DIR-615 D1 best firmware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 15:47    Post subject: DIR-615 D1 best firmware Reply with quote
Hello there,

Well, perhaps I lost something but I think it's not easy to know about the state (bugs) of the available builds on a specific router version (DIR-615 D1 version for me).
I'm running an old build (14929) and I'd like to know what recent build number is stable.
I saw in a thread someone saying that with build 23320 everything was ok for him (but he uses a D2 router version and not a D1).

Anyone to inform me ?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsor
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
fwiw, I tried 23320 on a D2 in WAP mode, but found it kept losing its two stream radio settings and reverting back to default single radio setting. All recent builds need some start up commands to enable both radios - I think it is a bug.

iwpriv ra0 set HtTxStream=2
iwpriv ra0 set HtRxStream=2
iwpriv ra0 set HtBssCoexApCntThr=10

I went back to 20453 and the WAP has been running fine for more than 100 days, using the startup fix.

I also tried 23320 on a D4 in 'Repeater Bridge' mode, and observed the same behaviour with the wifi reverting back to single radio setting.

Build 21061 is last known stable build for the rev. D models according to the database.
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 21:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, thanks a lot for your answer !
KrypteX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I was the one saying that 23320 works fine on D-Link DIR-615 D2 as Access Point. I usually do the following steps and the router is rock stable, never drops 2-stream 300 Mb/s speeds:

1. Firmware updates should be done via cable in Firefox or IE. Do not use Chrome !
Perform a Hard reset (30/30/30) BEFORE and AFTER the firmware update.

2. Standard reset (push the reset button for 10 seconds)

3. In Administration -> Factory defaults: Restore

4. In Setup -> Basic Setup settings. Save.

5. In Wireless -> Basic settings: AP, Mixed, Auto, 40 MHz. Save.

6. In Wireless -> Wireless Security: WPA2 Personal, AES. Set password. Save.

7. In Administration -> Commands add these 4 lines:

sleep 20
iwpriv ra0 set HtTxStream=2
sleep 5
iwpriv ra0 set HtRxStream=2

Save startup.

*Note: The command: iwpriv ra0 set HtBssCoexApCntThr=10, which is sometimes added after the commands above, doesn't work, it gives an error. It's not necessary.

8. In Administration -> Management: Apply Settings. Wait 1 min for changes to take effect. Reboot router from Administration -> Management: Reboot router.

By following these 8 steps, my router DIR-615 D2 is stable since January 2014. No speed drops, no packets lost, no freezes, no restarts (several devices are connected to this router: Laptops and Android phones with WiFi G and N speeds and also a LAN PC). I hope this will help, guys !


Last edited by KrypteX on Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:16; edited 1 time in total
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Cryptex !
I will try that asap.
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I tried both b23320 and official latest build21061:
- wifi is ok at 300M
- but the router does not route: no internet access despite my computer well received the DNS servers adress from the modem.
I did a hard-reset before and after each flash. I verified all the settings was the same compared to my build 14929 configuration. I also take care to make my lan card on PC to reset.

Then I get back to my old build 14929 without doing hard reset, restored my configuration file and everything is working again.

My configuration is very basic:
- My modem is a dlink and is configured to make the pppoe connection. Its adress is 192.168.1.1 with DHCP ON (so I set the router on 192.168.0.1)

I don't know if I lost something or if these new builds are not good for the D1 version.
KrypteX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why did you set the router to 192.168.0.1 ? The default for DD-WRT is 192.168.1.1.
My router is also connected to the internet provider via PPPOE (with Dynamic IP), so the IP given to my router is not always the same (honestly, I don't even care what IP I get from the outside). However, the router itself is set as AP to the default 192.168.1.1 and assigns IPs of the form 192.168.1.x via DHCP to the devices connecting to it.
I suggest to set it up similarly.
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know, but my dlink modem is also set by default to 192.168.1.1. So a few years ago I set the router to 192.168.0.1 and I could have done the opposite.
But I think this is not the cause of my problem with newer fw.
KrypteX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmmm, interesting. I'd suggest trying 23503, the latest firmware that doesn't brick DIR-615 D2 version. You'll have to check the Tx power, mine is 100 mW in firmware 23503 on D2 router (which I find too high). All other previous versions up to 23320 had a default Tx power 71 mW.
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried again 23320 and 21061 taking care to have the exact same configuration as on my 14929 version. And I confirm that in that case my router does not route. Connected computers (ethernet + wifi) receives the correct address of gateway and DNS (dns comes from the modem) and when I run the "solve problems" tool from windows it says that it cannot communicate do DNS (I reset the adapter after modification).
So I'm back to 14929. Actually this version works fine (>10MB/s for wifi transfer, I don't know if we can have more with this router). There are just some problems of informations display (tx/rx for each client does not appears, etc.)
I'd like to have a return from someone who have a D1 router version.

Thanks anyway !
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just tried build 20453 too as proposed by bob8, but same problem: wifi ok, router receives correct informations from the modem, PC receives correct informations from router (DNS, gateway, etc), I can access others computers on the network, but no Internet ! It seems that the router does not want to route to modem gateway.
It's weird !
So, back again to build 14929.
KrypteX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
There must be some strange setting that you are missing.
I would also try firmware 19519 (one of the most stable, long standing ones) and 23503 (the latest firmware that doesn't brick DIR-615 D2).
You might also play around with DHCP IP assigning. I'd leave DD-WRT at the standard 192.168.1.1, not 192.168.0.1 (idk if you've already tried to change it back).
Good luck !
bob8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a thought, but what firewall are you using on your PC? ie. is it blocking access beyond the LAN?

I presume you have also tried a smartphone or tablet?
astrakan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nothing special on my pc, just the windows firewall, and it's connected to the router by ethernet cable.
Internet connection was not possible too using wifi (laptop, smartphone).
I'd like to have a return from a D1 owner and not a D2. It may be a specific incompatibility of the new fw.
But, nothing critical: my router routes well with 14929 Smile
KrypteX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which are the firmware versions that you have tried until now ? I want to check something.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum