Asus RT-N16 Load Equalization/Load Balance Help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 22:02    Post subject: Asus RT-N16 Load Equalization/Load Balance Help Reply with quote
This is my current setup:

I just purchased the 10mb connection for this purpose.

2 * Cable Connections (18mb down 1mb up) & (10mb down 1mb up)

1 * Asus RT-N16 Wireless router with dd-wrt.v24-13527_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin

Just want to know if this is still the best way to setup load equalization?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Dual-WAN_for_simple_round-robin_load_equalization

Thanks for the help.


Last edited by birnie on Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:30; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also found this looking around.

http://www.ezplanetone.com/xwiki/bin/view/Router/
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Also found this ticket http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/375

Last edited by birnie on Thu Dec 31, 2009 22:23; edited 1 time in total
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Further reading on this simple round robin found this
http://www.ezplanetone.com/xwiki/bin/view/Router/MultiHomedLB

This got me thinking that this would not work for me because round robin has no intelligent handling of traffic load and no rebalancing of connections if it becomes unbalanced. Seeing that im running a mixed connection speeds, 10mb and 18 mb, i think this is going to create a problem for me.

I started to look for the linux solution to this problem. All google hits pointed to http://www.linux-vs.org/software/index.html

Going through this site, i found a kb on what i think would be a great additon to ddwrt. http://kb.linuxvirtualserver.org/wiki/DSL_Load_Balancing

Is it possible to get something like that running on a Asus Rt-N16 somehow??? This would seem to provide more intelligent load balancing solution.

Thoughts anyone??
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 0:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anyone have the wiki round robin load balance running?
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 14:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can someone comment on there experiences with load balancing with ddwrt?
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 16:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gigabit switches only have basic VLAN support (the default VLAN's), you can not reconfigure them.
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this a hardware limitation or ddwrt software limitation?

Any suggestions on a multi-wan load equalization solution, that i would use with my RT-N16?

Thanks for the help.
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like the VLAN problem has been fixed with the new firmware, i noticed they can be changed in the gui now. I know not the most scientific way to determine.

Anyone try on this yet?
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
No it is not fixed, it merely displays the default assignments correctly. No firmware, not even stock, has the capability to reconfigure the port assignments for gigabit switches. It's been this way for over 2 years but I've never seen any conclusive info about whether it's a hardware or software problem.
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
So i did some reading and it turns out to be a lack of driver support for the BCM53115. This looks like its not going to be fixed anytime soon.

So... This brings me to my next big idea.

What i was thinking about was using a WHR-HP-G54 as a load balancing device only, and connect it to the WAN port on the RT-N16. Is it possible to setup some type of system that would DMZ all the connections from the WHR-HP-G54 to the RT-N16 so i can still use the RT-N16 to configure my network?

Any Ideas?
birnie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
More thinking.... :)

So is it possible to setup the whr-hp-g54 with load balancing & wired bridge to my RT-N16?

Im trying to think of a way to avoid having a double NAT.

Ideas?
devros
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 49
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
did you ever get this working?
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 22:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
devros wrote:
did you ever get this working?

VLAN's are working on gigabit models but it has to be configured manually with nvram variables.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

Eko posted a test build that fixed the VLAN GUI for my wrt320n but nobody else has tested it.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=485277#485277

Here's a list of models tested to have VLAN support.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Support

To do load balancing you would still need iptables built for k2.6 with the extra modules but I'm not sure if anyone has compiled it. It might be available with Optware but I don't know. If you can't find it then you'd have to make routing policies to send specific traffic out the 2nd WAN instead of round robin load balancing.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum