DIR-600 Rev A1

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here. The router didn't seem to reboot after tftp. Had waited 25 mins and the status LED just stayed flashing. If I do the power cycle it will return to original fw. BTW I use FR-54RTR.

rajing wrote:
Stains, did you have to replace the redboot as is needed for the DIR-300 a1? I'm following your steps with the ones for a dir-600 a1 but can't seem to do either. Flashing the firmware via tftp ends up in a non-responsive router until reboot. Trying it the tftp server way, like the dir-300 a1, doesn't do anything - i'm unable to ping the route via the WAN port on 192.168.20.80. Any insight?
Sponsor
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:15    Post subject: router switch to 192.168.0.2 after tftp completed Reply with quote
Interestingly, right after all the TFTP packets, router sent a IGMP message (originated from 192.168.0.2 but same MAC). Then it started accepting requests on 192.168.0.2 and everything works the same (still old frys web interface). Once router reset it fell back to 192.168.0.1.

chirho wrote:
Same here. The router didn't seem to reboot after tftp. Had waited 25 mins and the status LED just stayed flashing. If I do the power cycle it will return to original fw. BTW I use FR-54RTR.

rajing wrote:
Stains, did you have to replace the redboot as is needed for the DIR-300 a1? I'm following your steps with the ones for a dir-600 a1 but can't seem to do either. Flashing the firmware via tftp ends up in a non-responsive router until reboot. Trying it the tftp server way, like the dir-300 a1, doesn't do anything - i'm unable to ping the route via the WAN port on 192.168.20.80. Any insight?
rajing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, so I made some progress....some bad, but mostly good. If you hold the reset button down for 30 seconds (probably only need to do it for 10) while plugging in the power, you get into this weird boot state. While in this state point a web browser to 192.168.0.1 and you will see a "D-LINK Firmware Upgrade System" page. You have to use Internet Explorer or the upgrade doesn't take. YMMV, but Chrome does not work. STOP HERE!

Neither of the images in the trunk seem to work. If you flash them your router turns into a semi-brick. Turning on the router results in a non-functional state. This is what happened to me. My guess is that there is something wrong with the image. The good thing is holding down the reset button while plugging the power still takes you back to the bootloader state. Since Fry's firmware doesn't seem to be available yet, and I really had nothing to lose, I downloaded the DIR-600 firmware from the US website and tried to flash that, which worked. Well, I can see the admin page again - I haven't gone any farther than that.

I downloaded the OpenWRT source and tried compiling from hand to no avail. Connecting via serial would probably help but I don't know how to go about doing all of that. I might pick up a multimeter tomorrow and figure out the pins. I'd still have to get a serial converter to make the cable I believe. I've never done any of this before but I'm willing to spend some time trying to figure it out. Any pointers?
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 5:59    Post subject: Successfully made RS-232 connection Reply with quote
Finally, after spending the whole night working on this, here is what I got so far.

I decided to try to make a RS-232 connection to talk to the bootloader. Opening up my frys box is amazingly easy.

Board.jpg: http://www.kaneva.com/asset/assetDetails.aspx?assetId=6089587&communityId=0)


4MB Flash: http://www.kaneva.com/asset/assetDetails.aspx?assetId=6089588&communityId=0

As mentioned by stains it's the same as DIR600 A1 (FCCID: KA2DIR600A1). I see AR7240 + AR9285 + 4MB winbound flash + 256Mb SDRAM. What confuses me is for some reason the FR-54RTR is marketed as Wireless-G while DIR-600 and 601 are 150-N.

There aren't ready-to-use connectors for UART like some other boards. I can see some tinned connectors but I was not sure. Thanks to another discussion on a different board with same chip http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=365012, I compared the pinouts and believed I should use the three round ones, which makes GND, TX and RX. One of them is apparently ground. The other two are measured at 2.5V and 1.25V respectively.


UART connectors: http://www.kaneva.com/asset/assetDetails.aspx?assetId=6089589&communityId=0

I soldered three wires at the backside of the PCB, then started to worry about how to make my computer with legacy RS-232 talk to 2.5V UART.


http://www.kaneva.com/asset/assetDetails.aspx?assetId=6089590&communityId=0

I found some interesting discussion about using cell phone data cable http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/HowTo/AddASerialPort, which reminds me about my 5-year old samsung data cable. Fortunately it only took me 10 mins to dig it up from my trash dump. I pried it open and identified RX by using a jumper wire to short pins and looking closely at my terminal emulator for garbage text. Then I connected ground and RX. Reboot the router and voila, hello BOOTLOADER. After another round of trial and error I got TX too.

I would try loading firmware from TFTP server tomorrow and let you guys know if I can make it.


Quote:

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Apr 17 2009 - 14:44:49)

AP91 (ar7240) U-boot
DRAM:
sri
#### TAP VALUE 1 = 8, 2 = 9
32 MB
Top of RAM usable for U-Boot at: 82000000
Reserving 243k for U-Boot at: 81fc0000
Reserving 192k for malloc() at: 81f90000
Reserving 44 Bytes for Board Info at: 81f8ffd4
Reserving 36 Bytes for Global Data at: 81f8ffb0
Reserving 128k for boot params() at: 81f6ffb0
Stack Pointer at: 81f6ff98
Now running in RAM - U-Boot at: 81fc0000
id read 0x100000ff
flash size 4194304, sector count = 64
Flash: 4 MB
*** Warning - bad CRC, using default environment

In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
Net: ag7240_enet_initialize...
Fetching MAC Address from 0x81fe6e50
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7014
eth0: 00:03:7f:e0:09:ab
eth0 up
No valid address in Flash. Using fixed address
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7214
eth1: 00:03:7f:09:0b:ad
ATHRS26: resetting s26
ATHRS26: s26 reset done
eth1 up
eth0, eth1
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 1  0
## Booting image at bf040000 ...
Image Name: Linux Kernel Image
Created: 2009-09-16 3:16:31 UTC
Image Type: MIPS Linux Kernel Image (lzma compressed)
Data Size: 980513 Bytes = 957.5 kB
Load Address: 80002000
Entry Point: 802b0000
Verifying Checksum ... OK
LZMA Umcompressing Kernel Image ... Image loaded from 80002000-802d8086
OK
No initrd
## Transferring control to Linux (at address 802b0000) ...
## Giving linux memsize in bytes, 33554432

Starting kernel ...

Booting AR7240(Python)...

Linux version 2.6.15--LSDK-7.3.0.260 (root@172.21.65.65) (gcc version 3.4.4) #1 Wed Sep 16 10:43:44 CST 2009

flash_size passed from bootloader = 4

arg 1: console=ttyS0,115200

arg 2: root=31:03

arg 3: rootfstype=squashfs,jffs2

arg 4: init=/sbin/init

arg 5: mtdparts=ar7240-nor0:192k(u-boot),64k(nvram),960k(linux),2752k(rootfs),64k(MAC),64k(ART)

arg 6: mem=32M

CPU revision is: 00019374

Determined physical RAM map:

memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)

User-defined physical RAM map:

memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)

Built 1 zonelists

Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 root=31:03 rootfstype=squashfs,jffs2 init=/sbin/init mtdparts=ar7240-nor0:192k(u-boot),64k(nvram),960k(linux),2752k(rootfs),64k(MAC),64k(ART) mem=32M

Primary instruction cache 64kB, physically tagged, 4-way, linesize 32 bytes.

Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, linesize 32 bytes.

Synthesized TLB refill handler (20 instructions).

Synthesized TLB load handler fastpath (32 instructions).

Synthesized TLB store handler fastpath (32 instructions).

Synthesized TLB modify handler fastpath (31 instructions).

Cache parity protection disabled

PID hash table entries: 256 (order: 8, 4096 bytes)

Using 175.000 MHz high precision timer.

Console: colour dummy device 80x25

Dentry cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)

Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)

Memory: 29104k/32768k available (2284k kernel code, 3648k reserved, 456k data, 164k init, 0k highmem)

Mount-cache hash table entries: 512

Checking for 'wait' instruction... available.

NET: Registered protocol family 16

SCSI subsystem initialized

Returning IRQ 48

TC classifier action (bugs to netdev@vger.kernel.org cc hadi@cyberus.ca)

AR7240 GPIOC major 0

squashfs: version 3.1 (2006/08/19) Phillip Lougher

Initializing Cryptographic API

io scheduler noop registered

io scheduler deadline registered

HDLC line discipline: version $Revision: 1.1.1.1 $, maxframe=4096

N_HDLC line discipline registered.

Software Watchdog Timer: 0.07 initialized. soft_noboot=0 soft_margin=60 sec (nowayout= 0)

Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.1.1.1 $ 1 ports, IRQ sharing disabled

serial8250.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x0 (irq = 19) is a 16550A

RAMDISK driver initialized: 1 RAM disks of 8192K size 1024 blocksize

loop: loaded (max 8 devices)

PPP generic driver version 2.4.2

PPP Deflate Compression module registered

PPP BSD Compression module registered

PPP MPPE Compression module registered

NET: Registered protocol family 24

PPTP driver version 0.7.12

6 cmdlinepart partitions found on MTD device ar7240-nor0

Creating 6 MTD partitions on "ar7240-nor0":

0x00000000-0x00030000 : "u-boot"

0x00030000-0x00040000 : "nvram"

0x00040000-0x00130000 : "linux"

0x00130000-0x003e0000 : "rootfs"

0x003e0000-0x003f0000 : "MAC"

0x003f0000-0x00400000 : "ART"

GACT probability on

Mirror/redirect action on

Simple TC action Loaded

netem: version 1.1

u32 classifier

Perfomance counters on

input device check on

Actions configured

Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.

NET: Registered protocol family 2

IP route cache hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)

TCP established hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

TCP bind hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

TCP: Hash tables configured (established 2048 bind 2048)

TCP reno registered

ip_conntrack version 2.4 (256 buckets, 2048 max) - 232 bytes per conntrack

ip_ct_h323: init success

ip_conntrack_rtsp v0.6.21 loading

ip_nat_rtsp v0.6.21 loading

ip_conntrack_pptp version 3.1 loaded

ip_nat_pptp version 3.0 loaded

ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team

ipt_time loading

ipt_recent v0.3.1: Stephen Frost <sfrost@snowman.net>. http://snowman.net/projects/ipt_recent/

ClusterIP Version 0.8 loaded successfully

TCP bic registered

NET: Registered protocol family 1

NET: Registered protocol family 10

lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions

IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver

NET: Registered protocol family 17

arch/mips/ar7240/gpio.c (ar7240_simple_config_init) JUMPSTART_GPIO: 12


ar7240: calling simple_config callback..

ar7240wdt_init: Registering WDT VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly.

Freeing unused kernel memory: 164k freed


init started: BusyBox v1.01 (2009.09.16-02:58+0000) multi-call binary
Algorithmics/MIPS FPU Emulator v1.5


Please press Enter to activate this console. ag7240_mod: module license 'unspecified' taints kernel.

AG7240: Length per segment 1536

AG7240: Max segments per packet 1

AG7240: Max tx descriptor count 80

AG7240: Max rx descriptor count 252

AG7240: fifo cfg 3 01f00140

AG7240CHH: Mac address for unit 0

AG7240CHH: 00:03:7f:e0:09:ab

AG7240CHH: Mac address for unit 1

AG7240CHH: ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

in get_default_mac!!!
ag7240_ring_alloc Allocated 1280 at 0x803c8000

ag7240_ring_alloc Allocated 4032 at 0x813e7000

Setting PHY...

ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready

eth0: Cannot assign requested address
ag7240_ring_alloc Allocated 1280 at 0x813e6800

ag7240_ring_alloc Allocated 4032 at 0x81c96000

ATHRS26: resetting s26

ATHRS26: s26 reset done

Setting PHY...

ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready

eth1: Cannot assign requested address
device eth1 entered promiscuous mode

Wed Sep 16 10:58:00 UTC 2009
Entry gpio_ioctl init_module !!

sh: dcc: not found
lan mac = 00:01:23:11:11:11rc is BUSY now!
eth0: Cannot assign requested address
eth1: Cannot assign requested address
dhcpd_enabled::::::
DHCP client start.
domain empty
Failure parsing line 19 of /var/etc/udhcpd.conf
Failure parsing line 20 of /var/etc/udhcpd.conf
Failure parsing line 21 of /var/etc/udhcpd.conf
DHCP server start.
device_lan_ip=192.168.0.1 , device_lan_subnet_mask=255.255.255.0
max_leases value (254) not sane, setting to 100 instead
Unable to open /var/misc/udhcpd.leases for reading
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:5A:CB:1C:08
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

TFTP main
standard_tftp_server launched on port 69.
Sending discover...
Wed Sep 16 10:58:00 UTC 2009
ERRO: There must be at least 2 Vif's where one is upstream.
wan_ipaddr == NULL, firewall don't start
Start Firewall: Clear iptables
killall: crowdcontrol: no process killed
killall: wakeOnLanProxy: no process killed
Sending discover...
rc is IDLE now!
Sending discover...
wantimer: dhcpc_release (VCT_DISCONNECT)
DHCPC Received SIGUSR2=>DHCPC Release
Performing a DHCPC release
Entering released state
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:48    Post subject: Loaded firmware with factory web Reply with quote
Continued from last night. Before trying TFTP server approach, I decided to give the the web upload another shot. As it kept telling me the firmwares (tried openwrt-squash, openwrt-jffs and DIR-601-A1) were bad, I figure the console should print something with the detail cause. It turned out to be mismatched hardware ID.

As I recalled the last step for building the firmware was to append HW ID to the end of squash FS, I brought up two versions of .config files and found their HW IDs to be slightly different: AP91-AR7240-RT-090223-01 vs AP91-AR7240-RT-090223-00. I edited the fw and open-wrt loaded without problem with from factory admin web.

So I guess this is a good news for those who do not want to mess with the hardware. Just use HEX editor to edit the HW ID (at the end of the file) for the favorite FW file of your choice and you are good to go.

So far I can telnet but HTTP returns a message saying "Not Found" at http://192.168.1.1/luci. Still need to learn how to configure open-wrt. I will come back with more info if I can get httpd working.
monte2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
The path I took was the 30-30-30 reset which gave
me the "D-LINK Firmware Upgrade System" at
http://192.168.0.1/

There, I upgraded the Fry's router with the D-Link DIR-600 A1 image (1.01NA firmware).

After I had that loaded I used the regular web interface to upgrade to an openwrt snapshot (squashfs...universal.bin) from Feb 9th.
monte2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Earlier today, I posted some findings from this past weekend spent with OpenWRT and the Fry's router.

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=103005#p103005

In particular, I noticed issues uploading to the WAN.
Otherwise, I found performance was good.

I haven't tried the snapshot from 2/15.
monte2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
chiro:
Quote:

So far I can telnet but HTTP returns a message saying "Not Found" at http://192.168.1.1/luci. Still need to learn how to configure open-wrt. I will come back with more info if I can get httpd working.


According to https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=98500#p98500 you need the following packages:
luci-admin-full (or luci-admin-mini)
luci-fastindex
luci-theme-openwrt
luci-theme-base


Assuming you are using a snapshot build, you can find the packages in the subdir under the ar71xx tree:

http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/packages/

Set your password with "passwd" to disable telnet and enable ssh/scp.
Scp the files to /tmp and run opkg install on each.


I have not used the webui myself.
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. It works perfectly.

monte2 wrote:
chiro:
Quote:

So far I can telnet but HTTP returns a message saying "Not Found" at http://192.168.1.1/luci. Still need to learn how to configure open-wrt. I will come back with more info if I can get httpd working.


According to https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=98500#p98500 you need the following packages:
luci-admin-full (or luci-admin-mini)
luci-fastindex
luci-theme-openwrt
luci-theme-base


Assuming you are using a snapshot build, you can find the packages in the subdir under the ar71xx tree:

http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/packages/

Set your password with "passwd" to disable telnet and enable ssh/scp.
Scp the files to /tmp and run opkg install on each.


I have not used the webui myself.
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used the same snapshot but didn't noticed any crashes on WAN traffic. I didn't use PPP though. Just chained it to another router.

monte2 wrote:
Earlier today, I posted some findings from this past weekend spent with OpenWRT and the Fry's router.

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=103005#p103005

In particular, I noticed issues uploading to the WAN.
Otherwise, I found performance was good.

I haven't tried the snapshot from 2/15.
monte2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
chirho wrote:
I used the same snapshot but didn't noticed any crashes on WAN traffic. I didn't use PPP though. Just chained it to another router.


Hmm, I wasn't using PPP either.
I had routers chained too.

I did have GigE plugged into it on both the
Lan and Wan sides. I don't know if that would have
caused any problems.

I'll have to test some more later in the week or next weekend.
monte2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I upgraded to OpenWRT KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r19655), build from 2/17/2010, and I was seeing the same issue.


After trying lots of different configurations with tc and mtu, I'm finding that if I just set MTU=1400 on the wan interface it seems to be stable.

Just add the line: option mtu 1400

Under "config interface wan" in /etc/config/network.

Then reboot the router. (Restarting the network after changing mtu seems to leave the wan interface broken.)

At higher mtu settings I am able to crash the wan interface with a simple ping flood where packet data == MTU.
mazeeff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:41    Post subject: DD-WRT support for DIR-600 A1 Reply with quote
Any idea how long before we see DD-WRT for this router? I need to set up a repeater bridge here in a RV park with Tengo internet. I only get a strong signal in the front of our mobile home. Thanks,

Mike
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interesting. I don't have an issue with chained router. But PPPoE is very problematic for me. Once PPP is connected, every time I run a bandwidth check my DSL modem will freeze up. The problem persists even if I restart the router. The only way to recover is to reboot the modem. If I just do web browsing it works fine. So I guess it's just an issue of heavy traffic. I tried to set MTU (before seeing your post) to the 1492, which is the one used by my old router but it didn't help. I will try it again with 1400 tonight.

monte2 wrote:
I upgraded to OpenWRT KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r19655), build from 2/17/2010, and I was seeing the same issue.


After trying lots of different configurations with tc and mtu, I'm finding that if I just set MTU=1400 on the wan interface it seems to be stable.

Just add the line: option mtu 1400

Under "config interface wan" in /etc/config/network.

Then reboot the router. (Restarting the network after changing mtu seems to leave the wan interface broken.)

At higher mtu settings I am able to crash the wan interface with a simple ping flood where packet data == MTU.
chirho
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 16:40    Post subject: Other open issues Reply with quote
I'm currently using the router as a QOS gateway and it appears to work. Some issues remained:

1) DHCP server never worked. Have to manually assign IPs to client computers.
2) WAN interface problem with PPPoE as mentioned previously.
3) Limited flash capacity: basically I want all three features: luci web admin, madwifi and QOS. But there is never enough space for me to install more than one of the feature listed.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum