D-Link DIR-615 D2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 65, 66, 67  Next
Author Message
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
liverpoolatnight wrote:
Sash wrote:
try to flash the EAP-9550 build


Dont get you? EAP-9550

what that under?


I did a bit of guessword with Sash's vauge contribution. It's a router model created by a company called EnGenius.. I'm guessing the hardware is similar or something.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Senao_.2F_EnGenius

Either way.. I couldn't EAP-9550 v.24 sp2 - build 13055 on the website and I wouldn't know what to do with it if I did. So, Sash, I ask again, what can I do to get this working?

I'll be honest here.. I'm getting a little impatient with this. Can anybody be bothered to get this working? I'd love to have another DD-WRT router around the house, but if nobody can be arsed, then I'll just throw it away.

Norm
Sponsor
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 174
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrnorm wrote:
liverpoolatnight wrote:
Sash wrote:
try to flash the EAP-9550 build


Dont get you? EAP-9550

what that under?


I did a bit of guessword with Sash's vauge contribution. It's a router model created by a company called EnGenius.. I'm guessing the hardware is similar or something.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Senao_.2F_EnGenius

Either way.. I couldn't EAP-9550 v.24 sp2 - build 13055 on the website and I wouldn't know what to do with it if I did. So, Sash, I ask again, what can I do to get this working?

I'll be honest here.. I'm getting a little impatient with this. Can anybody be bothered to get this working? I'd love to have another DD-WRT router around the house, but if nobody can be arsed, then I'll just throw it away.

Norm


ahhhhhhh

_________________
TP-Link TL-WDR3600v1 DD-WRT v24-sp2 (06/23/14) std (SVN revision 24461) Main AP
D-Link DIR-615 D2: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/18/14) std (SVN revision 23919) Second AP
ISP: Virgin Media, Cable/Fibre Optic, Upto 152Mb/12Mb
j911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 18:38    Post subject: It works!!! Reply with quote
Having looked at the dd-wrt device table i noticed the dir-615 is the same as a dir-600.

Follow the instructions here for flashing

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DIR-600

as it says you'll need the web factory version. I followed first set of instructions. You'll need toe to hex edit the router id string using xvi32 or anyother editor and change it from 600 to 615 and replace the b at the end with 00 in the code. Already done in the attachment below.

Had a problem port forwarding as the ranges weren't working say i wanted 15000 to 15001 forwarded i had to do individual forwards for each, rest is working fine after 20 mins of testing ...
nicweb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 23:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works on HW Rev. D1
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:52    Post subject: Re: It works!!! Reply with quote
Hey j911,

Thanks for the input and thank you so much for doing that attachment. I will have a go tonight and let you know what the result is!

Cheers,
Norm
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6113
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
here the official one with updated model string
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
Zeier
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 0:24    Post subject: hw Rev D1? Reply with quote
nicweb: What do you mean with "Works on HW Rev. D1"?
What did you flash? Did you modify some image?

Eric

edit: I just tried to flash your attachment on my D1 and it works! (I think that's what you meant, nicweb)

edit2: In dd-wrt, it gets reported as rev.B, but I think that's hardcoded, not read out from hw, right?
singlecell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will the 615 work as a wireless bridge, or just a wireless repeater like the 600?
cabsandy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys,
I have a DIR-615 which I want to stick DD-WRT on. I have a few so not afraid of bricking them Wink
I've download the factory and the dd-wrt web flashes from the attachments above but when I go through the web page and upload the image (I've tried both) the router comes back with "The chosen file is not a valid firmware image file."

I've looked at the instructions-I take it I dont need to do the hex conversion as that is already covered in these attachments? On the bottom of the router is says "HW/ver D2" Firmware " 1.00VG".

I got it as a freebie from Virgin Media.Any help would be apprieciated.

ta

**update**-should have tried this but used the Emergency Room Web Interface and it worked first time. Looks great and now away to have a play. I will update on how stable it is and how things go

cheers guys
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey cabsandy,

How did you get yours into Emergency Room?

I pushed my reset in for 3-5 secs, tried 192.168.0.1 on the web interface and I just get nothing till the router boots with the login screen.

EDIT: Actually, scrap that question. I used j911's attachment and got it working without having to use Emergency Room.

Everything appears to be working okay! The power light goes off after a little while .. Not sure why that is.. Everything is great though! Quicker than my WRT54G!

Cheers,
Norm
j911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 22:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks brainslayer for the official mods

Mine has been running fine since posting of this thread, well impressed as i can hit 60Mbit+ now on my 50Mbit connection Very Happy

My trusty old wrt54gs v1.1 would max out at 30Mbit (it will be sorely missed)
cabsandy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I managed to flash 3 of these routers as I want to try out WDS/Mesh. First impressions are they work ok as an AP but I spent hours last night trying to get 2 of them to talk to each other via WDS-no joy. There was some weird bridging going on ( connecting wireless to Router A I was getting the DHCP IP address from Router B!)But when I went to look at status/Wireless page there was nothing showing up on the page to say it was connected.I tried LAN and Lazy WDS but nothing concrete.
However, when I then used a WRT54G flashed with DD-WRT, it was picking up the WDS signal from one of the D-Link-but nothing again on the D-Link page ;-(
The other thing I noticed was that when WDS was enabled, it became very diffcult to get an IP address wireless=on ethernet, it was fine

So in summary, it looks good on the face of it but as for using them in a mesh/WDS enviroment,not very hopeful.Any tips/tricks please send them my way! Wink
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
One thing I did notice (and this might be me) is the wireless client/wireless repeater bridged modes aren't working correctly for me. Anybody else know of this?
cabsandy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 15:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrnorm wrote:
One thing I did notice (and this might be me) is the wireless client/wireless repeater bridged modes aren't working correctly for me. Anybody else know of this?


Ill check this out-I think this didn't work for me either last night.I didn't get to bed till 0130 so I was a bit frazzled! Shocked
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm yeah .. I think this particular hardware setup has a little bit of a problem with client-based modes. I think I stumbled across something in the wiki about it.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 65, 66, 67  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 67
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum