Restore the original firmware of Buffalo WHR-HP-G54

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Estagiário louco
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:31    Post subject: Restore the original firmware of Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 Reply with quote
Hello There!
I'm a brazilian trainee and i'm in a project for a federal technological school that consists in flash the original Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 firmware to a DD-WRT one, and after that, undo the process. There's my problem... I've followed all the DD-WRT Wikis. I've download the Buffalo German Version Firmware non encrypted, tried to flash by the graphical interface of DD-WRT, tried with TFTP... and nothing, i had not success in reinstalling the Buffalo firmware... i just could (after bricking) put the DD-WRT again.. but that's not my intension at all.... please help me, it is for academical ends!!

Thanks from Brazil!
Sponsor
buddee
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once the unit is flashed, how are you trying to revert? Like trying to load buffalo's .enc firmware through the dd-wrt web gui and tftp it?

I would try this, once dd-wrt is on the unit, simply telnet into the unit and from command line do these following lines.

mtd erase linux
reboot

This will set the router into tftp, after the reboot, your power led may be blinking, meaning tftp is intialized, once that is in place, then try to tftp the buffalo firmware to it.

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
ReadtheAnnouncements!
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
buddee wrote:
mtd erase linux
reboot

This will set the router into tftp, after the reboot, your power led may be blinking, meaning tftp is intialized, once that is in place, then try to tftp the buffalo firmware to it.