how open 610n brick

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
gallis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:46    Post subject: how open 610n brick Reply with quote
Hi I try to flash my 610n but now I have the power led continius blink I try to flash more mini flashfile but nothing continus blink. I try to open the router remove 4 screw but I can't understand how to open the pack .... any help
Sponsor
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1358
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
So you did try to tftp mini build before opening router?
_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
gallis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes I try more type of img like mini now download last and try this dd-wrt.v24-12424_mini_usb_ftp_wrt610n.bin and tell if work
gallis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
just try but nothing power continius blink after more then 10 minutes time of flash with tftp is 9-10 s it's ok???
owagner
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
gallis,

the serial port is accessible without opening the device. Look into the "Internet" ethernet connector, you can see the pads.

I'm using two cables fixed together using adhesive tape which I press on the pads to get the console connection.

Best Regards,
Olli
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Finaly.... after years of experience with Linksys routers.....



HOW TO RECOVER WRT610N

- plug power in
- wait 1-2s
- press reset button
- keep pressing for 5s
- open your browser at 192.168.1.1
- upload new firmware


Timing is crucial. And some routers I've seen must NOT have any lan cable plugged in for this to work. Plug it only after you released reset button.

Please confirm on different 610ns!
If this works for you... please add to Wiki

_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
gallis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Eko
Very tks try you method and work 610n came up Wink
WiCoded
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:59    Post subject: Worked for me .. Reply with quote
So Totally awesome... the linksys firmware on my 310n was bugging out .. i'd lose or have very slow wifi .. did the 303030 no good on the wifi .. got the latest firmware from linksys flashed it and brick.. found this thread after poking around some and viola .. took a few attempts to get the timing right but eventially I flashed the micro then 303030 the mini then 303030 then std then 303030 and I'm back on the wifi like it's brand new..

I know 303030 from a couple years ago but was unaware of the mgmt mode ..

I also had to slow my eth0 to 10mbps and half duplex before I really got the flash to work ..

: ) : ) : )
trydd-wrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
Finaly.... after years of experience with Linksys routers.....



HOW TO RECOVER WRT610N

- plug power in
- wait 1-2s
- press reset button
- keep pressing for 5s
- open your browser at 192.168.1.1
- upload new firmware


Timing is crucial. And some routers I've seen must NOT have any lan cable plugged in for this to work. Plug it only after you released reset button.

Please confirm on different 610ns!
If this works for you... please add to Wiki


Very nice, this solved my brick problem... TFTP wasn't getting it done no matter which firmware version I tried.
mediavieja
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
iv been trying this method on my wrt160n v3 but no go Sad has anyone successfully done it?
trydd-wrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
mediavieja wrote:
iv been trying this method on my wrt160n v3 but no go Sad has anyone successfully done it?


Try the classic way to get into maintenance mode. Unplug the router, hold the reset while plugging back in for I think 20 seconds. I've read that's how to do it on older routers. It's either 5 or 20 seconds... try both.
Cinto
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
The reset method above is not working for me. I get a constantly flashing power light and no response at http://192.168.1.1. I do get a ttl=100 ping response at about 5 seconds for a ping or 2 then nothing. I TFTP'd over the recommended build dd-wrt.v24-14311_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt610nv2.bin
and power cycled then hard reset. I still just get a flashing power LED and no http response at 192.168.1.1 but i do get a constant 100=ttl ping response any ideas?
JMJimmy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I could not get this to work on my 610n. I started with a solid light but unresponsive gateway and ended up with an unending flashing light and still no response from the gateway.
jinjorge
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
JMJimmy wrote:
I could not get this to work on my 610n. I started with a solid light but unresponsive gateway and ended up with an unending flashing light and still no response from the gateway.


It's all about timing. Took me 3-4 times to get it to work earlier today, but things eventually aligned.

Can you ping the router? are you getting a ttl of 64 or 100 in the ping responses?

J

_________________
WRT320N - 15230M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
RT-N16 - 15280M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko - mega
JMJimmy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried a dozen or more times - I only get request timed out when pinging the router.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum