How Stable is your Signal?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Author Message
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
This is the fan you need for your router: Mr. Green

http://www.bigassfans.com/


Now that's what I'm talkin about...supercooling!
Sponsor
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ordered a new power supply last night from Ebay - for my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54. Using Echos latest DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/22/09) std - build 12548M NEWD Eko and trying all the tweaks I could think of I get a signal that seems pretty weak...seeing as I am only 20 feet from the router and it is 6 feet off the ground. It is in another room but there is an open doorway with line of sight...power is 30 (was 2Cool..tried different power settings and different combos of tweaks listed in the forum...small improvements but nothing to write home about.

We will see what the PS mod does....



HP54G.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  68.48 KB
 Viewed:  8904 Time(s)

HP54G.JPG


Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Arrow Administration Commands
wl txpwr1 31 Run Commands. :wink:

then if its still not working for ya.

"And for the people that think thave a bad Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 if it has Verry low power CHECK the fuse."



regu1.JPG
 Description:
On the bottom of the board Ic1
solder a jumper on it.
 Filesize:  13.16 KB
 Viewed:  8883 Time(s)

regu1.JPG



_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666


Last edited by Radioman193 on Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:04; edited 2 times in total
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Radioman193 wrote:
Arrow Administration Commands
wl txpwr1 31 Run Commands. :wink:

then if its still not working for ya.

"And for the people that think thave a bad Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 if it has Verry low power CHECK the fuse."


Oh sorry Radioman. I didn't get the ps yet, it's in the mail. The screenshot shows what a crappy signal I have right now at 20 feet...maybe I should jump the fuse just to see if it improves.
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
like this
for power

"yes Jump the fuse"



set.JPG
 Description:
set
 Filesize:  56.49 KB
 Viewed:  8880 Time(s)

set.JPG



wl txpwr1 31.JPG
 Description:
wl txpwr1 31
 Filesize:  55.11 KB
 Viewed:  8880 Time(s)

wl txpwr1 31.JPG



wl txpwr1 1.JPG
 Description:
wl txpwr1 1
 Filesize:  52.94 KB
 Viewed:  8880 Time(s)

wl txpwr1 1.JPG



_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
just do the power mod like i show on
Page #8 Post #6
Then you won't have a fuse. Cool

_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Radioman193 wrote:
just do the power mod like i show on
Page #8 Post #6
Then you won't have a fuse. Cool


Right...

How do you open the Buffalo case? Crowbar?
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cool

A BFH Shocked

Exclamation Just to tell you if you fry your router
It Is Not My Fault.
Exclamation
the Mods That I post work and HAVE Ben Tested Completely. Cool
if the mods work or not depend on your skills. Wink

this Photo shows what Everyone shuld know.
and try to accomplish.



sign.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  98.35 KB
 Viewed:  8866 Time(s)

sign.JPG



_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666


Last edited by Radioman193 on Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:56; edited 3 times in total
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
hey squibT
you get that router off star333star on ebay?

_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666
phpmysqlfreak
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
as requested by radioman193 via pm here my results of my dir-300 usb-powered.

after my shower now, i'll post the screens from my fonera also powered by usb.

as you see at the attached pics, there's no real difference. ;)

tx-power is at 13dbm, antenna gain is 7dbi



signalstrength-f-nera-usb.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.65 KB
 Viewed:  8802 Time(s)

signalstrength-f-nera-usb.png



signalstrength-dir300-usb.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  29.49 KB
 Viewed:  8822 Time(s)

signalstrength-dir300-usb.png



signalstrength-dir300-orig.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  26.26 KB
 Viewed:  8822 Time(s)

signalstrength-dir300-orig.png



_________________
1x Speedport W701V (freetz)

2x DIR-300 (built 12533)
1x DIR-301 (Orig. FW)
1x La Fone*a 2100 (built 12533)
=> All 5V-devices are powered via USB :D
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
"as requested by radioman193" Confused
no you just sed you were going to.
Cool

_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666
phpmysqlfreak
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Radioman193 wrote:
"as requested by radioman193" :?
no you just sed you were going to.
8)


you're right ;) my brain's not the best :D

you said:
Quote:
you might want to read the Sticky "How Stable is your Signal?" [link]

_________________
1x Speedport W701V (freetz)

2x DIR-300 (built 12533)
1x DIR-301 (Orig. FW)
1x La Fone*a 2100 (built 12533)
=> All 5V-devices are powered via USB :D
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
D-Link DIR-300

POWER INPUT
+ DIR-300: 5VDC, 1.2A, Through External
Power Adapter

The USB 1.x and 2.0 specifications provide a 5 V supply on a single wire from which connected USB devices may draw power. The specification provides for no more than 5.25 V and no less than 4.75 V (5 V±5%) between the positive and negative bus power lines. For USB 2.0 the voltage supplied by low-powered hub ports is 4.4 V to 5.25 V.[26]

A unit load is defined as 100 mA in USB 2.0, and was raised to 150 mA in USB 3.0. A maximum of 5 unit loads (500 mA) can be drawn from a port in USB 2.0, which was raised to 6 (900 mA) in USB 3.0. There are two types of devices: low-power and high-power. Low-power devices draw at most 1 unit load, with minimum operating voltage of 4.4 V in USB 2.0, and 4 V in USB 3.0. High-power devices draw the maximum number of unit loads supported by the standard. All devices default as low-power but the device's software may request high-power as long as the power is available on the providing bus.

Your stuff might be working But not properly.
#1
"you can make a 12v light bulb "function" on 6v but not properly"

#2
"you can start a car on a More than havlf Dead battery on a good day But not the Proper thing to do"


just telling ya not a wise thing to do in the long run.

_________________
You can find me Here:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001843308666
phpmysqlfreak
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
i know about that, but i already need a new mainboard so i get the last rest off it :D
so until it's not dead, i don't care.

_________________
1x Speedport W701V (freetz)

2x DIR-300 (built 12533)
1x DIR-301 (Orig. FW)
1x La Fone*a 2100 (built 12533)
=> All 5V-devices are powered via USB :D
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Radioman193 wrote:
hey squibT
you get that router off star333star on ebay?


Nope...NewEgg.ca...

I will not hold you responsible but someone has to take the blame if I blow it up...maybe my cat?

Can you tell me how to crack open the case? Both sides slide off but I cant seem to find out how to split the case open without braking it.

squibt
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 14, 15, 16  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 11 of 16
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum