D-Link DIR-615

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Author Message
kcdude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 0:03    Post subject: D-Link DIR-615 Reply with quote
First off, I believe my router (D-Link DIR-615) is an Atheros based platform, sorry if I am wrong. Anyway, my friend has a DIR-625 which is ALMOST identical to mine, except his is a range booster and mine is not. He told me about the DD-WRT firmware and said it sounds great and he is going to try out out. I've been thinking about buying a new router lately because my range is not very good, when he told me about this firmware I was really excited because I heard you can boost the signal of the router. Unfortunately I went to the list of supported software and I see that the DIR-625 is supported, but I do not see the DIR-615 on the list Sad . Is the DIR-615 really not supported? It is relatively similar to the 625, but if that is the case...is this where I request the developers add the DIR-615 as a supported device? I really appreciate all of your help, thanks!
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
tell me where u find that the 625 is supported?!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
kcdude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
tell me where u find that the 625 is supported?!



http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#D-Link ( It's the 8th one down on the list. ) Under the "Notes for Running DD-WRT" it has a question mark, but I'm pretty sure that means the 625 is supported because it is indeed on the list.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
and now tell me what "WIP" is!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
kcdude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
and now tell me what "WIP" is!


Oh..Work in Progress I see. My buddy said that it supports his router but he has yet to install it and I did not read that far, I just saw DIR-625 on the list so I was quick to ask. Thank you Sash, I apologize. Would you by any chance know if DD-WRT will ever be supported on the DIR-615? If not I will probably have to go buy a new router as my signal isn't all that great with the default firmware on it. Thanks again for your help.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 13:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
if someone would send one device for the port it is possible to run ddwrt
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11371

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
if someone would send one device for the port it is possible to run ddwrt


A DIR-615 is selling, where I am, for about $40.00 ....that is about 25 Euros. Are you saying, that if someone send in one of these, that would be all that would be required to get DD-WRT running on it? That all that is needed is a unit?

Love the socratic method used in this thread, BTW!
Dmitry
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
Sash wrote:
if someone would send one device for the port it is possible to run ddwrt


A DIR-615 is selling, where I am, for about $40.00 ....that is about 25 Euros. Are you saying, that if someone send in one of these, that would be all that would be required to get DD-WRT running on it? That all that is needed is a unit?

Love the socratic method used in this thread, BTW!


Try to flash it with openwrt maybe it's fully supported. If hardware inside is the same as on other supported routers then it should work.

_________________
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11371

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 19:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
openWRT has almost no information on this router, and lists it as not supported. In any event, my other routers are running DD-wrt and I would like to get WDS working. I would prefer to have them all using the same firmware for WDS.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
I would prefer to have them all using the same firmware for WDS.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_Distribution_System

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11371

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, but I haven't been able to find any way to get the DIR 615 to support WDS. It is not in the stock firmware (apparently it was removed) and I haven't found any third party software that it is compatible with. If I could find one, I would try it, but I would still prefer to have them all running one firmware.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
..wds is verndor proprietary
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11371

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 22:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
..wds is verndor proprietary

This would mean that wds, if it was enabled on a Stock DIR-615, would not work with Linksys Routers with DD-WRT firmware.

What if they all had DD-wrt firmware on them (although I realize this is not currently possible with the DIR-615)/ Would it matter if some were broadcom based and the Dlink is Atheros?
badogg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash,

I created this account just to reply to your comments. I was searching this forum for information about the support of the Dir-625 and repeatedly come across your rude replies to people looking for assistance. Why do you have to be such a jerk?? This is a forum for people to come to discuss things like this. If you don't have anything constructive to say in reply, then just don't. How do you expect people to find anything in their search queries when the results are clogged with your comments like "Let me look into my crystal ball", and "now tell me what WIP is". Most people don't know what WIP is or what it means. Plus it has been WIP for a long time, how about tell us something useful like how long it is going to be in the works.

Your tone is not unique. This is a common occurrence amongst almost every internet forum out there. There is always some jerk moderator or another user that has a ton of posts like yours.

If you want people to effectively search for things like this, then don't clog the forums with this garbage because it doesn't help anybody.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
Sash wrote:
..wds is verndor proprietary

This would mean that wds, if it was enabled on a Stock DIR-615, would not work with Linksys Routers with DD-WRT firmware.
it depenps on the sw version. but it will NOT work with any encryyption and bad performance!
so its useless imho
Quote:

What if they all had DD-wrt firmware on them (although I realize this is not currently possible with the DIR-615)/
my answer is for ddwrt
Quote:
Would it matter if some were broadcom based and the Dlink is Atheros?
...
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 30
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum