Asus RT-N16 now supported

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 95, 96, 97  Next
Author Message
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Masterman wrote:
Also, if you read further back you will notice that the firewall blocks UPnP responses,


UPnP resides within your LAN and is not intended to be routed!
That there is something wrong with UPnP and K26 is quite clear from WRT320 but that has nothing to do with firewalling UPnP packets.
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10909
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Masterman wrote:


Look at the load average, and my screenshots..


Can you describe what Load Average measures?
What are the limits, and what does it mean if you are exceeding them?


The load average is a ratio of free clock cycles to clock cycles that are performing a function for the router. If you have the CPU just clocking away not doing any major processing your CPU load average will be low....but if your processor is trying to do too much, some processes have to take a back seat to higher priority processes...this is where you can actually see the load average over 1.00 (100% utilitzed clock cycles)...the processes in waiting will show above the 1.00 limit.

There are 3 load average numbers...the first on the left is the load average over the previous one minute....then middle number is the load average over the previous 5 minutes, and the last number on the right is the load average over the previous 15 minutes.

hope it helps.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I didn't ask you red, I asked him if he knew. Wink

I can add to redhawks description that 1.15 is the limit where a process has to wait for being serviced so the range is 0 - 1.15.
Multiply that value with the number of cpu cores to get the critical value, ie 5 cores then 5.75 is where processes has to wait for service.

I think the 4716-4718 cpu's has more cores than previous mips cpu's so it may well be that the load average doesn't show correct values for WRT320N and RT-N16.

It is therefore that I rather trust the top commands output for individual processes and the total for user,system, irq, sirq, and nic than believing in the load average figures.

Edit:
The best explanation I could find on the net for those obfuscated variables:
http://www.teamquest.com/resources/gunther/display/5/index.htm


Last edited by LOM on Tue Nov 24, 2009 14:46; edited 2 times in total
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10909
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry...I thought you were asking in general....and that is good info on the 4716-4718 processors....I learned something new today too....thanx.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
I think the 4716-4718 cpu's has more cores than previous mips cpu's so it may well be that the load average doesn't show correct values for WRT320N and RT-N16.

I don't think any broadcom's wifi chips are multi-core. They clearly list some of their high-end enterprise/data center chips as being dual/quad core but the wifi chips have no such designation.

http://www.broadcom.com/products/applications/Access-Points

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just replaced my Linksys WRT54G WDS-bridge with an RT16N. A 2nd RT16N is on its way which will replace the WAN-router. The first thing I noticed was the slow wireless link I'm having with my WL-500G Premium.

After bringing power down from 71 mW to 20 mW its speed went up to the full 54 Mbps...

Some programs don't run properly. fdisk -l without a devicename doesn't give you all the partition which is normal behaviour. swapon -s doesn't work either.



sshot-85.png
 Description:
71 mW - 1 ~5.5 Mbps
 Filesize:  27.03 KB
 Viewed:  34471 Time(s)

sshot-85.png



sshot-88.png
 Description:
20 mW - 54 Mbps
 Filesize:  19.78 KB
 Viewed:  34471 Time(s)

sshot-88.png



_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
delphin460
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi guys

have the n16 here and have installed the firmware

initial thoughts and tests

upnp doesnt work as suggested

changing wireless power from 71mw makes the wireless die , goes from 300M to 13.5M

web gui is also unstable

cant get my hdd to mount at all , this was working perfectly with the standard asus firmware

keep up the good work , early days

thanks again

pete
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11198

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
UPnP appears to be a substantial issue with K26 builds like this, and likely needs a separate discussion that focuses on that issue, so I have split those discussions to here:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=61674

Please continue UPnP discussions relating to the k26 kernel in that thread.

Also, the general "discussion" of the Rt-N16 appears to have been locked. I have started a new thread that will be moderated to discuss this router aside from the build related discussion.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=61675

So please report dd-wrt running 13297 on this router only in this thread.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Gregor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
13309 works fine on RT-N16 and USB mount as well with no problems.

Code:
Disk Info
--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 3.781 GiB (4059561984 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 3.781 GiB (4059514368 bytes, 7928739 sectors from 63)
Type 0x0B (Win95 FAT32)
FAT32 file system (hints score 5 of 5)
Volume size 3.773 GiB (4051582976 bytes, 989156 clusters of 4 KiB)
Volume name "MUSICFLY"
Status: Mounted on /mnt


EDIT : but....

Code:
CPU
CPU ModelBroadcom BCM4716 chip rev 1  CPU Clock480 MHz Load Average 100%  1.00, 1.00, 1.00


Last edited by Gregor on Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:25; edited 1 time in total
lupine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Edit : now seems to be working. Didn't really do anything to fix it, just reboots as part of OpenVPN setup, and now OK. So possibly false alarm.

I've just noticed that my scheduled reboot isn't working. cron is enabled, and the router is getting the right time via NTP.

cron is running according to top, and the cron jobs are actually located in /tmp/cron.d, they just don't seem to be getting run.


DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/23/09) big - build 13297M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko on Asus RT-N16

_________________
D-Link DIR-300
Asus RT-N16
Asus WL-500gPv2
Linksys WRT54GL 1.1
Way too much time.


Last edited by lupine on Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:31; edited 1 time in total
stevocz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 70
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
1. when i run multicast (iptv or radio) on LAN, internet on wifi die (CPU load 9%), after 2 minits wifi conection die (LED lights but can not connect). when stop multicast wifi come to life.

during run multicast can not connect to wifi.
i try on 13297 big and 13309 mini

2. wifi speed:
i test speed to internet. LAN 64/64Mbit downoload/upload
WIFI only 15Mbit
in router set mixed mod speed. current rate 54Mbit, TX power 17mW
in official asus firmware i have 20Mbit on wifi

3. support for asus ddns?

4.how can i print on 13297 big?
i enable USB suports, JFFS2 but not printing,...
I installed according to http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/USB_on_ASUS_WL500GPV2
but wrt not detect me printer (missing /dev/usb
folder)
on original asus firmware print.

what needs to be set? HP photosmart 7150

EDIT:
printer installed:
Code:
1. Enable USB support and JFFS2 in Web GUI
2. Make sure the printer is loaded by runnig "dmesg | grep printer" (without the quotes) in Telnet
3. Run "ipkg update" (without quotes) in Telnet. If it gives some error go and disable, enable and clean JFFS2 a few times until it works.
4. Install printer server by running "ipkg install p910nd" (without quotes) in Telnet.
5. Run the following commands in Telnet one by one:

cd /jffs/etc
mkdir config
cd config
echo "/jffs/usr/sbin/p910nd -b -f /dev/usb/lp0 0" > usb.startup
chmod +x usb.startup

6. Now reboot the router by typing "reboot" (without quotes) and it should load the p910nd print server when it boots up. To verify the print server is loaded run:

ps | grep p910


root@stevo:~# ps | grep p910
1053 root 788 S /jffs/usr/sbin/p9100d -b -f /dev/usb/lp0 0

root@stevo:~# netstat -an | grep 910
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:9100 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN


but when i print document, list of print is empty and no print:-(

_________________
RT-N16 back to asus firmware - dd-wrt is very unstable for this router with atheros clients
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello
thank you for RT-N16 support.

Nut why you save old limit for 4096 connections in NAT table / open ports ?
N16 has powerful copu and can handle much more active NAT sessions.
zorxd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Question to developers : where to you get the driver for the wireless adapter? If it's a binary driver in the official asus firmware, how to you get it to work with your custom kernel for openwrt?

thanks
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
root@WDS:~# # ifconfig
root@WDS:~# : error fetching interface information: Device not found

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
knodi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 1:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it me or is the USB transfer really slow like 2 MB/s max
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 95, 96, 97  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 97
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum