How to reduce the default buffer size in DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Knomax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:49    Post subject: How to reduce the default buffer size in DD-WRT Reply with quote
Hello..as title says..
How to reduce the default buffer size in DD-WRT???
There's some command i can put in Administration-->Commands to run at start up??

I want it for gaming to reduce bufferbloat...or recommended settings to investigate?

_________________
Tp-Link WR-1043ND v3
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r30681 std (09/22/16)
Sponsor
Psyxroid
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2016
Posts: 72
Location: Midwest, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Enable QoS, use FQ_CODEL with either HFSC or HTB. Make sure to set the upload/values correctly based on your internet provider speeds.
Test before and after applying the QoS settings here http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest?httpsok=0 to make sure you are getting optimum results.

_________________
Buffalo WZR‑600DHP (WZR-HP-AG300H)
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 4687
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
txquenelen, which wont do anything. u use qos, use fq_codel, if the router doesnt have that on latest build then use sfq, use htb if ur wan speed is 50mbps or lower, if above then use hfsc
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30700M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30709 std (private test)
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30709 std (private test)
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30605 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers



Never forget mm/cl/AM..
Knomax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
My line is 24Mbps for download and 1024 Mbps for upload.
I already use QOS with HTB and Fq_Codel...

Which is the last working beta for upload under 1Mbps?
My problem is that i have terrible lag spikes in upload.

Can you remember which is the last working to try it?
For download everything works great.

_________________
Tp-Link WR-1043ND v3
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r30681 std (09/22/16)
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1089
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
for testing purposes try to limit upload to 700kbps and then do http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest
_________________
TL-WR1043ND v2.1
GL.iNet-AR150
TL-WR740N v4.27

HOW TO: Passive FTP on DD-WRT with CT helpers
DD-WRT enhanced security
HOW TO:Hotspotsystem
Knomax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nothing change...i have done several tests.
As i understand without any technical knowledge..simply as i understand it what i see.

So...i set upload at 700kbps which is my 81% of total upload speed.

When i start a test in Dslreports it seems to be QOS is disabled for 2-3 seconds ..boost my speed above the limit i have set..700.

Then it starts dropping and rising between 600-650 and 730-850!

Somehow when it rising above the limit it "slash" the connection to be "near" the limit...but it "slash" the connection very much...so "it" try to increase the coonection again to be "below" the limit of 700kbps..but QOS rise it too much.

And again "slash" the connection....and so on.

This scenario applies from the beginning of test and stops near below the end of test and shows in graph the upload speed that i have near the limit of 700kbps!!!!

I hope you don't misunderstood me.

_________________
Tp-Link WR-1043ND v3
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r30681 std (09/22/16)
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1089
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
when you do the speedtest with QoS disabled, what UL speed do you get? and which ddwrt build do you use for testing?
_________________
TL-WR1043ND v2.1
GL.iNet-AR150
TL-WR740N v4.27

HOW TO: Passive FTP on DD-WRT with CT helpers
DD-WRT enhanced security
HOW TO:Hotspotsystem
Knomax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
With Qos disabled i make some tests in Speedtest.net....then i take the lowest price of them for upload...etc i have done 4 tests...first test says 866kbps..second 864..third 868..and the last 869.

So i take the 864kbps and i enter 81% of this..which as you suggested is 700kbps.

I am in r30631.

I don't think i am doing something wrong.

_________________
Tp-Link WR-1043ND v3
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r30681 std (09/22/16)
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1089
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
you are doing everything fine, but I'm just trying ti figure it out what is wrong. I have same hardware (mine is v2 but they are identical CPUs/ram/flash wifi card etc)... my upload is 1024kbps and I get like you 850-870... I am using 700kbps limit in QoS and I get A on buff test... without QoS I get F... I have problem with DL tests... ping goes in spikes to 200ms... I am using eth connection from PC to router...
_________________
TL-WR1043ND v2.1
GL.iNet-AR150
TL-WR740N v4.27

HOW TO: Passive FTP on DD-WRT with CT helpers
DD-WRT enhanced security
HOW TO:Hotspotsystem
Knomax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 28
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 17:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Like you i have wired my pc to router with..i run Ubuntu in my pc.
When i do buff test i have lag spikes from 1ms to 570ms..then 0ms..400ms...1ms to 300ms...and so on.

But in graph for upload it starts sometimes with 2Mbps or more for upload speed!!!!!

And then drops.

I check it with different router from my ISP and it does the same issue.

Maybe the fault is by ISP side but i want to be sure that it is not a bug in DD-WRT.

How can i explain this to ISP to resolve the problem?

_________________
Tp-Link WR-1043ND v3
Firmware:DD-WRT v3.0-r30681 std (09/22/16)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum