install DD-WRT (v24sp2 v13525 20091228) On WZR-HP-G300NH

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
hkmemory
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 22:14    Post subject: install DD-WRT (v24sp2 v13525 20091228) On WZR-HP-G300NH Reply with quote
During the 28 of Dec, I found that Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH was supported by DD-WRT.Therefore i would like to try.
When i begin to flash the router, I found that there are three methods to install DDWRT. They are
Commad Line TFTP / Windows GUI TFTP / Upgrade on web.
But i found that all of them are won't work on WZR-HP-G300NH.
Is there any tutorial about install the DDWRT on Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH?

Thanks!
Sponsor
coaxmetal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where did you see that it is supported? I've been watching the change logs like a hawk for a few days now and haven't seen any support added for the wzr-hp-300nh.

Are you sure you're not confusing the wzr-hp-g300nh with the wzr-g300nh? They are slightly different, and the wzr-g300nh has code supporting it in the dd-wrt source.

Anyways there is probably a way of engaging recovery mode on the wrz-hp-g300nh. Maybe something similar to the dir-825 would be a good place to start (check out the thread and look at hellbringer's blog). Just hope you are right about the support, otherwise you will brick your router.

Yeah, 13516 is where dir-825 support was added, and there was a glimpse of wzr-g300nh (NOT the wzr-hp-g300nh). 13525 doesn't say anything about the wzr-hp-g300nh.

Anyways if you want to flash it, you could try the guides for any of the other buffalo routers. Seems tftp/dadder is the way to go. I used tftp to flash my older g125 buffalo router.
hkmemory
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have seen this msg in the DD-WRT WiKi
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Buffalo
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F12-28-09-r13525%2Fbuffalo_wzrg300nh%2F

Should be the direct download link.

Looks like this is the First build for these routers.

So - as usual - there may be some bugs - be prepared.

And as USUAL - once you flash DD-WRT, you cannot flash back to Buffalo firmware.

Buffalo encrypts their firmware, so unless a un-encrypted one exists,
once you flash the DD-WRT firmware on, you are stuck with DD-WRT on your router.

When you FIRST flash, TFTP method is the easiest and most successful flash method.

Check the wiki for Buffalo TFTP

Every Buffalo router has a recovery mode built in, and thats where the TFTP is important.

Once DD-WRT is installed on the router, THEN you can use the webflash .BIN files.

TFTP can take some getting used to, and takes timing.

BEST success is on a Windows XP or maybe Linux machine.

Vista and Windows 7 machines have some funky stuff done with the network adapters,
so it can be MUCH harder to flash and catch the tftp process on those OS's.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
hkmemory
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have tried your method before.
But it was unsuccessful to flash my router.
Now i show you how I flash.
Step 1: Download the DDWRT Firmware & TFTP Windows GUI Software
Step 2: Hard Reset the Router
Step 3: Change to static IP address be 192.168.11.2 & net mask be 255.255.255.0 on my desktop.
Step 4: Unplug the power cord for a few secound
Step 5: plug the power cord again & press the upgrade button at the TFTP Windows GUI Software immediately.

After that the TFTP just retry a few time ,then the TFTP told me that which is unsuccessful to get responses with server.
I got the same result ,even i did it in XP.
Would you mind to tell me that Is there any mistake of my step.

Thanks!
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TFTP_flash#Windows

Read that and try those Ping steps.

It can take some timing to get used to.

What are the ping responses when you follow those steps listed above in the wiki.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
yaiba
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
@DoesItMatter : how to put buffalo router to recovery mode?
I have serial on WZR-HP-G300NH and try tftp flash but no succeed. Here's error:

Code:

Realtek 8366SR switch ID 0x8366
Realtek Greeen Ethernet Setup
eth0: 02:aa:bb:cc:dd:1a
eth0 up
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7114
eth1: 02:aa:bb:cc:dd:1a
eth1 up
eth0  02:AA:BB:CC:DD:1A
, eth1  02:AA:BB:CC:DD:1A

Trying eth0
eth0 is duplex
ag7100_check_link: _100BASET
dup 1 speed 100
CFG_PLL_FREQ=5
CFG_HZ=bebc200
cpu pll=1050
eth pll=1032
eth0 clk pll=13000a44
eth0 mii=12
eth0 cfg1=f
eth0 cfg2=7115
eth0 fcfg_0=1d1f00
eth0 fcfg_1=7ff0000
eth0 fcfg_2=fff
eth0 fcfg_3=780008
eth0 fcfg_4=3ffff
eth0 fcfg_5=3ffff

tftp server(receive) go, waiting:4[sec]
Trying eth1
eth1 link down
FAIL
Trying eth0
eth0 is duplex
ag7100_check_link: _100BASET
Load address: 0x81f00000
checksum bad
checksum bad

TftpServer Timeout;
no file was loaded.


It's always "checksum bad".
My firmware WZR-HP-G300NH is japanese, i can't understand, i want change to english.

Sorry for my bad english
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you have the TFTP server or program running?

That last part is showing

TftpServer Timeout;
no file was loaded.

So its not communicating with the TFTP server.

It should not matter what language of firmware is already loaded.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
yaiba
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
DoesItMatter wrote:
Do you have the TFTP server or program running?

That last part is showing

TftpServer Timeout;
no file was loaded.

So its not communicating with the TFTP server.

It should not matter what language of firmware is already loaded.


Yes, i try tftp build-in(winxp), tftp GUI & tftpd.
Ah, should i change file name *.tftp to *.bin or anything?
You can show me how to put router to recovery mode?
Thanks.
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://tftpd32.jounin.net/

Try that program, I find much better luck with it

Leave the firmware with the extension named as .tftp

Make sure you put the .tftp file in the SAME directory as the TFTP32 client program

Also make sure your IP address is manually set on your PC

Are you following this method to setup your PC for the TFTP flashing?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Buffalo

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
yaiba
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
DoesItMatter wrote:
http://tftpd32.jounin.net/

Try that program, I find much better luck with it

Leave the firmware with the extension named as .tftp

Make sure you put the .tftp file in the SAME directory as the TFTP32 client program

Also make sure your IP address is manually set on your PC

Are you following this method to setup your PC for the TFTP flashing?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Buffalo


Yes, i'm following this method

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Buffalo

I will try, thank you.
yaiba
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 18:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
@DoesItMatter :
I try tftpd32 but nothing happen.Sad
I use ucon -> tftp client :

Code:

tftp server(receive) go, waiting:4[sec]
Trying eth0
eth0 is duplex
eth0 link down
FAIL
Trying eth1
eth1 is duplex
ag7100_check_link: _1000BASET
mac unit 1
Changing 1a to 1f
Load address: 0x81f00000

ArpTimeoutCheck_BUFFALO

ArpTimeoutCheck_BUFFALO

ArpTimeoutCheck_BUFFALO

ArpTimeoutCheck_BUFFALO

...

ArpTimeoutCheck_BUFFALO

Retry count exceeded;
no file was loaded.


Do you know how to fix this error?
Thanks.
chalkos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can't also install dd-wrt on my buff.

I used this app: http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/tornado/Windows-TFTP/tftp2.exe
that i found on the wiki (TFTP flash tools: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TFTP_flash#TFTP_tools)

This is what I've done (on windows 7 and XP):
- one console window doing "ping 192.168.11.1 -t -w 10"
- I ran that app I referred
- I put 192.168.11.1 on server (it's my router's ip)
- I enter my pw and choose the file.

then I did the following:

I tried both clicking reset button on web interface and unplugging the power cable methods.

I tried to click "Upgrade" on the app when the red DIAG light flashes, a few seconds after that and when the first successful ping arrives. (tried those 3 with both reseting from web interface and unplugging the power plug methods)

I always get "Unable to get responses from server."
I also noticed that it does not matter if I put a correct password on the app. I always get the error even with the correct password.
What is happening?

Why do we have to do the tftp transfer when the router is starting?

---------------------------------------
No one better than me to try to answer to my first question, so I downloaded wireshark to see what was going wrong.

When I try with the app (tftp2.exe) it sends malformed TFTP packets and I get a response from the router saying "Destination unreachable (port unreachable)".

Tried with tftp (winXP pre-installed) and the packet was good, but I get the same response (unreachable). I double checked the router's IP, the port is 69. No firewalls are interfering. (also tried all the methods i described above. none of them worked. all of them gave me the same error)

what is the problem?

also the link DoesItMatter posted is for wzrg300nh-firmware.tftp, but my router is wzr-hp-g300nh not wzr-g300nh as the file says. is it just a typo or this is not our router?
ERamseth
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to be clear, we're talking about the WZR-HP-G300NH here right?

I just ask because I'd love to pick one of these up from newegg (wireless n, gigabit, usb storage) but I want to be sure I can get dd-wrt up and running on it before I plunk down the cash!

I'll post a direct link to the router I was thinking of buying, if allowed...

The reason I ask is that on the other downloads page you linked to, I see "wzrg300nh" but not "wzrhpg300nh" or something similar...
Slax
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes it is for wzr-hp-g300nh.

Here it is.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/12-28-09-r13525/
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum