DYNDNS: Error 'RC_IP_RECV_ERROR' (0x15) when talking to IP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1258
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you happen to have a web host hosting a website for you, and you are able to set up subdomains on it (e.g. subdomain.domain.com), you could set up a subdomain on it, and in the folder for the subdomain create an index.php file with the following code:
Code:
<?echo "Current IP Address: " . $REMOTE_ADDR ;?>


Now you have your own checkip website to program into your router. I have already done so on my website and it works great.

_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
Sponsor
phuque99
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
If you happen to have a web host hosting a website for you, and you are able to set up subdomains on it (e.g. subdomain.domain.com), you could set up a subdomain on it, and in the folder for the subdomain create an index.php file with the following code:
Code:
<?echo "Current IP Address: " . $REMOTE_ADDR ;?>


Now you have your own checkip website to program into your router. I have already done so on my website and it works great.


Looks good but my ISP employs transparent proxies for port 80 and that code will return the transparent proxy's IP address. I'm not familiar with PHP but do you know what other variable's will return the right IP address?

Edit: nvm, I figured it out:

Code:
<?php

if (empty($HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR))
  echo "Current IP Address: " . $REMOTE_ADDR ;
else
  echo "Current IP Address: " . $HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR ;

?>


You don't need a subdomain for it, just place it in a folder and point inadyn to that folder. Example if the index.php was placed in "/whatismyip":

Code:
--ip_server_name myownserver.com:80 /whatismyip/
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
wpinegar wrote:
    --update_period_sec 1800 --ip_server_name checkip.two-dns.de:80 /


Is that "/" required?

I tried myip.dnsomatic.com, but it couldn't connect.

_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
phuque99
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cyberian wrote:
wpinegar wrote:
    --update_period_sec 1800 --ip_server_name checkip.two-dns.de:80 /


Is that "/" required?

I tried myip.dnsomatic.com, but it couldn't connect.


The slash in the example means "checkip.two-dns.de/"
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
phuque99 wrote:

Code:
--ip_server_name myownserver.com:80 /whatismyip/


I tried it with my own website, but it couldn't connect. I'm using Custom settings with DNS-O-Matic.

_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
phuque99
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cyberian wrote:
phuque99 wrote:

Code:
--ip_server_name myownserver.com:80 /whatismyip/


I tried it with my own website, but it couldn't connect. I'm using Custom settings with DNS-O-Matic.


Perhaps if you try to be more verbose about your setup, like what is the actual link on your own website and what is your custom setting, more help can be offered.
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cyberian wrote:
I tried it with my own website, but it couldn't connect. I'm using Custom settings with DNS-O-Matic.

Is your own website personally hosted? The reason I ask is that if you are trying to use your site that gets redirected by the DNS you are trying to update, then that will not work. Kind of defeats the purpose when you cannot connect to yourself.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's working now. Thanks, guys! Smile
_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
spidey3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
wpinegar wrote:
I agree. This really isn't a major change. It would be quite easy to modify the IP addressing checking code in INADYN to simply look in nvram for the WAN IP address. It seems a bit wasteful to ping an external web site for information that in most instances the router already has...

This is not guaranteed to work. What if the WAN IP known to dd-wrt is not the actual externally reachable IP address (e.g. if there is another layer of NAT between you and the outside world)?

In order for INADYN to really know the externally visible IP address it needs to get a round trip to an external site.

Spidey!!!
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is why this is considered "optional". In quite a few situations, it would work. However, yes, there are quite a few situations were it would also *not* work.
_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
wpinegar
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I tried myip.dnsomatic.com when I was attempting to find another IP address checking web site. For some reason the unusually great folks at dnsomatic/opendns are blocking requests from INADYN...likely on purpose. I asked them to open it up but I didn't receive a reply.

the "/" is required and tells INADYN which web page to open as the IP address checker on the web site.

Cyberian wrote:
wpinegar wrote:
    --update_period_sec 1800 --ip_server_name checkip.two-dns.de:80 /


Is that "/" required?

I tried myip.dnsomatic.com, but it couldn't connect.
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm using "--cache_dir /jffs/ddns". This way, every little change doesn't result in forced update.
_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
phuque99
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Oct 2008
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cyberian wrote:
I'm using "--cache_dir /jffs/ddns". This way, every little change doesn't result in forced update.


How does that help not forcing the update? The default is "--cache_dir /tmp/ddns", which points to the folder where ddns also stores the cached IP.
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
phuque99 wrote:
Cyberian wrote:
I'm using "--cache_dir /jffs/ddns". This way, every little change doesn't result in forced update.


How does that help not forcing the update? The default is "--cache_dir /tmp/ddns", which points to the folder where ddns also stores the cached IP.

It seems to force an update when I change some settings.

_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
wpinegar
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
crashfly wrote:
That is why this is considered "optional". In quite a few situations, it would work. However, yes, there are quite a few situations were it would also *not* work.


Yes, agreed. It should be relatively easy to add an optional feature to DDNS tab called "Use WAN IP Address" that would force INADYN on DD-WRT to check the WAN IP address stored in NVRAM and use this to update DDNS without the need to perform a round-trip check via an external web server. I've opened a bugtracker on this if anyone would like to comment or follow-up on the request:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/bugtracker/view.php?id=3706

I'm quite hopeful that this would be added in a future build. Why not?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum