Netgear R7000 Overclock on Build 26854?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
johnathonm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 22:20    Post subject: Netgear R7000 Overclock on Build 26854? Reply with quote
Hi,

I am trying to overclock my Netgear R7000. I have done this on dozens of previous builds through the following method:

Telnet/SSH into 192.168.1.1
Login
nvram set clkfreq=1400,800
nvram commit
nvram reboot

Upon reboot going in and checking both the Status page and through nvram show | grep clkfreq it would display the 1400 clock. Now, it seems the stock 1000 clk "sticks".

Anyone have any ideas? Just curious as I haven't seen this behavior before.

Thanks,

J
Sponsor
johnathonm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 22:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have also tried resetting to defaults. I also tried a separate instance of erase nvram through - to no avail. The setting will not "stick".

Thanks,

J
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 242
Location: North America

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 2:19    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7000 Overclock on Build 26854? Reply with quote
johnathonm wrote:
Hi,

I am trying to overclock my Netgear R7000. I have done this on dozens of previous builds through the following method:

Telnet/SSH into 192.168.1.1
Login
nvram set clkfreq=1400,800
nvram commit
nvram reboot

Upon reboot going in and checking both the Status page and through nvram show | grep clkfreq it would display the 1400 clock. Now, it seems the stock 1000 clk "sticks".

Anyone have any ideas? Just curious as I haven't seen this behavior before.

Thanks,

J

When the router reboots, the nvram settings you made are being over written by the web GUI overclocking field on the Administration ->> Management web page.
First, set the overclocking field to 1400 MHz and let the router reboot. Then enter nvram get clkfreq and you should see something like this:
root@NetR7000RT2:~# nvram get clkfreq
1400

Notice that only the CPU frequency got set while the DDR memory clock value is missing; this is a small bug which causes the DDR clock to default to 400 MHz at boot time.
You can fix this by entering:
root@NetR7000RT2:~# nvram set clkfreq=1400,800
root@NetR7000RT2:~# nvram commit
root@NetR7000RT2:~# reboot

Please don't try setting the CPU clock to 1600 MHz as the firmware boot-up will fail and will require a serial cable to fix. Also some CPU chips will randomly fail while running at 1400 MHz.

- Magnetron1.1
johnathonm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Awesome,

I appreciate you taking the time to write out what was going on and a work around. I will try it later today.

-J
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum