How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? SOLVED!!! - AutoAP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 98, 99, 100, 101  Next
Author Message
johnvpr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tested all firmware on this tread on my wrt54gl an the best point I've got is that the list of AP is availeble but it cant connet to any!!!

is there any other router maybe with it's original firmware that can work as repeater and connect to strongest AP in a list?
Sponsor
johnvpr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone got autoap.sh running on a WRT54GL v1.1?

i've tested many firmware and autoap.sh but always get:
Failed to ping: "router" Gateway: 0.0.0.0 Received IP Address: 0.0.0.0
johnvpr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
i'm now testing my wrt54GL 1.1 whit fw "dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.aapng.20070822RC1b.zip"

i've insert prefered Aps, but strange thing is that the only way autoap connect to a router with WPA password is to insert in:
Wireless-> Wireless Security->wl0
Security mode: wpa personal
WPA algoritm: TKIP
WPA shared key: thePassword


if i have in Wireless-> Wireless Security->wl0
security mode: disabled
I have failed to ping gw 0.0.0.0 ip 0.0.0.0
DougVL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I started using DD-WRT in 2009 on a WRT54Gv8.2 and it worked out well and made a great repeater. Since then I've picked up a couple other models of WRT54G routers and upgraded them to DD-WRT as well.

The functionality I would really like to add to them is the AutoAP. Most DD-WRT builds fail to work correctly with the downloadable autoap.sh scripts posted at SourceForge. And I've tried the one firmware version that I can find with AutoAP embedded in it. I've installed many versions of the firmware to test the scripts on. Some of these combinations work partially, from not finding any suitable AP's to not showing the name of the AP it did connect to. Many versions of the firmware go into some kind of loop while running the AutoAP resulting in a very high processor load and no response to trying to change screens on the web gui.

What I'd like to find out now is if it's possible to find a list of which versions of firmware contain the embedded AutoAP programming. I've only been able to find the one on SourceForge, and it doesn't work with any of my routers or firmware builds.

I've also tried modifying the two versions of the script available on SourceForge and having the router startup script wget them from my PC via its ethernet connection to a router running micro_plus_ssh and to another running the mini version of DD-WRT. But I can't find the conflicts between the script versions and the firmware versions. It seems to be in the results of the router's site_survey function output and the AutoAP script parsing that output. The lack of a reference book for bash scripting is also a problem. I can find some info on line, but it's usually a bit too unrelated for this beginning scripter to use. And I haven't found any references to the usage of the DD-WRT 'wl' and site_survey functions.
ghz24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 8:16    Post subject: I Reply with quote
I can post the "restore/back-up file for a wrt54g gl that has been running autoap for 2 years straight
but you'll have to use the same build version and model.
I used svn 12548 newd eko.
If any one is interested
S2Nice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
1) I am neither a coder nor an expert, so I can only speak from my experiences with AutoAP.
2) I've had it running on several different wrt54gX versions and firmwares, wget'ing the script from the sourceforge link or from my own server, but never has it once worked FOR ME with the "baked in" versions.
3) Maybe it's in the setup. Following the wiki instructions letter-perfect seems to work well for me, but going from memory doesn't always work out. There could be some unknown, subtle differences that make the wiki instructions for setup incompatible with the baked-in versions.
4) Try a hard reset, re-flash with a known-good dd-wrt version for your hardware, and follow the setup instructions letter-perfect for your best bet at getting AutoAP to work. That has worked well for me whenever I ran into problems.
5) Here's where the snake eats his own tail. Refer to 1, above.
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
What version or dd-wrt are you using?
HINT, NewD, ???? 15230 .. I have 2 nearly identicle WR850G v3 ... one works like a charm, the other just doesn't ....

Maybe a hint to why may be in an odd change to internet check url being changed to "www.msn.com" rather than www.google.com ...

.....

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 22:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think it has something to do with using a pr-loaded image with autoap and then later upgrading to 15230 .... some of the old trash is still there ....
_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
ghz24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also have a restore file for a version 3 same release except vint drivers. The problems I was having earlier in this thread were with higher build numbers.
I'd suggest the 12548 mini (at least for wrt54g 4 meg routers)
I think the built in versions on sourceforge are to old.
I never got the micro (from sourceforge )to work.
Even the Dynamic download technique only worked for a while before needing power cycled.

The way that work best for me was to paste the script into jffs using putty and vi.
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 5:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have it working on build 15230 !!!! on a WR850G v3, but i gave it to a friend and i cant seem to recreate what i did .... though she said i could have it back -- just as long as i dont crash it!!!!

if all else fails - i could jtag an image from it ... just not sure if i need a wholeflash or what ..

its running with

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (09/18/10) mini - build 15230M NEWD Eko
(thats copied directly from the info page)

loaded into /jffs/

wonder where i got 15230M from ....

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
ghz24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 5:10    Post subject: hi seth7 Reply with quote
Quote:
wonder where i got 15230M from ....



Was it here ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/svn15230

I should try again with the 15230 mini
just to see if it was something I did wrong last time.
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 4:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok ... so it turns out that I used 15230 vint to enable jffs, then loaded autoap ... then upgraded to NewD.

15230 NewD seems to have an issue with properly enabling jffs ...

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
techo91
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:19    Post subject: findopen=0 Reply with quote
Hi guys,
anyone using this variable? - nvram set autoap_findopen="0"
When set to 1, AutoAP will search for unencrypted, open access points. When set to 0, it will not connect to any open access points.

I have it, but I see in the log that autoap is trying to connect to some open networks. I just want it to connect to "prefssid". Can anyone confirm that this option is working?

Edit:
Solved. Using:
nvram set autoap_prefonly="1"

With this the router doesn't try to connect to open networks as they are not in the preferred networks list.
samcraig
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 20:38    Post subject: autoap just disappeared Reply with quote
worked great for a month now nothing. the htm page to check it just shows blank. anyone help?
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 23:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it a brick ... ?
_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 98, 99, 100, 101  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 99 of 101
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum