K26 Build Supported Router List

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 15:20    Post subject: K26 Build Supported Router List Reply with quote
Topic locked because it is no longer relevant. Please see this thread for more information.
- phuzi0n



We tried this yesterday but it got a bit out of control (my fault) discussing cfe mods to add support for K26 builds on certain routers. Another thread can be started about cfe mods to add support. For instance, a GL will run K26 with a modified cfe. Please do not add that to this thread.

This thread, it to develop a list of natively supported routers with the new K26 builds. In the last couple of weeks, many more routers are supported and it is a bit confusing to know what is and is not supported.

No neutered routers (2mb flash) units are supported.

Please add to this thread any routers that either are or are not supported by the K26 builds.


Are Supported:


Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16

Buffalo WHR-HP-G125
Buffalo WHR-G54S (redhawk - After 13525 there are many reports of bricks - not recommended)
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 (redhawk - After 13525 there are many reports of bricks - not recommended)

Linksys WRT54G-TM
Linksys WRT160N v1.1 / v3 (only)
Linksys WRT300N v1.1 (only)
Linksys WRT310N v1
Linksys WRT310N v2 (as of build 13594)
Linksys WRT320N v1
Linksys WRT610N v1 / v2
E1000 V1
E1000 V2
E1000 V2.1
E2000
E3000
E4200

Basically, all the newly supported routers

Netgear WNDR3300 (redhawk- 13575-however, I run G-only network, N not tested - since this build...it bricks....don't use K26 on this model after 13575)
Netgear WNR3500L
Netgear WNR3500U
Netgear WNR3500v2
Netgear WNR3500v2_VC





Are NOT supported:

Any router with only 2mb flash

Asus WL-500gP V2
Asus WL-520GC
Asus WL-520GU (redhawk)
Asus WL-500W (redhawk - However, Start reading here regarding the CFE for this unit...it is possible to run K26 with a CFE rewrite)
UPDATED Info regarding WL-500W

Buffalo WHR-G125
Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP

D-Link DIR-320

Linksys WRT54G v1 through v4
Linksys WRT54GL v1, v1.1
Linksys WRT54GS v1 through v4
Linksys WRT150n v1.1
Linksys WRT160n v1
Linksys WRT300n v1
Linksys WRT350n v1
Linksys WRT600n v1.1

Netgear WNR834b v1 /v2
Netgear WGR614L/V8


Last edited by barryware on Wed May 04, 2011 13:17; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7104

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 19:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am starting to see more clearly now why some routers doesn't work with K26 or doesn't work with NEWD-2.
The reason is the initial size of RAM for loading the Linux kernel.

Why is WRT160Nv1 listed as not working with K26, who has tested?
It must work, it has enough of initial RAM for both NEWD-2 and K26.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
shroomalistic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRT160Nv1.1 - dd-wrt.v24-13527_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini build working great.
_________________
WRT160Nv1.1 - dd-wrt.v24-13527_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini
socal87
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 943
Location: Here

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pretty much everything is now supported...2.6 has been ported to all builds except micro.
_________________
Click here for Eko beta
Click here for Brainslayer beta

>>>PEACOCK THREAD!<<<

Personal assistance is available but only if you give me money. And beer. Lots and lots of beer.

phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
socal87 wrote:
Pretty much everything is now supported...2.6 has been ported to all builds except micro.

This thread is about natively supported models which most G spec models and a few N spec models are not. Just because there's a build that fit on your flash does not mean that it will run. If you try it on a model not listed as working, you better have jtag/serial to recover.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
lowbudget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
WRT150N v1.1 = NOT SUPPORTED

At least not for me, I attempted to flash dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin and now it's a brick.

Did the 30/30/30 and notta. I don't have a jtag or anything of that sort, but hey, I had a spare wrt54gs v1 laying around so all is not lost, I just ordered a wrt320n off ebay for 63 dollars so I'm looking forward to that. I only used the 150 as a bridge so now I'm bridged at 54m not 270m like I've been used to on the desktop.

I'm going to attempt to flash my wrt300n v1.1 to 2.6 now.

<edit>

Flashed my wrt300n v1.1 to 13575M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko just fine. :)

</edit>
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10943
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
socal87 wrote:
Pretty much everything is now supported...2.6 has been ported to all builds except micro.


Be very careful about posting statements like this. This one is just plain untrue.

Not all routers will run K26 builds. Even models that are the same but have different versions....look at the 160n for example.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
SilverstarX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 16:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk, as I have to see, that the 520GU is stated as unsupported, can you please give me a hint why it is not supported?

Don't see the relations between the supported and not supported units yet.

_________________
DD-WRT network settings generator
http://yzy-oui-fi.com/home/yzy-dd-wrt-setting_beta/index.php?menu=main&lang=en
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10943
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
SilverstarX wrote:
redhawk, as I have to see, that the 520GU is stated as unsupported, can you please give me a hint why it is not supported?

Don't see the relations between the supported and not supported units yet.


I am unsure also. I tried to figure it out once but was unable to.

My current beliefs are the CFE is preventing the K26 to work...for example...the WRT54GL will not work with K26 as is...however, a WRT54G-TM will work. The TM's CFE has been modified for boardflags, memory size, etc and reflashed onto the GL unit...now the GL will work with the K26.

I thought the other day that because the 520GU will work with NEWD2 (BTW..the GL never did) that I could just give the NEWD2-K26 builds a try. I got NO wireless at all and it would not issue DHCP addresses automatically.

It required a serial connection and the Asus Recovery tool to fix it.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
techie1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 18:27    Post subject: K26 on Buffalo WHR-G125 Reply with quote
Installing dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin on my WHR-G125 bricked it. I was able to recover with tftp. You can add it to the unsupported list.
SilverstarX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
SilverstarX wrote:
redhawk, as I have to see, that the 520GU is stated as unsupported, can you please give me a hint why it is not supported?

Don't see the relations between the supported and not supported units yet.


I am unsure also. I tried to figure it out once but was unable to.

My current beliefs are the CFE is preventing the K26 to work...for example...the WRT54GL will not work with K26 as is...however, a WRT54G-TM will work. The TM's CFE has been modified for boardflags, memory size, etc and reflashed onto the GL unit...now the GL will work with the K26.

I thought the other day that because the 520GU will work with NEWD2 (BTW..the GL never did) that I could just give the NEWD2-K26 builds a try. I got NO wireless at all and it would not issue DHCP addresses automatically.

It required a serial connection and the Asus Recovery tool to fix it.

redhawk


Can you point me on a wiki article or something to recover the GU? I expect I have to use a levelshifter for serial, as on nearly every other device too?

_________________
DD-WRT network settings generator
http://yzy-oui-fi.com/home/yzy-dd-wrt-setting_beta/index.php?menu=main&lang=en
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7104

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
SilverstarX wrote:
redhawk, as I have to see, that the 520GU is stated as unsupported, can you please give me a hint why it is not supported?

Don't see the relations between the supported and not supported units yet.


I am unsure also. I tried to figure it out once but was unable to.

My current beliefs are the CFE is preventing the K26 to work...for example...the WRT54GL will not work with K26 as is...however, a WRT54G-TM will work. The TM's CFE has been modified for boardflags, memory size, etc and reflashed onto the GL unit...now the GL will work with the K26.

I thought the other day that because the 520GU will work with NEWD2 (BTW..the GL never did) that I could just give the NEWD2-K26 builds a try. I got NO wireless at all and it would not issue DHCP addresses automatically.

It required a serial connection and the Asus Recovery tool to fix it.

redhawk



You are right about the CFE preventing K26 or NEWD-2 to work and it is related to where in RAM the CFE is executing when loading the firmware.
There is just not a big enough unfragmented block of memory available for the bigger NEWD-2 and K26 builds in some CFE's, especially for the older routers but also for a few of the more recent.

Changing the CFE to one that is compatible with the router but gives a bigger load area for the firmware is one way of getting non-working routers to work with these builds but it is a risky operation to re-flash the CFE and one can easily end up with a completely bricked router where jtag (if available in the router) is the only way of recovery.
I understand that Eko is looking to find another solution than re-flashing CFE.

This memory problem accounts for the majority of the K26/NEWD-2 failure and can easily be seen with serial logging, nothing will happen after the line "Starting program at 0x80001000" .
I have checked most of Linksys CFE's now and can say for sure which routers wont support K26 or NEWD-2 and
also which ones that ought to work.

There may be other things than the fragmented memory preventing K26 to work, based on user reports but
it would be good if we could get a few routers confirmed from more than one user and done while logging serially so we can focus on where the problem is.
It is not for the faint hearted to test this, a working jtag is a must to have!!


Routers which have enough continuous memory are:
WRT150N v1.0 and v1.1
WRT160N v1.0
WL-500W, WL-500GP v1 and v2, WL-520GU.

Routers which wont work, do not bother to test:
WRT300N v1
WRT350N v1

I am looking for CFE's from WRT160N v1.1 and from both versions of WRT600N, please upload them in the CFE collection if you have any of them.


Edit:
I just recieved a WRT 160N v1.1 CFE, it is identical to a WRT160N v1.0 so both routers should work with K26 and NEWD-2.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already


Last edited by LOM on Sun Jan 03, 2010 20:25; edited 1 time in total
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2025
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am unable to determine if my WRT600n is a v1.1 or a v1.0. It does work with the NEWD2 builds that Brainslayer issues out. There is not any readily identifying marks that say it is a v1.1. Therefore, I am "assuming" it is a v1.0 and can use the K26 builds.
_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
SilverstarX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
What can I do for support of the GU? I have one unit here, NEWD-2 is running great on this device, but I didn't even tried a K26 build until I know of a safe way unbricking it.
_________________
DD-WRT network settings generator
http://yzy-oui-fi.com/home/yzy-dd-wrt-setting_beta/index.php?menu=main&lang=en
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
crashfly wrote:
I am unable to determine if my WRT600n is a v1.1 or a v1.0. It does work with the NEWD2 builds that Brainslayer issues out. There is not any readily identifying marks that say it is a v1.1. Therefore, I am "assuming" it is a v1.0 and can use the K26 builds.

Check the serial number. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linksys_routers#WRT600N

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 21
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum