Optware, the right way

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 157, 158, 159  Next
Author Message
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 18:19    Post subject: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
Yes, I know the subject sounds pretentious but I really think this is the right way to start optware on the DD-WRT router.

I've written a similar script for the Western Digital Worlbook and it's been installed on 180 devices and counting without any complaints...

You need to take care yourself of mounting a writable blockdevice to /opt (you can do this using the webif or with the command `mount -n -o noatime -t ext3 /dev/..... /opt` in rc_startup)

This script will do the whole install:
Code:
wget -O /tmp/prep_optware http://wd.mirmana.com/prep_optware
sh /tmp/prep_optware


It will load all the necessary optware and supporting scripts I wrote from the ground up.
You'll get:
Code:

bash instead of shell in busybox (LFS support)
services running as other users than root
vim with proper terminal support
automounting and unmounting of partitions
hotmount
pre-configured samba
transmission with watchdog
reverse proxy featuring pound
service tool

many, many things more.... just check it out
I will be writing more stuff for it in the near future.....

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Sponsor
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2061
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confirm that this is the best Optware system for my WL500W. Frater did an awesome job...Kudos man
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
D-Link DIR-825B
Engenious ECB3500
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ210W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ200W
SonicWall TZ190W
SonicWall TZ180W
SonicWall TZ170W
SonicWall TZ105W
yzy-oui-fi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2009
Posts: 2826
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
It'seems interresting, are you abble this way to load php on the device?

(I'll edit this to give more info)

I'm interested in it because i've made a light php web site abble to stream lot of media type(mp3, asf, avi,mpg,http_tv,jpg,gif) within three click. my only trouble is that PHP is not include with dd-wrt, I will try to rebuilt a firmware, but if it is possible without rebuiding it will be nice and easy to set for every one.

just have to activated a second httpd pointing on it and you could have a sort of media server included on an asus device.

So....I'm hardly waiting for your reply Wink

_________________
DD-WRT WDS MESH + DASHBOARD (fr), DD-WRT network setting tool (tools.yzy-oui-fi.com), Wifi Business and IT guy After hours, My Blog, Free DD-WRT VPN Community(www.wrt-pptp-ww.com), DD-WRT pré-réglés pour réseau outdoor(hotspot.yzy-oui-fi.com), Nouveau Forum DD-WRT francophone


Last edited by yzy-oui-fi on Wed Oct 14, 2009 21:52; edited 3 times in total
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11471

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'll sticky this for a week or two?
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
With the reverse proxy you can manage all your http-servers on port 80....

Just load lighttpd with php-support and virtual hosting on it and bob's your uncle...
I have a nice system for virtual hosting as well.
It uses your directory structure as a database...

http://mybookworld.wikidot.com/forum/t-68493/

I will take a look at it later on this week...
I'm now totally exhausted writing and testing these scripts.

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
yzy-oui-fi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2009
Posts: 2826
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 13:04    Post subject: php web media center on routers Reply with quote
fine,

my media server is also base on directory db(unfortunatly wrt will never support SQL almost external db but unsecur).

I'll have to check your tells, to test it, and for sure i'll be back with an how to for those who need it, but first i'd like to finish the rebuilt for wrt54 working with cifs. after that >8mb,32mb routers with USB will be easy. ;)

thank for your help

Note:
for those who alredy have implemented PHP (or have an APACHE +PHP server at home), here is the link for media server website, sorry it's only available in french at this time...

http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101.tar.gz

here some screen shout:
http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101.jpg
http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101-2.jpg
http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101-3.jpg
http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101-4.jpg
http://yci69fr.fr/telechargements/yzy-media-101-5.jpg

the only thing to do is to unpack the archive file in your www directory, create appropriate link in "data" directories or storing directly media in it. If you know a little bit of french there is a readme call lisez-moi.

_________________
DD-WRT WDS MESH + DASHBOARD (fr), DD-WRT network setting tool (tools.yzy-oui-fi.com), Wifi Business and IT guy After hours, My Blog, Free DD-WRT VPN Community(www.wrt-pptp-ww.com), DD-WRT pré-réglés pour réseau outdoor(hotspot.yzy-oui-fi.com), Nouveau Forum DD-WRT francophone
rhdcheme
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 13:23    Post subject: Re: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
frater wrote:


You need to take care yourself of mounting a writable blockdevice to /opt (you can do this using the webif or with the command `mount -n -o noatime -t ext3 /dev/..... /opt` in rc_startup)

This script will do the whole install:
Code:
wget -O /tmp/prep_optware http://wd.mirmana.com/prep_optware
sh /tmp/prep_optware


It will load all the necessary optware and supporting scripts I wrote from the ground up.


Please forgive me as I am a novice on this. I want to use a hard drive (40 GB) as USB storage.

What is "rc_startup"? Is this a saved command (startup) in dd-wrt web GUI Administration?

If so, after doing this save command, I just telnet and run the two line script you posted?

Do I have to prepare according to Wiki (here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware)?

Thanks.

_________________
E3000 (converted from WRT610NV2)
ASUS RT-N56U Firmware 1.0.1.4 (reverted from 1.0.1.5)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 15:24    Post subject: Re: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
rhdcheme wrote:

What is "rc_startup"? Is this a saved command (startup) in dd-wrt web GUI Administration?

If so, after doing this save command, I just telnet and run the two line script you posted?

Do I have to prepare according to Wiki (here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware)?

Thanks.

If you have USB-enabled firmware (I don't see any reason not to use this if you are planning to use USB) you only need to tell DD-WRT to mount 'the' USB-storage to /opt
If you have partitioned your HD and have at least 1 GB as your 1st partition all is well....
Everything should go automatically after you enter those 2 commands in the "telnet interface".
It will even automatically mount swap if you partitioned this....

Do use "ext" as your filesystem. At least for optware!

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
rhdcheme
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 16:33    Post subject: Re: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
frater wrote:

If you have USB-enabled firmware (I don't see any reason not to use this if you are planning to use USB) you only need to tell DD-WRT to mount 'the' USB-storage to /opt
If you have partitioned your HD and have at least 1 GB as your 1st partition all is well....
Everything should go automatically after you enter those 2 commands in the "telnet interface".
It will even automatically mount swap if you partitioned this....

Do use "ext" as your filesystem. At least for optware!


Thanks! I will give it a try.

_________________
E3000 (converted from WRT610NV2)
ASUS RT-N56U Firmware 1.0.1.4 (reverted from 1.0.1.5)
cbstryker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
So how should the partitions on the drive be set up? I have mine configured for HDsamba2 which is:

Part 1 - 250MB ext3 (optware)
Part 2 - 250MB swap
Part 3 - aprox 950MB ext3 (all the data)

And if I use this package will I be able to access the data through the network as //NAS or something similar?

Thanks.
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2061
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
If using windoze, then just create a new network place of \\192.168.1.1 (or your routers IP)
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
D-Link DIR-825B
Engenious ECB3500
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ210W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ200W
SonicWall TZ190W
SonicWall TZ180W
SonicWall TZ170W
SonicWall TZ105W
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 22:57    Post subject: Re: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
frater wrote:

If you have USB-enabled firmware (I don't see any reason not to use this if you are planning to use USB) you only need to tell DD-WRT to mount 'the' USB-storage to /opt
If you have partitioned your HD and have at least 1 GB as your 1st partition all is well....
Everything should go automatically after you enter those 2 commands in the "telnet interface".
It will even automatically mount swap if you partitioned this....

Do use "ext" as your filesystem. At least for optware!
Any pointers before I try this on my SD mod? Swap? Partitions?
_________________
The New Me
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
cbstryker wrote:
So how should the partitions on the drive be set up? I have mine configured for HDsamba2 which is:

Part 1 - 250MB ext3 (optware)
Part 2 - 250MB swap
Part 3 - aprox 950MB ext3 (all the data)

And if I use this package will I be able to access the data through the network as //NAS or something similar?

Thanks.

Should do fine.... Use the webif to mount to /opt and everything should load automagically.

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Someone with a Chello account who downloaded my scripts today should redownload "service" in which I made a typo...

Code:
wget -q /opt/usr/sbin/service http://wd.mirmana.com/service

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Mekanik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 20:03    Post subject: Re: Optware, the right way Reply with quote
DHC_DarkShadow wrote:
Any pointers before I try this on my SD mod? Swap? Partitions?


Frater,

I've got a working SD card mod too and have the same question. Should I create an ext3 partition and a swap partition in Linux first? Then mount the ext3 partition to /opt, and run the script?

_________________
WRT54GLv1.1
WRT54GSv1.1
WRT54Gv1.1
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv4
WRT54G2v1
WHR-G300N
DIR-615 E3
WNDR3800
WRT300N
WRT54G-TM
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 157, 158, 159  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 159
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum