrw/düsseldorf

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

look here : http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=45753&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45

_________________
Gruss / Greets
dg9ekc Cool

broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have changed my ip to 192.168.11.1
Standardgateway to 192.168.11.1
start tftp2 with Server : 192.168.11.1
and click 10 times for retry.
i use the firmware.tftp to upgrade...

the program response "unable to get response from the server"

should i use TFTP to reflash my router again?
jugagagah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
broad wrote:
I have changed my ip to 192.168.11.1
Standardgateway to 192.168.11.1
start tftp2 with Server : 192.168.11.1
and click 10 times for retry.
i use the firmware.tftp to upgrade...

the program response "unable to get response from the server"

should i use TFTP to reflash my router again?


change your ip to 192.168.11.22, gateway ip 192.168.11.1
then power off the router
remember to prepare the tftp command first in the command prompt, eg.
Code:
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put firmware.tftp

and power on the router
hit enter on the tftp command that you just type
after transfer success, just wait for the red led off, do not power of the router, wait till you see the wireless green led on
change your ip to 192.168.1.22, gateway ip 192.168.1.1

the key is that when your router power on, like few seconds, it let you to tftp the firmware, after that, you are facing the timeout error.
broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
-->192.168.11.22
Is it a randomly chosen IP or a specific IP required by the process?

In the tftp section, should i use CMD in winVista and just type in the "Code: tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put firmware.tftp "as mentioned when the router is on asap? I am not familiarized with the command line update method and therefore i need to make sure that i am doing the correct thing.

Thanks for help!
jugagagah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
random chosen, you may set other than 192.168.11.1

I do not have Windows Vista, but according to

https://secure.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TFTP_flash

Vista Command Line TFTP: You need to enable it in Control Panel -> Programs and Features -> Windows Features -> check mark : TFTP Client

I think command line properly the safest method? it is very fast, less than 10 seconds after you hit enter.
broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 16:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
One more question to ask,
should I use v24preSP2 [beta] build:11898 firmware.tftp
or use something else?
broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seemed that the flash has failed again.
The red DIAG light lit continously for about 20~30s.
Then all lights lit for a very limited time. After that the red DIAG light flash for 3 times and return lit in red. The process repeated for hours after cmd has suggested that the transfer is completed.

What should i do? Please advice.
jugagagah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 6:00    Post subject: use 030309 Reply with quote
You may use 030309, it is reported the most stable now.

Code:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/older/030309/WHR-G300N/firmware.tftp
broad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you jugagagah,
i finally fixed my router with 030309.
It's nice to see the dd-wrt logo Very Happy

Will it be possible to put up more detailed procedure of installing dd-wrt into WHR-g300n?
in the wiki of this router http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N it only mention about DD-WRT-WHR-G300N-preflash.enc & firmware.bin in the web flash section. However, these two files does not exist in the Router-Database. For newbies like me, it is really easily to be confused about what to do on the update. I suppose that wiki page can be updated to avoid anymore bricked device like mine. If possible, can anyone who is familiarize with the procedure can update the wiki page.

Besides, the tftp flash section is also inadequate. For end users like me, i would like to see the essential procedures to update the router only. Perhaps we can add a phrase on the wiki such as the followings:

change your ip to 192.168.11.22,
gateway ip 192.168.11.1
then power off the router
remember to prepare the tftp command first in the command prompt, eg.
Code:
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put firmware.tftp

and power on the router
hit enter on the tftp command that you just type
after transfer success, just wait for the red led off, do not power of the router, wait till you see the wireless green led on
change your ip to 192.168.1.22
gateway ip 192.168.1.1


Because i am not familiarize with the exact procedure, i hope some experts can help to update the wiki page to be more end-user friendly.
gisborne
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:36    Post subject: Same problem, but tftp doesn't fix Reply with quote
I have a similar problem; I have the firmware.tftp file that I downloaded today (5/5/09 v24 preSP2 build 11898). I can upload it:

$ tftp -e 192.168.11.1
tftp> put firmware.tftp
Sent 3733414 bytes in 7.6 seconds

but all I get afterward is the steady red - all lights on - three red flashes cycle.

Can't get into any kind of web interface on either of the obvious IP addresses.

Is this maybe a new firmware that's dodgy? Can't think why else it works for broad but not for me.
dg9ekc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 249
Location: germany/nrw/düsseldorf

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:47    Post subject: Re: use 030309 Reply with quote
Hi

jugagagah wrote:
You may use 030309, it is reported the most stable now.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/older/030309/WHR-G300N/firmware.tftp

_________________
Gruss / Greets
dg9ekc Cool

gisborne
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
That did it. Thanks.
willsmith1701
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:26    Post subject: Thank you for the clear tftp instructions Reply with quote
I just wanted to say thank you for posting the clear,precise tftp flash instructions. I was convinced my router was bricked, but it wasn't, I successfully flashed it using your instructions below.

I had been trying to flash it by using tftpd32 and changing the name if the file from firmware.tftp to firmware.ram, because I saw in wireshark that that was the file name that the router was requesting from tftp every time it booted. Because of this I was stuck in an endless download and reboot cycle. I didn't understand that I could push a differently named image file instead of having the router pull the filename it was looking for until I read your post. Thank you again for your clear instructions, I now have a working dd-wrt flashed WHR-G300N.



broad wrote:
Thank you jugagagah,
i finally fixed my router with 030309.
It's nice to see the dd-wrt logo Very Happy

Will it be possible to put up more detailed procedure of installing dd-wrt into WHR-g300n?
in the wiki of this router http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N it only mention about DD-WRT-WHR-G300N-preflash.enc & firmware.bin in the web flash section. However, these two files does not exist in the Router-Database. For newbies like me, it is really easily to be confused about what to do on the update. I suppose that wiki page can be updated to avoid anymore bricked device like mine. If possible, can anyone who is familiarize with the procedure can update the wiki page.

Besides, the tftp flash section is also inadequate. For end users like me, i would like to see the essential procedures to update the router only. Perhaps we can add a phrase on the wiki such as the followings:

change your ip to 192.168.11.22,
gateway ip 192.168.11.1
then power off the router
remember to prepare the tftp command first in the command prompt, eg.
Code:
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 put firmware.tftp

and power on the router
hit enter on the tftp command that you just type
after transfer success, just wait for the red led off, do not power of the router, wait till you see the wireless green led on
change your ip to 192.168.1.22
gateway ip 192.168.1.1


Because i am not familiarize with the exact procedure, i hope some experts can help to update the wiki page to be more end-user friendly.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum