Unbrick / Install WRT610N V1&V2 using TFTP and DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
patmuk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confirm that as well … EKO is right - it is all about the timing.
So:
(1) unplug all ethernet-cables (only power cable should be pluged-in)
(2) unplug power cable
(3) plug in power cable and
(4) press reset after 2-2,5 seconds
(5) hold it pressed 5 seconds
(6) plug in ethernet cable
(7) address is given by DHCP
(Cool point browser to 192.168.1.1
(9) update any firmware

if (7) does not give DHCP-Address then restart process …

it might be helpful to ping 192.168.1.1 in order to see, if the router is in maintainance-mode.
Sponsor
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:39    Post subject: I'm not be able to debrick wrt610n v2 Reply with quote
Hi to all...
i'm writing here because i have done a mistake... I don't have read the wiki for dd-wrt firmware installation forthis router and now my new wrt610n v2 is bricked...
I was been a stupid! Embarassed

i have uploaded directly this image:
http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24_TNG/svn13401/NEWD-2/dd-wrt.v24-13401_NEWD-2_big.bin

using the linksys web interface...
Now the router, after powered on, has power-led still blinking. I have try the 30/30/30 procedure and to press reset in 2 - 2.5s after plugging power on without success...

I have seen that the router is pingable for 3-4 seconds after relaeased the reset, so i think that isn't a very hard brick, but no one web interface is reachable.

Is it possibile to debrick using the serial console?
I have opened the router and finded the serial port. I have an rs232 chip to make a serial adapter connector, but.. What are the commands to recover the router via serial console? is it possible to make it going in recovery mode? AND, VERY IMPORTANT, What is the first correct firmware to upload and from where ( linksys web interface, recovery interface, never seen from me )?

P.S. ( i already have an Asus wl 500 gpv2 with dd-wrt, and was thinking to update the firmware in the same way for this wrt610n... i'm not a newbie... but, it's true, i have done a mistake in "newbie style" ) Smile
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upload right build using recovery GUI.
_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it possible to activate the recovery gui using the serial port? My problem is that i'm not be able to reach the recovery GUI
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
sure... but activating recovery gui is simple.
Read carefully how to do it. Unplugging all lan/wan cables is a must too.

_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have try 100 times to reset the unit with reset button... but with no success. Unplugging wan/eth cables etc... Crying or Very sad
If you could tell me the command to send to the router wheh i will in serial console shuld be very appreciated.
Crying or Very sad
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is really easy to flash using recovery GUI Smile YOu can do it... it is all in timing.
- Disconnect all cables.
- plug power
- count 2 s (or 2.5 Smile )
- press reset - keep it pressed for 6s, release.
- plug lan cable
- open 192.168.1.1

_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
sstaible
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 13:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, if I got it right the web-based recovery should still work with V2!?
I'll give it another try. Maybe my timing was wrong.

Thank you Eko for your support!
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
It is really easy to flash using recovery GUI Smile YOu can do it... it is all in timing.
- Disconnect all cables.
- plug power
- count 2 s (or 2.5 Smile )
- press reset - keep it pressed for 6s, release.
- plug lan cable
- open 192.168.1.1


I have try this exact sequence but the web interface isn't reachable, after waiting about 2+6 seconds( or more ). The router isn't pingable after connecting the cable, even if the led of lan is blinking when connected in all 4 LAN ports.
Any suggests?
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you set your computer to static ip?
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, sure.
192.168.1.10 FYI.
Is it sure that the recovery is presents in v2 router?

But i need only the command to send via console to my router. I'm bulding a serial connector. So i'd like to have one of those two knowledge:

1) how to enable / re-enable recovery GUI via serial console

OR

2) how to recover/flash a firmware (what ? ) via tftp
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
1) you plug in power and keep tapping ctrl + c
2) flash -ctheader : flash1.trx
then start tftp transfer

_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Antiviruses and firewalls disabled? Including windows built-in firewall..

I don't have the commands, but I'm trying to help the way I can...
pizzulicchio
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Location: Florence (ITALY)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanky you eko and fggs for yours great support!
( and i'm sorry if my request/question is sometime stupid )

1) where is possible to download flash1.trx?
2) At this link : http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54216 is written that sending those commands via serial console

nvram set safe_mode_upgrade=on
nvram commit
reboot

i will be able to reach the web gui for firmware update. Is it sure/confirmed?
(thanks again for patience )
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
you don't need flash1.trx, this is command.
_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum