Everything you Ever Wanted to know about XBox connections

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
Rickasaurus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 20:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I recently upgraded from a WRT54G running v24sp1 to a WRT160Nv3 and am running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/25/09) mini - build 13309M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko. With the 54G I never had any problems with UPNP and XBox Live. Never did anything special.

Now with the new firmware/router I seem to get open for the first couple of days after a restart but soon it goes back to moderate. I tried adding static leases but it didn't help. Any other ideas besides manual forwarding? I sometimes have friends over with other xboxes and like for them to be able to get on with open NAT too.
Sponsor
hellsatan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Elezar wrote:
I had the same problem that several other people have mentioned, where the media sharing wasn't working. I did some checks with Wireshark on both sides of the bridge, and I could see that the SSDP packets weren't making it across the bridge. Considering I had bought this router specifically to have one that was DD-WRT compatible, so I could use for this purpose, it was very frustrating.

After fighting with it for almost 2 full days, I finally got it working with the craziest solution. I unchecked the "Assign WAN port to switch" option. I have no clue why that helped. Maybe having the extra VLAN in the bridge caused some confusion. I'm not sure if this will work for everyone, but it was a completely reproducible solution for me.


You are correct my friend! unchecked that and bam. I can play movies on my xbox now! thank you very very much for this great info!
Phonix
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Dusseldorf - Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 21:31    Post subject: Xbox straming and all this S**t Reply with quote
It doesn't work for me had it setup like this from the beginning it have a different purpose anyhow but i'm happy it's working for you guys for me stiLl the same
MEDIA CENTER NOT WORKING ONLY CONNECTION TO XBOX LIVE
Zelda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any instructions on how to make Open NAT's on 2 xbox's on the same router? I have tried upnp, and port triggering. doesnt seem to do anything.
Luppers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zelda wrote:
Is there any instructions on how to make Open NAT's on 2 xbox's on the same router? I have tried upnp, and port triggering. doesnt seem to do anything.
Someone might have the answer - But I've tried about every configuration imaginable and have been unable to have both xboxes ready open NAT. If I powercycle my router and turn just one of them on, it's open. But after the second has been turned on, both read moderate.

I recall reading something that said something about it being next to impossible to do w/ XBL's settings. As both xboxes will be attempting to access the same ports, hence the nat problems.
Ashtonhz8907
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luppers wrote:
Zelda wrote:
Is there any instructions on how to make Open NAT's on 2 xbox's on the same router? I have tried upnp, and port triggering. doesnt seem to do anything.
Someone might have the answer - But I've tried about every configuration imaginable and have been unable to have both xboxes ready open NAT. If I powercycle my router and turn just one of them on, it's open. But after the second has been turned on, both read moderate.

I recall reading something that said something about it being next to impossible to do w/ XBL's settings. As both xboxes will be attempting to access the same ports, hence the nat problems.


Not sure about that I've been running 2 360's for the past year over XBL for me and my wife we join the same party, the same room, even host a room and join it with the other Xbox. As for the sharing issue we were running fine for the first month when we got Windows 7 and one day our PC magically disapeared from our Xboxs I've tried opening all ports and such disabling firewalls even removed anti-virus software, the Xboxes shows up on my PC, my network is private blah blah blah LOL its getting annoying....................
Luppers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ashtonhz8907 wrote:
Not sure about that I've been running 2 360's for the past year over XBL for me and my wife we join the same party, the same room, even host a room and join it with the other Xbox. As for the sharing issue we were running fine for the first month when we got Windows 7 and one day our PC magically disapeared from our Xboxs I've tried opening all ports and such disabling firewalls even removed anti-virus software, the Xboxes shows up on my PC, my network is private blah blah blah LOL its getting annoying....................
Oh, I'm not saying there is any actual problems w/ running multiple Xboxs on one network. But for instance, MW2 shows your NAT when you go to the XBL Multiplayer screen. EVERY time I turn on a second Xbox on the network, I go from open to moderate. That being said I have seen 100% no additional problems when NAT is 'moderate' in MW2 compared to open.

But yeah, Im not saying there is an actual problem, but your Xbox reads your Nat @ moderate when you have multiple boxes that tap XBL.
Luppers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
hellsatan wrote:
Elezar wrote:
I had the same problem that several other people have mentioned, where the media sharing wasn't working. I did some checks with Wireshark on both sides of the bridge, and I could see that the SSDP packets weren't making it across the bridge. Considering I had bought this router specifically to have one that was DD-WRT compatible, so I could use for this purpose, it was very frustrating.

After fighting with it for almost 2 full days, I finally got it working with the craziest solution. I unchecked the "Assign WAN port to switch" option. I have no clue why that helped. Maybe having the extra VLAN in the bridge caused some confusion. I'm not sure if this will work for everyone, but it was a completely reproducible solution for me.


You are correct my friend! unchecked that and bam. I can play movies on my xbox now! thank you very very much for this great info!
This worked for me too.

I was having to leave my Xbox on the select media source screen for 5-10mins before I could access my media server on modem side of a bridged network. Unchecked that box and BAM! - 100% perfect. Now I can stream full 1080p to my large livingroom TV instead of my 32in dude room TV.

Thanks a TON!!
Ashtonhz8907
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 21:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luppers wrote:
hellsatan wrote:
Elezar wrote:
I had the same problem that several other people have mentioned, where the media sharing wasn't working. I did some checks with Wireshark on both sides of the bridge, and I could see that the SSDP packets weren't making it across the bridge. Considering I had bought this router specifically to have one that was DD-WRT compatible, so I could use for this purpose, it was very frustrating.

After fighting with it for almost 2 full days, I finally got it working with the craziest solution. I unchecked the "Assign WAN port to switch" option. I have no clue why that helped. Maybe having the extra VLAN in the bridge caused some confusion. I'm not sure if this will work for everyone, but it was a completely reproducible solution for me.


You are correct my friend! unchecked that and bam. I can play movies on my xbox now! thank you very very much for this great info!
This worked for me too.

I was having to leave my Xbox on the select media source screen for 5-10mins before I could access my media server on modem side of a bridged network. Unchecked that box and BAM! - 100% perfect. Now I can stream full 1080p to my large livingroom TV instead of my 32in dude room TV.

Thanks a TON!!


Where is this option?
Zelda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 22:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ashtonhz8907 wrote:
Luppers wrote:
Zelda wrote:
Is there any instructions on how to make Open NAT's on 2 xbox's on the same router? I have tried upnp, and port triggering. doesnt seem to do anything.
Someone might have the answer - But I've tried about every configuration imaginable and have been unable to have both xboxes ready open NAT. If I powercycle my router and turn just one of them on, it's open. But after the second has been turned on, both read moderate.

I recall reading something that said something about it being next to impossible to do w/ XBL's settings. As both xboxes will be attempting to access the same ports, hence the nat problems.


Not sure about that I've been running 2 360's for the past year over XBL for me and my wife we join the same party, the same room, even host a room and join it with the other Xbox. As for the sharing issue we were running fine for the first month when we got Windows 7 and one day our PC magically disapeared from our Xboxs I've tried opening all ports and such disabling firewalls even removed anti-virus software, the Xboxes shows up on my PC, my network is private blah blah blah LOL its getting annoying....................


Well I have 2xboxes and 2 copies of MWF2. There have been people saying theres a way to get 2 open NAT's on xbox. I have tried one wired, and the other wireless. I dont think comcast will give you a second IP address. That maybe the only way to get it to run two open NAT's
Ashtonhz8907
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zelda wrote:
Ashtonhz8907 wrote:
Luppers wrote:
Zelda wrote:
Is there any instructions on how to make Open NAT's on 2 xbox's on the same router? I have tried upnp, and port triggering. doesnt seem to do anything.
Someone might have the answer - But I've tried about every configuration imaginable and have been unable to have both xboxes ready open NAT. If I powercycle my router and turn just one of them on, it's open. But after the second has been turned on, both read moderate.

I recall reading something that said something about it being next to impossible to do w/ XBL's settings. As both xboxes will be attempting to access the same ports, hence the nat problems.


Not sure about that I've been running 2 360's for the past year over XBL for me and my wife we join the same party, the same room, even host a room and join it with the other Xbox. As for the sharing issue we were running fine for the first month when we got Windows 7 and one day our PC magically disapeared from our Xboxs I've tried opening all ports and such disabling firewalls even removed anti-virus software, the Xboxes shows up on my PC, my network is private blah blah blah LOL its getting annoying....................


Well I have 2xboxes and 2 copies of MWF2. There have been people saying theres a way to get 2 open NAT's on xbox. I have tried one wired, and the other wireless. I dont think comcast will give you a second IP address. That maybe the only way to get it to run two open NAT's


Just checked with both GTs online and both Xboxs say open wish I knew how to help but all I did is enable UPnP on my dd-wrt linksys wrt54g v.3 router. So don't give up it is possible.
Ashtonhz8907
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.xboxliveaddicts.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=24341

http://en.kioskea.net/forum/affich-32140-i-cant-play-online-with-2-xbox-360-why

Not sure if those will help but from what I see try enabling UPnP and put the other Xbox on DMZ.
GodStang
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hopefully someone can help me. I am running a D-Link DIR-825 main router with a Linksys WRT54GS using dd-wrt as the "Repeater" and connectiong my Xbox with cat 6 cable to the Linksys. My two main OS are Windows 7 Ultimate and Windows XP Pro SP 3 both hardwired to the D-Link.

1) My first problem is I have my main router set to 192.168.0.1 with range being 192.168.0.10 to 192.168.0.68. When I set the repeater to anything 192.168.0.X I can not connect to Xbox Live. As soon as I change it to something like 192.168.69.1 Xbox Live connects right up. How can I get the Repeater to be set to a 192.168.0.X and work. I was told that this might help me connect to share media.

2) Second problem is no matter what my settings are I can not get it to connect to Windows Media Player 11 or to Windows Media Center or to TVersity on either Desktop.
Zelda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
good luck. I dont understand how it just works. its complete garbage. I have tried everything. UPNP, manual ip set, port triggering, dmz and i have reset the modem, router a dozen times.
I am using a wrt54gv4 I have been unable to get this to work period. I have comcast too, if that matters. any more suggestions?
GodStang
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
GodStang wrote:
Hopefully someone can help me. I am running a D-Link DIR-825 main router with a Linksys WRT54GS using dd-wrt as the "Repeater" and connectiong my Xbox with cat 6 cable to the Linksys. My two main OS are Windows 7 Ultimate and Windows XP Pro SP 3 both hardwired to the D-Link.

1) My first problem is I have my main router set to 192.168.0.1 with range being 192.168.0.10 to 192.168.0.68. When I set the repeater to anything 192.168.0.X I can not connect to Xbox Live. As soon as I change it to something like 192.168.69.1 Xbox Live connects right up. How can I get the Repeater to be set to a 192.168.0.X and work. I was told that this might help me connect to share media.

2) Second problem is no matter what my settings are I can not get it to connect to Windows Media Player 11 or to Windows Media Center or to TVersity on either Desktop.



Ok I swtiched everything to a Repeater Bridge http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_bridge from Repeater and now everything works great and still get HD on netflix even with it halved.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum