New Code to add Support for USR5465

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
modervador
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:19    Post subject: New Code to add Support for USR5465 Reply with quote
I have been programming for about 30 years and building computers for at least 25. Among my specialties are designing hardware interfaces for embedded microcontrollers and writing compact code for same in assembler and higher level languages, which has been good for my wallet. I have successfully installed and configured DD-WRT on a variety of routers from multiple manufacturers, never having trouble till I undertook to try DD-WRT on one of my USR5465 routers. This post and this post detail the results of those experiments. I must say that before I tried the flash, and again before I asked for help when the flash didn't work, I searched for and read all pertinent forum posts and wiki articles for what little information there was about this device.

Since then, further experimentation has made me strongly suspect that support for the USR5465 was at best incomplete. Therefore I have dug more deeply into other resources and into the DD-WRT source code itself to resolve the matter. Finding my suspicions to have grounds in fact, I thought that the quickest way to get full DD-WRT support for the USR5465 and its "one-port twin" the USR5455 would be to simply provide the missing code myself, which I am happy to do (see below). The new code should add little overhead to the firmware, and if need be, I could help save some bytes and CPU cycles elsewhere to compensate for the addition. If this not the appropriate way to do this, I trust that others will kindly direct me how I should do otherwise. And by all means do point out any errors; that’s why I put this before the public.