WGR614v10 Support - Jump to post 9

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
Hikertrash
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 15:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
jn3825 wrote:
maxv913 wrote:
cwwilson721 wrote:
Netgear made it alot easier to add N to this box now..

Get latest firmware from site, and flash it like normal.

N Speeds! Gotta love a router that was on sale at Wal-Mart for 34.97USD..And N to boot!



so now i just install.... the newest wgr614 firmware?



Yep the latest WGR614v10 firmware on netgear's site includes N speeds.

Quote form the WGR614v10 Firmware Version 1.0.2.26 site:

New Features:
...
5. Enable the 11n wireless modes: "up to 72 mbps" and "up to 150 mbps".


:D

It'll even upgrade itself!!


I can confirm the above holds true and the WGR614v10 with the latest firmware has an option for speeds up 150 mbps.
Sponsor
jrat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Someone seems to have Tomato running on this router now, minus LAN ports.

http://tomatousb.org/forum/t-308157

Maybe this can motivate someone. :P

I'm fairly certain I fried the JTAG port on my unit. It began spitting out garbage, then stopped responding entirely. Oops. Razz
housemom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
jrat wrote:
Orbiting234 wrote:

...but until someone dumps the CFE...


I grabbed a cfe dump via TFTP/Serial before crossflashing - I wasn't about to test a crossflash without first having my full flash saved. Razz

It's posted in the CFE Collection project along with my board data: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=410267

I'm still waiting on JTAG support for the 5356, however.

I certainly wouldn't mind seeing DD-WRT for this router, even if only the wired LAN works for now - as that's all I'm using it for currently anyway.



Any progress on this? I'm the actual adult in a residence otherwise inhabited by college kids. One girl's laptop will only connect via ethernet and I picked up this router not knowing v10 is unsupported. Entirely my fault, but I didn't figure it out until I got a "firmware update failed" message when flashing. So that was not annoying at all.
Sonic0170
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 13:11    Post subject: Cross Flash netgear wrt614v10 to wnr1000v3 still worth doing Reply with quote
Now i know this has been covered but im happy to say that cross flashing the wgr614v10 to a wnr1000v3 is actualy worth it since netgear has dropped support for the wgr614v10.
Everyone is right that both have identical hardware.
Seriously its like they took the same internal board, changed the the device ID, and slapped it into a different color shell.
So anyway the firmware updates listed on netgear.com are

WNR1000v3 Firmware Version 1.0.2.42 Published 01/04/2012
and
WGR614v10 Firmware Version 1.0.2.26 Published 09/15/2010

now thats a big difference in version number plus included in this new build
New Features:

1.Schedule-based Wi-Fi on/off.
2.Port forwarding mapping.
3.24-hour disc/conn.
4.L2TP.
5.IGMP proxying & multicast.
6.IPv6.
7.Desktop Genie support.
8.CD-less Wizard.
9.New GUI w/ Turkish language support.
10.Preset wifi security.

So i truly believe that a cross flash is worth it and my new wnr1000v3 *wink wink* is working flawlessly, plus since this router will probably never get dd-wrt, this is a great alternative and the new gui looks pretty.


all the info is in this thread

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=65317&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

and my thanks to TimelesslyPrecise for this link to the files necessary to make this possible.

http://rapidshare.com/files/392011233/CrossFlash_Netgear_WGR614v10_to_WNR1000v3__Router.rar

The update file in that rar is out of date so everyone go to netgear and get the latest firmware update.

Here is a direct link to the firmware from netgear for the wnr1000v3

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/WNR1000v3-V1.0.2.42_55.0.77.chk[/url]

Well i guess it would be easier for me just to post an updated form of this file and for a bit of advice since the instructions may be a bit confusing, just use this at the final step before you type reboot in the telnet window "burnboardid U12H139T00_NETGEAR" without quotes of course and yes that is the correct ID for the North American version and maybe it might work in the world wide version of the router BUT I DON'T SUGGEST RISKING IT unless of course you don't care if your router bricks.



Cross Flashing WGR614v10 and WNR1000v3.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Cross Flashing WGR614v10 and WNR1000v3.zip
 Filesize:  3.68 MB
 Downloaded:  5297 Time(s)

kaonflux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 18:59    Post subject: can i use this router as a wireless repeater bridge? Reply with quote
i read an article about using another router, putting ddwrt on it and using it as a wireless repeater bridge to extend the range of your wireless network. id like to do this and bought a wgr614v10 (not knowing it wasnt supported) for very cheap. however, im not sure if flashing it to wnr will still allow this? can anyone answer that?
myddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the function of converting to the WNR firm ware?

If I want to use WGR 614 act as a client and extend the range of my other wireless router, is it possible with WGR614v10 model?
zailer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:56    Post subject: change default ip and pass Reply with quote
ok thanks a lot for the tutorial i cross flashed my WGR614v10 with WNR1000v3 latest firmware.

now still i am wondering if there is any possible way to change the default User and Password when someone reset the router(normally admin / password) is there any way to change it from telnet or some other shell. ?
if so how to .. sorry been searching a lot and no help.
TimelesslyPrecise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 14:55    Post subject: Added Information, Hopefully means development.. Reply with quote
I found this information on the net.... Does this mean DDWRT or OpenWRT or Tomato can be compiled for our router now???

http://www.poppopret.org/?p=204


Thanks again,

Good Luck
cybershadow686
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Aug 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:55    Post subject: worked brilliantly for me , Reply with quote
using the hex editor i edited the burnboardid to match the wnrfirmware.chk file i downloaded. it worked like magic



Orbiting234 wrote:
No thanks for me eh? Sad Lol

Yeah, those are indeed the steps I took as you easily inferred from my posts earlier in this thread (enable telnet, change board id, flash). Glad my work noticing the same underlying hardware from the FCC ID and going through the hoops as well as that of others here was of help lol. Technically you don't have to do all that though. You can simply hex edit the WNR1000v3's firmware to the WGR614v10's board id and flash away without all the extra steps. For your average user that would probably be the way to go as it still nets the same end result (150mbps N!).

Mine has been happily chugging away as a WNR1000v3 for nearly four months now without a hitch. Would still love to get DD-WRT onto it but until someone dumps the CFE, and more importantly once DD-WRT is compatible with the wireless portion of the BCM5356, this will have to do.

As far as packaging goes it is way way way simpler to identify a WGR614v10's box as mentioned earlier:

jrat wrote:
...advertising of the new "Push N Connect" and Wifi toggle buttons...


The WGR614v1-v9 did not have the buttons on the side of them. So the presence of those automatically means it's a v10. No having to stare at batch numbers or serial numbers.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum