How Stable is your Signal?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16  Next
Author Message
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmmm....

WRT54G and WRT54GS next.....pitiful signal on both.

_________________
Buffalo WHR HP 54G
Linksys WRT 54 GS V1
Linksys WRT 54 G V2
2Wire (dont ask)
Sponsor
sdoboze
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 17:08    Post subject: Re: 5v power supply Reply with quote
I was not refuting what the guy behind radioman193 wrote.

I am only supporting his statement - the router is going to use however much it needs. The rest of the equation is the quality of the supply, this cannot be ignored.

Many cheap power supplies may say three amperes but struggle to deliver close to that amount of power reliably.
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think I just bought a bad ps from China. The signal on my Buffalo is actually worse with the new 5v 3amp ps. Gonna get another one from somewhere else.
_________________
Buffalo WHR HP 54G
Linksys WRT 54 GS V1
Linksys WRT 54 G V2
2Wire (dont ask)
kevindd992002
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Radioman

What does "wl txpwr1 31" actually do to the router?

Also, are these: http://www.12vadapters.com/adapter/power-supply/12v/5-amp-5a.html , a generic PSU? The ones from China?

Is it always recommended to upgrade my WRT610N's PSU to 12V 5A as a hardware mod to increase signal stability?

Lastly, would increasing the TX power by replacing the PSU increase my SNR and Signal Quality from before?
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
"What does "wl txpwr1 31" actually do to the router?"

it sets your power over 251mW

"Also, are these: http://www.12vadapters.com/adapter/power-supply/12v/5-amp-5a.html , a generic PSU? The ones from China?"

others have got that power supply and have had good luck with them.

"Lastly, would increasing the TX power by replacing the PSU increase my SNR and Signal Quality from before?"

a new power supply Will not give you more TX power it will give you better Quality and cleaner tx power.

Cool
kevindd992002
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok Smile But are those that I've linked to "generic" power supplies? Or are they branded?

I've read somewhere in this thread that a guy had bad luck with China PSUs.
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
kevindd992002 wrote:
Ok Smile But are those that I've linked to "generic" power supplies? Or are they branded?

I've read somewhere in this thread that a guy had bad luck with China PSUs.


I got a bad one (I think). My signal is now all over the place. I think it may be possible to get a quickly made/cheaply made or "seconds" power supply from China or anywhere else for that matter so I would recommend getting one from a trusted local supplier. They may have a better more honest quality control to keep their good name.

_________________
Buffalo WHR HP 54G
Linksys WRT 54 GS V1
Linksys WRT 54 G V2
2Wire (dont ask)
kevindd992002
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh ok. Where did you buy yours anyway?
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
kevindd992002 wrote:
Oh ok. Where did you buy yours anyway?


I bought four of the ones here

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=6256

All four are working fine - no issues at all
squibT
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Nanaimo BC Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 2:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
kevindd992002 wrote:
Oh ok. Where did you buy yours anyway?


EBay...supplier in Hong Kong...dont want to say the name because its not fair to them. It may be just one bad one but I dont want to go thru the trouble of returning it.

_________________
Buffalo WHR HP 54G
Linksys WRT 54 GS V1
Linksys WRT 54 G V2
2Wire (dont ask)
kevindd992002
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh ok. What PSU did you replace that with?
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOL
you do know the hp power bricks are form shenzhen china and same for dell parts to.
As for most all electronics nowdays are from shenzhen china then labeled for who thay are supplying the devices for.
Eg.
Dell , HP , Gateway and more.
so does it matter what the label looks like or has printed for a "Name" .

Do what you feel you must do but the psu you get will have a 99.99% chance of coming out of shenzhen china no matter were you buy it from and what the lable name is.

welcome to 2009
Its called "outsourcing"
its not the 1970's or 1980's no more.
Cool
jones11
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 18:06    Post subject: Re: How Stable is your Signal? Reply with quote
Radioman193 wrote:
This is the best i can do.
with wifi in use with winamp radio playing
With Better grounding of the pcmcia card
and replaced the filter caps on the regulator
and a foil shield on the inside of the router
replaced the powersupply with a 12.55v 5A
and power set to Max 1.2 watt.
8)


Now ill start Mods on my
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 Twisted Evil


Can you tell me what software was used to show the wave form of the data before and after the power supply upgrade?
kevindd992002
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
He used inSSIDer.
Radioman193
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 487
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 4:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
"Subject: TX Power
Would increasing the 610N TX power to 251mW damage the router? "



in over 9 years i have NEVER killed a router from Max power.
just make shure that its not getting to warm.
thats all.
the "old" Die Hard people or people that dont know the hardware or the facts of why will say dont do it.

BUT thats cause the OLDER routers would "Maxout" but could not truely handle the power for long.
The new devices are designed alot better than 10 to 12 years agao.

This is an example of an "OLD wives tail"

cause it happened in the past thay think it is written in Stone that it will always happen no matter what.

"NOT A FACT"

I hope this helps.

Cool
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 14 of 16
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum