Force 10 mbit full duplex

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
camjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 18:21    Post subject: Force 10 mbit full duplex Reply with quote
Hi!

I would like to force the wan link to 10 mbit full duplex, tried with the checkboxes under vlan as stated here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=556

But it won't work. Can I see link state with any cli command, and/or a change it through cli. I know it's possible with mii-tool, but is it possible to install it? how?

Running firmware DD-WRT v23 SP2 (09/15/06) mini on a WRT54GL

Thanks in advance
Sponsor
dmgks
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 21:00    Post subject: Re: Force 10 mbit full duplex Reply with quote
camjo wrote:
I would like to force the wan link to 10 mbit full duplex


I used:
Code:
ifconfig eth1 media 10baseTX
camjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Doesn't work :/

On my old (*bsd) router I just entered "ifconfig eth1 media 10BaseT/UTP mediaopt full-duplex" and before that, on my linux router i used "mii-tool -F 10baseT-FD eth1". Both worked fine.
But now, on the wrt, it doesn't seem to work.
Can I view the current media state? (ifconfig doesn't show media state)
Is it possible to install mii-tool?
dmgks
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 22:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
Doesn't work :/

Hmph... Works on my wrtsl54gs with v24. Don't know whether it's v24-specific or wrtsl54gs-specific. Sorry. Sad
sophana
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I thought that 10mbit ethernet is always half duplex.
_________________
Regards
http://worldspot.net , the definitive hotspot management system.
Chillispot and DD-WRT compatible.
CaScAdE
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1110
Location: Kiel (54.4247,10.1721)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
sophana wrote:
I thought that 10mbit ethernet is always half duplex.


A full-duplex system allows communication in both directions, and unlike half-duplex allows this to happen simultaneously.
So you could name the full duplex version 20mbit, because you can send with 10mbit and receive with 10mbit, and the 100mbit full duplex 200mbit which would confuse people as the will never get that speed in one direction, so it officially goes along with 10mbit full duplex which describes the situation best: You can send 10mbit and receive 10mbit...

_________________
DD-WRT F.A.Q.

Webcam Kiel
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17412
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
aehm...

so i´ll do my best to clear up with things here.

afaik

the 10BaseT standard is a bus system (exactly as its derivates 10Base"whatever is existing out there") with csma/cd error correction. it uses 1 pair of wires to transmit information (via twisted pair or coax). so it is impossible to get into a "full duplex" mode cause in fd there must be an minimum 2 pairs of wires to receive and transmit simultaneously!

so if u check the boxes for fd, nothing will be changed (i think). in fakt the boxes should be not accessible (grey) when 10BaseT is used.
CaScAdE
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1110
Location: Kiel (54.4247,10.1721)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 13:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/10BaseT
10Base-T, IEEE 802.3i, – läuft über vier Adern (zwei verdrillte Paare) eines CAT-3 oder CAT-5-Kabels.

Which means it uses four wires...

_________________
DD-WRT F.A.Q.

Webcam Kiel
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17412
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
oh u´r right.

there r 2 pairs of wires in tp ethernet, but not in coax. there is still no fd in it cause of bus technologie (ever heard of collisions?) Wink and there is no "upgrade" when u r using swithches. 10BaseT is still 10BaseT. Rolling Eyes
schrottt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Wolfenbüttel

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash: Your informations are amazingly wrong.

You mix 10BaseT (CAT 3 or higher with RJ45-connectors) with 10Base2 (Coax Cable with BNC connectors). 10Base2 is indeed a bus, and therefore only halfduplex. But 10BaseT is only a logical bus if you use hubs. If you use switches the connections are point-to-point, so fullduplex is possible and used in most cases.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17412
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
schrottt wrote:
Sash: Your informations are amazingly wrong.


no its not at all...check the ieee 802.3 standart.

but...we´re both right...from an special point of view

Quote:

You mix 10BaseT (CAT 3 or higher with RJ45-connectors)...
8P8C-Jack its called correctly..
Quote:
with 10Base2 (Coax Cable with BNC connectors). 10Base2 is indeed a bus, and therefore only halfduplex ...
cause of the CSMA/CD...
Quote:
. But 10BaseT is only a logical bus if you use hubs.
Here we go again with the CSMA/CD...
Quote:
If you use switches..
or switched hubs..
Quote:
the connections are point-to-point, so fullduplex is possible and used in most cases.


i didnt mind that in switch mode there is no CSMA/CD so this was leading to my misunderstanding...sorry

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
camjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Since I couldn’t fix the problem I have now decided to order a 100 Mbit connection from my ISP. With the 100 Mbit connection they offer 'auto-negotiation' on the port, so I hope that will work better.

But please post a solution to the original problem if you have. (good if someone searches and find this thread...)
DummyPLUG
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
First of all, why you need to do so?
isn't the WRT54GL is a 10/100 port?
camjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I have the 10 Mbit service my ISP only offer 10 HD or 10 FD not 'auto-negotiation'. And because I want to use full duplex I need to force my end to FD. This worked fine when I was using my Linux and *BSD routers, but not with the WRT...

With the 100 Mbit serivce they offer HD, FD and 'auto-negotiation'...
Maxim
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
My problem is quite different but interfaces speed related.

I've a couple of WRT54G ( GL v1.1 and G 2.2) running wds on v.23 sp2.
On machine has internet RJ connected to isp router (remote office locked during weekend), and the other is connected to my home lan.

The switch connecting isp to wrt, sometime hang because speed negotiation, so I've think to fix speed and duplex in SETUP-VLANs panel, but...

... all speed settings present in this panel has no effect in real world ....

ps: linux command ifconfig ethx speed .etc... has no effect too

Any ideas (tested) ?

Thank you very much guys....
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum